tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SHINE NOIR - Shine Noir EP

SHINE NOIR

Shine Noir EP

MusicCD (EP)

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An EP still remains the ultimate way to present a band. Shine Noir juggles with all kinds of genres, ultimately the lover of 90s heavy indie rock will fall for this Berlin quartet. If you want big names to compare it with, then Garbage and Guano Apes definitely are the ideal credentials.

Everything on this release is black: the band name, the cover... even the disc has no colors, but the music has. Four songs (well, five if you include the radio edit version of The Traveller) that demonstrate that these Germans can write decent songs. All tracks feature heavy rock guitars, catchy melodies and as main attraction, the quality voice of Anne which can be best described as a rock version of Kate Bush.

This EP with Try To Catch Me as the strongest song is a nice introduction and the harbinger of the first CD that will appear later this year. The only thing Shine Noir needs to take care of is the production, because everything sounds a little too flat. For the rest, fans of this genre certainly will be pleased with this release. At least that’s what we think...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een ep blijft nog altijd de ultieme manier om jezelf als band voor te stellen. Shine Noir goochelt met allerlei genres, uiteindelijk zal het wel de liefhebber van stevige en gemakkelijke 90s-indierock zijn die voor dit viertal uit Berlijn bezwijkt. Als je grote namen wil ter vergelijking, dan zijn Garbage en Guano Apes beslist de ideale referenties.

Alles op dit plaatje is gitzwart: de bandnaam, het hoesje... zelfs het schijfje is onttrokken van alle kleur, behalve de muziek. Vier songs (nou ja, vijf als je ook de radio-editversie van The Traveller meerekent) die duidelijk aantonen dat deze Duitsers behoorlijke songs kunnen neerpennen. Alle tracks zijn voorzien van stevige rockgitaren, meezingbare melodieën en de aangename stem van Anne kan doorgaan als een rockversie van Kate Bush.

Deze ep met Try To Catch Me als sterkste song, is een leuke kennismaking en de voorbode van de eerste cd die eind dit jaar verschijnt. Het enige waar Shine Noir nog behoorlijk moet aan sleutelen is de productie, want alles klinkt net iets te plat om echt indruk te maken. Voor de rest zullen de fans van dit genre hier beslist blij mee zijn. Dat denken we toch...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots