tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SHINE NOIR - Shine Noir EP

SHINE NOIR

Shine Noir EP

MusicCD (EP)

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An EP still remains the ultimate way to present a band. Shine Noir juggles with all kinds of genres, ultimately the lover of 90s heavy indie rock will fall for this Berlin quartet. If you want big names to compare it with, then Garbage and Guano Apes definitely are the ideal credentials.

Everything on this release is black: the band name, the cover... even the disc has no colors, but the music has. Four songs (well, five if you include the radio edit version of The Traveller) that demonstrate that these Germans can write decent songs. All tracks feature heavy rock guitars, catchy melodies and as main attraction, the quality voice of Anne which can be best described as a rock version of Kate Bush.

This EP with Try To Catch Me as the strongest song is a nice introduction and the harbinger of the first CD that will appear later this year. The only thing Shine Noir needs to take care of is the production, because everything sounds a little too flat. For the rest, fans of this genre certainly will be pleased with this release. At least that’s what we think...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een ep blijft nog altijd de ultieme manier om jezelf als band voor te stellen. Shine Noir goochelt met allerlei genres, uiteindelijk zal het wel de liefhebber van stevige en gemakkelijke 90s-indierock zijn die voor dit viertal uit Berlijn bezwijkt. Als je grote namen wil ter vergelijking, dan zijn Garbage en Guano Apes beslist de ideale referenties.

Alles op dit plaatje is gitzwart: de bandnaam, het hoesje... zelfs het schijfje is onttrokken van alle kleur, behalve de muziek. Vier songs (nou ja, vijf als je ook de radio-editversie van The Traveller meerekent) die duidelijk aantonen dat deze Duitsers behoorlijke songs kunnen neerpennen. Alle tracks zijn voorzien van stevige rockgitaren, meezingbare melodieën en de aangename stem van Anne kan doorgaan als een rockversie van Kate Bush.

Deze ep met Try To Catch Me als sterkste song, is een leuke kennismaking en de voorbode van de eerste cd die eind dit jaar verschijnt. Het enige waar Shine Noir nog behoorlijk moet aan sleutelen is de productie, want alles klinkt net iets te plat om echt indruk te maken. Voor de rest zullen de fans van dit genre hier beslist blij mee zijn. Dat denken we toch...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House