tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : SHAPE WORSHIP - A City Remembrancer

SHAPE WORSHIP

A City Remembrancer

MusicCD
Experimental
Front & Follow
27/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shape Worship is the musical alter ego of Ed Gillet, who was previously involved in electro dance projects like Gang Of Ducks and Exotic Pylon. However, his debut album A City Remembrancer is something completely different. This CD is a tribute to London, albeit in a very quirky and original way. Ed recorded all kinds of sounds in the metropolis: people walking by, the sound of traffic or talking people. He mingled these with all sorts of electronic sounds (from jungle, dub to abstract electronics).

A City Remembrancer is not another sound collage that you're tired of after only five minutes. Nah, producer Ed Gillet made an extremely intriguing disc that you can describe as an aural adventure. If you visited London several times, then you definitely will agree that this city is constantly evolving. What you admired during your last trip, is gone after a few years. You should consider A City Remembrancer in this context. The music shows both the nervousness and the splendour of the city.

Even though there are no musical touch points, you can compare this album with Koyaanisqatsi, or how a modern (crazy) city can lead to something beautiful.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


NL

Shape Worship is het muzikale alter ego van Ed Gillet, die eerder al betrokken was bij electrodanceprojecten zoals Gang Of Ducks en Exotic Pylon. Zijn debuutplaat A City Remembrancer is echter iets helemaal anders. Deze cd is een ode aan Londen, weliswaar op een zeer eigenzinnige en originele manier. Ed nam allerlei geluiden in de grootstad op: bijv. mensen die voorbijlopen, het geluid van het verkeer of gewoon pratende individuen. Hij vermengde die met elektronische klanken (van jungle, dubstep tot abstracte electronica).

A City Remembrancer is niet de zoveelste geluidscollage die je reeds na 5 minuten beu bent. Neen, producer Ed Gillet maakte van zijn cd een uiterst intrigerend schijfje dat je gerust als een auditief avontuur mag bestempelen. Wie ooit verschillende keren Londen bezocht, zal beslist beamen dat het een stad is die alsmaar in evolutie is. Wat je tijdens je vorige trip nog bewonderde, is er na een paar jaar plots niet meer. Je moet dan ook A City Rememberancer in deze context beluisteren. De muziek ademt zowel de zenuwachtigheid als de pracht van de stad.

Ook al zijn er muzikaal geen echte raakpunten, kan je deze cd vergelijken met Koyaanisqatsi, of hoe een moderne (krankzinnige) stad tot iets moois kan leiden.

Didier BECU
27/01/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty