tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : SHAPE WORSHIP - A City Remembrancer

SHAPE WORSHIP

A City Remembrancer

MusicCD
Experimental
Front & Follow
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shape Worship is the musical alter ego of Ed Gillet, who was previously involved in electro dance projects like Gang Of Ducks and Exotic Pylon. However, his debut album A City Remembrancer is something completely different. This CD is a tribute to London, albeit in a very quirky and original way. Ed recorded all kinds of sounds in the metropolis: people walking by, the sound of traffic or talking people. He mingled these with all sorts of electronic sounds (from jungle, dub to abstract electronics).

A City Remembrancer is not another sound collage that you're tired of after only five minutes. Nah, producer Ed Gillet made an extremely intriguing disc that you can describe as an aural adventure. If you visited London several times, then you definitely will agree that this city is constantly evolving. What you admired during your last trip, is gone after a few years. You should consider A City Remembrancer in this context. The music shows both the nervousness and the splendour of the city.

Even though there are no musical touch points, you can compare this album with Koyaanisqatsi, or how a modern (crazy) city can lead to something beautiful.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Shape Worship is het muzikale alter ego van Ed Gillet, die eerder al betrokken was bij electrodanceprojecten zoals Gang Of Ducks en Exotic Pylon. Zijn debuutplaat A City Remembrancer is echter iets helemaal anders. Deze cd is een ode aan Londen, weliswaar op een zeer eigenzinnige en originele manier. Ed nam allerlei geluiden in de grootstad op: bijv. mensen die voorbijlopen, het geluid van het verkeer of gewoon pratende individuen. Hij vermengde die met elektronische klanken (van jungle, dubstep tot abstracte electronica).

A City Remembrancer is niet de zoveelste geluidscollage die je reeds na 5 minuten beu bent. Neen, producer Ed Gillet maakte van zijn cd een uiterst intrigerend schijfje dat je gerust als een auditief avontuur mag bestempelen. Wie ooit verschillende keren Londen bezocht, zal beslist beamen dat het een stad is die alsmaar in evolutie is. Wat je tijdens je vorige trip nog bewonderde, is er na een paar jaar plots niet meer. Je moet dan ook A City Rememberancer in deze context beluisteren. De muziek ademt zowel de zenuwachtigheid als de pracht van de stad.

Ook al zijn er muzikaal geen echte raakpunten, kan je deze cd vergelijken met Koyaanisqatsi, of hoe een moderne (krankzinnige) stad tot iets moois kan leiden.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth