tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SHINE NOIR - Shine Noir EP

SHINE NOIR

Shine Noir EP

MusicCD (EP)

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An EP still remains the ultimate way to present a band. Shine Noir juggles with all kinds of genres, ultimately the lover of 90s heavy indie rock will fall for this Berlin quartet. If you want big names to compare it with, then Garbage and Guano Apes definitely are the ideal credentials.

Everything on this release is black: the band name, the cover... even the disc has no colors, but the music has. Four songs (well, five if you include the radio edit version of The Traveller) that demonstrate that these Germans can write decent songs. All tracks feature heavy rock guitars, catchy melodies and as main attraction, the quality voice of Anne which can be best described as a rock version of Kate Bush.

This EP with Try To Catch Me as the strongest song is a nice introduction and the harbinger of the first CD that will appear later this year. The only thing Shine Noir needs to take care of is the production, because everything sounds a little too flat. For the rest, fans of this genre certainly will be pleased with this release. At least that’s what we think...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een ep blijft nog altijd de ultieme manier om jezelf als band voor te stellen. Shine Noir goochelt met allerlei genres, uiteindelijk zal het wel de liefhebber van stevige en gemakkelijke 90s-indierock zijn die voor dit viertal uit Berlijn bezwijkt. Als je grote namen wil ter vergelijking, dan zijn Garbage en Guano Apes beslist de ideale referenties.

Alles op dit plaatje is gitzwart: de bandnaam, het hoesje... zelfs het schijfje is onttrokken van alle kleur, behalve de muziek. Vier songs (nou ja, vijf als je ook de radio-editversie van The Traveller meerekent) die duidelijk aantonen dat deze Duitsers behoorlijke songs kunnen neerpennen. Alle tracks zijn voorzien van stevige rockgitaren, meezingbare melodieën en de aangename stem van Anne kan doorgaan als een rockversie van Kate Bush.

Deze ep met Try To Catch Me als sterkste song, is een leuke kennismaking en de voorbode van de eerste cd die eind dit jaar verschijnt. Het enige waar Shine Noir nog behoorlijk moet aan sleutelen is de productie, want alles klinkt net iets te plat om echt indruk te maken. Voor de rest zullen de fans van dit genre hier beslist blij mee zijn. Dat denken we toch...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)