tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

23/10/2015 : SHERMAN - White City EP

SHERMAN

White City EP

MusicDigital
ElectronicsIndieMinimal
Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Belgian underground is full of talent, a fact we know for years. But it is a pity that only a handful of people are willing to listen to these youngsters. When our fellow countryman Steven Bossuyt moved to London, England, everybody knew that Sherman (that is his artist name) has a lot to offer, as he was asked to play a live session for the show of the legendary Janice Long. Meanwhile, Steven is back on Flemish soil, and he just has released the new EP White City, produced by Tom Coghe (Goose of the bassist).

On this EP, which is only digital available, you find four songs that sound melancholic and even a little dark. And yes, it has become a habit to write on our website that if there is a troubadour version of Gary Numan, then it is simply called Sherman. Steven loves to be surrounded by melodic synths with an 80's sound, even though he never sounds retro. Just do as Janice Long did, and keep an eye on Sherman!

Click on the clip below and you'll know what we mean!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Dat de Belgische underground boordevol talent zit, dat weten we natuurlijk al jaren. Wel blijft het een beetje jammer dat slechts een handjevol mensen bereid is om ernaar te luisteren. Toen onze landgenoot Steven Bossuyt naar Londen trok, wist men in Engeland meteen dat Sherman (zo luidt zijn artiestennaam) barst van het talent, want hij mocht binnen de kortste keren een sessie in de show van de legendarische Janice Long spelen. Ondertussen staat deze Belg opnieuw op Vlaamse bodem en heeft hij met White City een nieuwe ep uit die is geproduced door Tom Coghe (de bassist van Goose).

Op deze ep, die alleeen digitaal aangeb oden wordt, vind je vier nummers die melancholisch en zelfs een beetje donker klinken. En tja, het is ondertussen een gewoonte geworden om op onze website schrijven dat als er een troubadoursversie van Gary Numan bestaat, dat die dan gewoon Sherman heet. Steven laat zich het liefst van al omringen door melodieuze synths die een hoog eightiesgehalte hebben, ook al klinkt hij op geen enkel ogenblik retro. Doen zoals Janice Long, in de gaten houden die Steven Bossuyt!

Klik op het onderstaande clipje en je weet wat we bedoelen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless