tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SHINE NOIR - Shine Noir EP

SHINE NOIR

Shine Noir EP

MusicCD (EP)

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An EP still remains the ultimate way to present a band. Shine Noir juggles with all kinds of genres, ultimately the lover of 90s heavy indie rock will fall for this Berlin quartet. If you want big names to compare it with, then Garbage and Guano Apes definitely are the ideal credentials.

Everything on this release is black: the band name, the cover... even the disc has no colors, but the music has. Four songs (well, five if you include the radio edit version of The Traveller) that demonstrate that these Germans can write decent songs. All tracks feature heavy rock guitars, catchy melodies and as main attraction, the quality voice of Anne which can be best described as a rock version of Kate Bush.

This EP with Try To Catch Me as the strongest song is a nice introduction and the harbinger of the first CD that will appear later this year. The only thing Shine Noir needs to take care of is the production, because everything sounds a little too flat. For the rest, fans of this genre certainly will be pleased with this release. At least that’s what we think...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een ep blijft nog altijd de ultieme manier om jezelf als band voor te stellen. Shine Noir goochelt met allerlei genres, uiteindelijk zal het wel de liefhebber van stevige en gemakkelijke 90s-indierock zijn die voor dit viertal uit Berlijn bezwijkt. Als je grote namen wil ter vergelijking, dan zijn Garbage en Guano Apes beslist de ideale referenties.

Alles op dit plaatje is gitzwart: de bandnaam, het hoesje... zelfs het schijfje is onttrokken van alle kleur, behalve de muziek. Vier songs (nou ja, vijf als je ook de radio-editversie van The Traveller meerekent) die duidelijk aantonen dat deze Duitsers behoorlijke songs kunnen neerpennen. Alle tracks zijn voorzien van stevige rockgitaren, meezingbare melodieën en de aangename stem van Anne kan doorgaan als een rockversie van Kate Bush.

Deze ep met Try To Catch Me als sterkste song, is een leuke kennismaking en de voorbode van de eerste cd die eind dit jaar verschijnt. Het enige waar Shine Noir nog behoorlijk moet aan sleutelen is de productie, want alles klinkt net iets te plat om echt indruk te maken. Voor de rest zullen de fans van dit genre hier beslist blij mee zijn. Dat denken we toch...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void