tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SHINE NOIR - Shine Noir EP

SHINE NOIR

Shine Noir EP

MusicCD (EP)

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An EP still remains the ultimate way to present a band. Shine Noir juggles with all kinds of genres, ultimately the lover of 90s heavy indie rock will fall for this Berlin quartet. If you want big names to compare it with, then Garbage and Guano Apes definitely are the ideal credentials.

Everything on this release is black: the band name, the cover... even the disc has no colors, but the music has. Four songs (well, five if you include the radio edit version of The Traveller) that demonstrate that these Germans can write decent songs. All tracks feature heavy rock guitars, catchy melodies and as main attraction, the quality voice of Anne which can be best described as a rock version of Kate Bush.

This EP with Try To Catch Me as the strongest song is a nice introduction and the harbinger of the first CD that will appear later this year. The only thing Shine Noir needs to take care of is the production, because everything sounds a little too flat. For the rest, fans of this genre certainly will be pleased with this release. At least that’s what we think...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een ep blijft nog altijd de ultieme manier om jezelf als band voor te stellen. Shine Noir goochelt met allerlei genres, uiteindelijk zal het wel de liefhebber van stevige en gemakkelijke 90s-indierock zijn die voor dit viertal uit Berlijn bezwijkt. Als je grote namen wil ter vergelijking, dan zijn Garbage en Guano Apes beslist de ideale referenties.

Alles op dit plaatje is gitzwart: de bandnaam, het hoesje... zelfs het schijfje is onttrokken van alle kleur, behalve de muziek. Vier songs (nou ja, vijf als je ook de radio-editversie van The Traveller meerekent) die duidelijk aantonen dat deze Duitsers behoorlijke songs kunnen neerpennen. Alle tracks zijn voorzien van stevige rockgitaren, meezingbare melodieën en de aangename stem van Anne kan doorgaan als een rockversie van Kate Bush.

Deze ep met Try To Catch Me als sterkste song, is een leuke kennismaking en de voorbode van de eerste cd die eind dit jaar verschijnt. Het enige waar Shine Noir nog behoorlijk moet aan sleutelen is de productie, want alles klinkt net iets te plat om echt indruk te maken. Voor de rest zullen de fans van dit genre hier beslist blij mee zijn. Dat denken we toch...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me