tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : SHAPE WORSHIP - A City Remembrancer

SHAPE WORSHIP

A City Remembrancer

MusicCD
Experimental
Front & Follow
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shape Worship is the musical alter ego of Ed Gillet, who was previously involved in electro dance projects like Gang Of Ducks and Exotic Pylon. However, his debut album A City Remembrancer is something completely different. This CD is a tribute to London, albeit in a very quirky and original way. Ed recorded all kinds of sounds in the metropolis: people walking by, the sound of traffic or talking people. He mingled these with all sorts of electronic sounds (from jungle, dub to abstract electronics).

A City Remembrancer is not another sound collage that you're tired of after only five minutes. Nah, producer Ed Gillet made an extremely intriguing disc that you can describe as an aural adventure. If you visited London several times, then you definitely will agree that this city is constantly evolving. What you admired during your last trip, is gone after a few years. You should consider A City Remembrancer in this context. The music shows both the nervousness and the splendour of the city.

Even though there are no musical touch points, you can compare this album with Koyaanisqatsi, or how a modern (crazy) city can lead to something beautiful.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Shape Worship is het muzikale alter ego van Ed Gillet, die eerder al betrokken was bij electrodanceprojecten zoals Gang Of Ducks en Exotic Pylon. Zijn debuutplaat A City Remembrancer is echter iets helemaal anders. Deze cd is een ode aan Londen, weliswaar op een zeer eigenzinnige en originele manier. Ed nam allerlei geluiden in de grootstad op: bijv. mensen die voorbijlopen, het geluid van het verkeer of gewoon pratende individuen. Hij vermengde die met elektronische klanken (van jungle, dubstep tot abstracte electronica).

A City Remembrancer is niet de zoveelste geluidscollage die je reeds na 5 minuten beu bent. Neen, producer Ed Gillet maakte van zijn cd een uiterst intrigerend schijfje dat je gerust als een auditief avontuur mag bestempelen. Wie ooit verschillende keren Londen bezocht, zal beslist beamen dat het een stad is die alsmaar in evolutie is. Wat je tijdens je vorige trip nog bewonderde, is er na een paar jaar plots niet meer. Je moet dan ook A City Rememberancer in deze context beluisteren. De muziek ademt zowel de zenuwachtigheid als de pracht van de stad.

Ook al zijn er muzikaal geen echte raakpunten, kan je deze cd vergelijken met Koyaanisqatsi, of hoe een moderne (krankzinnige) stad tot iets moois kan leiden.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno