tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : SHAPE WORSHIP - A City Remembrancer

SHAPE WORSHIP

A City Remembrancer

MusicCD
Experimental
Front & Follow
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shape Worship is the musical alter ego of Ed Gillet, who was previously involved in electro dance projects like Gang Of Ducks and Exotic Pylon. However, his debut album A City Remembrancer is something completely different. This CD is a tribute to London, albeit in a very quirky and original way. Ed recorded all kinds of sounds in the metropolis: people walking by, the sound of traffic or talking people. He mingled these with all sorts of electronic sounds (from jungle, dub to abstract electronics).

A City Remembrancer is not another sound collage that you're tired of after only five minutes. Nah, producer Ed Gillet made an extremely intriguing disc that you can describe as an aural adventure. If you visited London several times, then you definitely will agree that this city is constantly evolving. What you admired during your last trip, is gone after a few years. You should consider A City Remembrancer in this context. The music shows both the nervousness and the splendour of the city.

Even though there are no musical touch points, you can compare this album with Koyaanisqatsi, or how a modern (crazy) city can lead to something beautiful.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Shape Worship is het muzikale alter ego van Ed Gillet, die eerder al betrokken was bij electrodanceprojecten zoals Gang Of Ducks en Exotic Pylon. Zijn debuutplaat A City Remembrancer is echter iets helemaal anders. Deze cd is een ode aan Londen, weliswaar op een zeer eigenzinnige en originele manier. Ed nam allerlei geluiden in de grootstad op: bijv. mensen die voorbijlopen, het geluid van het verkeer of gewoon pratende individuen. Hij vermengde die met elektronische klanken (van jungle, dubstep tot abstracte electronica).

A City Remembrancer is niet de zoveelste geluidscollage die je reeds na 5 minuten beu bent. Neen, producer Ed Gillet maakte van zijn cd een uiterst intrigerend schijfje dat je gerust als een auditief avontuur mag bestempelen. Wie ooit verschillende keren Londen bezocht, zal beslist beamen dat het een stad is die alsmaar in evolutie is. Wat je tijdens je vorige trip nog bewonderde, is er na een paar jaar plots niet meer. Je moet dan ook A City Rememberancer in deze context beluisteren. De muziek ademt zowel de zenuwachtigheid als de pracht van de stad.

Ook al zijn er muzikaal geen echte raakpunten, kan je deze cd vergelijken met Koyaanisqatsi, of hoe een moderne (krankzinnige) stad tot iets moois kan leiden.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi