tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SHIVERBURN - Road To Somewhere

SHIVERBURN

Road To Somewhere

MusicCD
Goth MetalRock

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A band that considers Nickelback as one of its inspirations, makes me shiver. Fortunately, the Dutch Shiverburn does not play polished rock, but rock with balls, and it actually sounds good too.

This five-piece band from Limburg (Netherlands) exists three years now, and after the very well-received EP, the debut album Road To Somewhere is out now.

On the CD you hear that this band doubts between alternative rock and goth metal, and it's that dilemma that makes Shiverburn different. Keep those doubts! Those who are keen on melodic and heavy music with great female vocals will like this.

A lot of similar bands sound too much like Nightwish, or the female singer tries to sound like Sharon den Adel, but not Sanne Heuyerjans. The Dutch has a velvet voice that can handle anything: the poppy Last One Standing, the pure rock'n'roll opener Sick Of Waiting, the pretty ballad Same Old Story or the goth/metal like Mistake on which the band gets help from Ruud Jolie of Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks who like it harder might think Shiverburn is a lightweight, but when pop rock with a heavy touch is your favorite music, then these Dutch can be your band...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Ik geef het ruiterlijk toe, een band die Nickelback als één van zijn inspiratiebronnen ziet, doet me rillen van angst. Gelukkig brengt het Nederlandse Shiverburn geen afgelikte rock, wel rock met ballen, en het klinkt nog lekker ook.

Deze vijfkoppige band uit het Nederlandse Limburg is al zo’n drie jaar bezig, en na de zeer goed ontvangen ep, is er het debuut Road To Somewhere.

Op de cd hoor je dat deze band flink twijfelt tussen alternatieve rock en goth metal, en het is net dat dilemma die de band anders laat klinken. Houden dus, die twijfels, want wie verlekkerd is op melodieuze en stevige muziek met heerlijke vrouwelijke vocals, komt met deze plaat aan zijn trekken.

Heel wat gelijksoortige bands durven wel eens te veel als Nightwish klinken, of de zangeres probeert net iets te veel om een tweede Sharon den Adel te worden, maar niet Sanne Heuyerjans. De Nederlandse beschikt over een fluwelen stem die alles aankan: het vrij poppy Last One Standing, de pure rock’n roll van opener Sick Of Waiting, de knappe ballade Same Old Story of het goth/metalachtige Mistake waarvoorj de band hulp krijgt van Ruud Jolie van Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks die voor het zware werk zwichten zouden Shiverburn net iets te veel als een lichtgewicht kunnen beschouwen, maar als poprock met een heavy kantje daarentegen je ding is...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room