tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

23/10/2015 : SHERMAN - White City EP

SHERMAN

White City EP

MusicDigital
ElectronicsIndieMinimal
Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Belgian underground is full of talent, a fact we know for years. But it is a pity that only a handful of people are willing to listen to these youngsters. When our fellow countryman Steven Bossuyt moved to London, England, everybody knew that Sherman (that is his artist name) has a lot to offer, as he was asked to play a live session for the show of the legendary Janice Long. Meanwhile, Steven is back on Flemish soil, and he just has released the new EP White City, produced by Tom Coghe (Goose of the bassist).

On this EP, which is only digital available, you find four songs that sound melancholic and even a little dark. And yes, it has become a habit to write on our website that if there is a troubadour version of Gary Numan, then it is simply called Sherman. Steven loves to be surrounded by melodic synths with an 80's sound, even though he never sounds retro. Just do as Janice Long did, and keep an eye on Sherman!

Click on the clip below and you'll know what we mean!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Dat de Belgische underground boordevol talent zit, dat weten we natuurlijk al jaren. Wel blijft het een beetje jammer dat slechts een handjevol mensen bereid is om ernaar te luisteren. Toen onze landgenoot Steven Bossuyt naar Londen trok, wist men in Engeland meteen dat Sherman (zo luidt zijn artiestennaam) barst van het talent, want hij mocht binnen de kortste keren een sessie in de show van de legendarische Janice Long spelen. Ondertussen staat deze Belg opnieuw op Vlaamse bodem en heeft hij met White City een nieuwe ep uit die is geproduced door Tom Coghe (de bassist van Goose).

Op deze ep, die alleeen digitaal aangeb oden wordt, vind je vier nummers die melancholisch en zelfs een beetje donker klinken. En tja, het is ondertussen een gewoonte geworden om op onze website schrijven dat als er een troubadoursversie van Gary Numan bestaat, dat die dan gewoon Sherman heet. Steven laat zich het liefst van al omringen door melodieuze synths die een hoog eightiesgehalte hebben, ook al klinkt hij op geen enkel ogenblik retro. Doen zoals Janice Long, in de gaten houden die Steven Bossuyt!

Klik op het onderstaande clipje en je weet wat we bedoelen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky