tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : SHARRON KRAUS - The Woody Nightshade

SHARRON KRAUS

The Woody Nightshade

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / Tribal

[65/100]   

Strange Attractors Audio House
13/07/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Anglo-American Sharron Kraus brings folk, but with a black, dark touch.

"The Woody Nightshade", a plant that had many uses. In medieval times often associated with the fairy realm and known for its use to protect themselves from evil spirits. Actually, the entire plant is toxic. Sharron uses it as a metaphor for the love, as it can be pure beauty as well as negative and cruel.

Regarding her previous work, this CD has a fuller and more varied sound, probably through the use of drums and electric guitar. Make no mistake, it remains pure folk, but these additional instruments broaden her instrumental horizons.

As before, her gentle and friendly voice guides us through her ​​observations, one more somber than the other.

Sharron Krauss is a singer-songwriter pur sang and provides with this album a fine successor to "The Fox's Wedding" for the fans and a great introduction to this fine artist for the newcomers.

Ward DE PRINS
13/07/2011


NL

De Engels-Amerikaanse Sharron Kraus brengt folk, maar dan wel met een zwart kantje.

Zo ook deze “The Woody Nightshade” of nog Bitterzoet(e nachtschade), een plantje dat vele gebruiken kende. In de middeleeuwen vaak verbonden aan het elfenrijk en gekend voor haar gebruik om zich te beschermen tegen kwade geesten. Eigenlijk is de gehele plant giftig. Sharron gebruikt het als een metafoor voor de liefde, die pure schoonheid kan zijn doch ook negatief en wreedaardig.

Ten aanzien van haar vorig werk is deze CD voller en meer gevarieerd van geluid, allicht door het gebruik van drums alsook elektrische gitaar. Vergis je niet, het blijft pure folk, maar deze extra instrumenten verruimen haar instrumentale horizon.

Haar zachte en vriendelijke stem gidst ons doorheen haar verzuchtingen, het ene al meer somber dan het ander.

Sharron Krauss is een singer-songwriter pur-sang en levert voor de fans een fijne opvolger voor “The Fox’s Wedding”, voor nieuwelingen een mooie kennismaking met deze fijne artieste. 

Ward DE PRINS
13/07/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten