tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

23/10/2015 : SHERMAN - White City EP

SHERMAN

White City EP

MusicDigital
ElectronicsIndieMinimal
Self-released
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Belgian underground is full of talent, a fact we know for years. But it is a pity that only a handful of people are willing to listen to these youngsters. When our fellow countryman Steven Bossuyt moved to London, England, everybody knew that Sherman (that is his artist name) has a lot to offer, as he was asked to play a live session for the show of the legendary Janice Long. Meanwhile, Steven is back on Flemish soil, and he just has released the new EP White City, produced by Tom Coghe (Goose of the bassist).

On this EP, which is only digital available, you find four songs that sound melancholic and even a little dark. And yes, it has become a habit to write on our website that if there is a troubadour version of Gary Numan, then it is simply called Sherman. Steven loves to be surrounded by melodic synths with an 80's sound, even though he never sounds retro. Just do as Janice Long did, and keep an eye on Sherman!

Click on the clip below and you'll know what we mean!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Dat de Belgische underground boordevol talent zit, dat weten we natuurlijk al jaren. Wel blijft het een beetje jammer dat slechts een handjevol mensen bereid is om ernaar te luisteren. Toen onze landgenoot Steven Bossuyt naar Londen trok, wist men in Engeland meteen dat Sherman (zo luidt zijn artiestennaam) barst van het talent, want hij mocht binnen de kortste keren een sessie in de show van de legendarische Janice Long spelen. Ondertussen staat deze Belg opnieuw op Vlaamse bodem en heeft hij met White City een nieuwe ep uit die is geproduced door Tom Coghe (de bassist van Goose).

Op deze ep, die alleeen digitaal aangeb oden wordt, vind je vier nummers die melancholisch en zelfs een beetje donker klinken. En tja, het is ondertussen een gewoonte geworden om op onze website schrijven dat als er een troubadoursversie van Gary Numan bestaat, dat die dan gewoon Sherman heet. Steven laat zich het liefst van al omringen door melodieuze synths die een hoog eightiesgehalte hebben, ook al klinkt hij op geen enkel ogenblik retro. Doen zoals Janice Long, in de gaten houden die Steven Bossuyt!

Klik op het onderstaande clipje en je weet wat we bedoelen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)