tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SHIVERBURN - Road To Somewhere

SHIVERBURN

Road To Somewhere

MusicCD
Goth MetalRock

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A band that considers Nickelback as one of its inspirations, makes me shiver. Fortunately, the Dutch Shiverburn does not play polished rock, but rock with balls, and it actually sounds good too.

This five-piece band from Limburg (Netherlands) exists three years now, and after the very well-received EP, the debut album Road To Somewhere is out now.

On the CD you hear that this band doubts between alternative rock and goth metal, and it's that dilemma that makes Shiverburn different. Keep those doubts! Those who are keen on melodic and heavy music with great female vocals will like this.

A lot of similar bands sound too much like Nightwish, or the female singer tries to sound like Sharon den Adel, but not Sanne Heuyerjans. The Dutch has a velvet voice that can handle anything: the poppy Last One Standing, the pure rock'n'roll opener Sick Of Waiting, the pretty ballad Same Old Story or the goth/metal like Mistake on which the band gets help from Ruud Jolie of Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks who like it harder might think Shiverburn is a lightweight, but when pop rock with a heavy touch is your favorite music, then these Dutch can be your band...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Ik geef het ruiterlijk toe, een band die Nickelback als één van zijn inspiratiebronnen ziet, doet me rillen van angst. Gelukkig brengt het Nederlandse Shiverburn geen afgelikte rock, wel rock met ballen, en het klinkt nog lekker ook.

Deze vijfkoppige band uit het Nederlandse Limburg is al zo’n drie jaar bezig, en na de zeer goed ontvangen ep, is er het debuut Road To Somewhere.

Op de cd hoor je dat deze band flink twijfelt tussen alternatieve rock en goth metal, en het is net dat dilemma die de band anders laat klinken. Houden dus, die twijfels, want wie verlekkerd is op melodieuze en stevige muziek met heerlijke vrouwelijke vocals, komt met deze plaat aan zijn trekken.

Heel wat gelijksoortige bands durven wel eens te veel als Nightwish klinken, of de zangeres probeert net iets te veel om een tweede Sharon den Adel te worden, maar niet Sanne Heuyerjans. De Nederlandse beschikt over een fluwelen stem die alles aankan: het vrij poppy Last One Standing, de pure rock’n roll van opener Sick Of Waiting, de knappe ballade Same Old Story of het goth/metalachtige Mistake waarvoorj de band hulp krijgt van Ruud Jolie van Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks die voor het zware werk zwichten zouden Shiverburn net iets te veel als een lichtgewicht kunnen beschouwen, maar als poprock met een heavy kantje daarentegen je ding is...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real