tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

13/05/2014 : SEVERED HEADS - Since The Accident

SEVERED HEADS

Since The Accident

MusicVinyl
ExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   

Medical Records
13/05/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Severed Heads were founded in Australia in 1979 by Richard Fielding and Andrew Wright, very soon they were joined by Tom Ellard. The band name was chosen because they thought it would be funny for a trio Australians to get lumped in with scary British industrialists. Richard and Andrew left the band soon, and Ellard became the leading member and brain of this project. He retained the passion for tape loops, that was the core of the early Severed Heads sound. This album ‘ Since The Accident’ was made in 1983, and here you find the first small appearances of electro pop elements that would define the band in the future. The best know track on this album is of course ‘Dead Eyes Opened’, a rhythmic synthesizer song, that strangely even made it into the Australian charts. The rest of the album is another thing, and sounds in no way like Dead Eyes Opened. Ellard liked to add different tape collages and experimental sounds to his tracks. So it all sounds very chaotic, maybe a track like ‘ A Million Miles’ is the most melodic one, but for the rest the melodies are in short supply on this album.

Ellard disbanded the group in 2007 and continued with other projects. They had a small reunion in 2010 for a 30th anniversary concert, and in 2011 they appeared at BIMFEST in Antwerp, and they surprised everyone to support Gary Numan on his Australian tour.

This album, ‘Since The Accident’ is special, because apart of ‘Dead Eyes Opened’, it is strictly for the lovers of early experimental industrial music, but is remains a charismatic and inspired one. And a big example for the future of lots of electro and industrial bands. This LP is presented on a high quality heavyweight Limited Edition Black & White "Half & Half" Colored 180gram Vinyl, and features a bonus, limited edition, LP insert compiled by Tom Ellard himself, with ephemera from that time.

Side A : A Relic Of The Empire / A Million Angels / Houses Still Standing / Gashing The Old Mae West / Dead Eyes Opened / Golden Boy

Side B : Godsong / Epilepsy / Exploring The Secrets Of Treating Mutes / Brasserie, In Rome / Wasps.

Peter HESELMANS
13/05/2014


 

Next reviews
WARCKON • High Treason
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
GODFREY REGGIO • Koyaanisqatsi
CHRISTOPHER LANDON • Paranormal Activity, The Marked Ones
BOWRAIN • Far Out
JACQUES TATI • Playtime
MINT • Glass Lagoon EP
SERPENTINE PATH • EMANATIONS
ELECTROCUTION • Abiura
AIRCO • Le roi du Silence

 

Other reviews from SEVERED HEADS
SEVERED HEADS • Amsterdam, Oedipus (22/09/2016)
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher redux
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
SEVERED HEADS • Since the Accident/ City Slab Horror

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ALSO • Live in Celovec
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)