tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SHIVERBURN - Road To Somewhere

SHIVERBURN

Road To Somewhere

MusicCD
Goth MetalRock

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A band that considers Nickelback as one of its inspirations, makes me shiver. Fortunately, the Dutch Shiverburn does not play polished rock, but rock with balls, and it actually sounds good too.

This five-piece band from Limburg (Netherlands) exists three years now, and after the very well-received EP, the debut album Road To Somewhere is out now.

On the CD you hear that this band doubts between alternative rock and goth metal, and it's that dilemma that makes Shiverburn different. Keep those doubts! Those who are keen on melodic and heavy music with great female vocals will like this.

A lot of similar bands sound too much like Nightwish, or the female singer tries to sound like Sharon den Adel, but not Sanne Heuyerjans. The Dutch has a velvet voice that can handle anything: the poppy Last One Standing, the pure rock'n'roll opener Sick Of Waiting, the pretty ballad Same Old Story or the goth/metal like Mistake on which the band gets help from Ruud Jolie of Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks who like it harder might think Shiverburn is a lightweight, but when pop rock with a heavy touch is your favorite music, then these Dutch can be your band...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Ik geef het ruiterlijk toe, een band die Nickelback als één van zijn inspiratiebronnen ziet, doet me rillen van angst. Gelukkig brengt het Nederlandse Shiverburn geen afgelikte rock, wel rock met ballen, en het klinkt nog lekker ook.

Deze vijfkoppige band uit het Nederlandse Limburg is al zo’n drie jaar bezig, en na de zeer goed ontvangen ep, is er het debuut Road To Somewhere.

Op de cd hoor je dat deze band flink twijfelt tussen alternatieve rock en goth metal, en het is net dat dilemma die de band anders laat klinken. Houden dus, die twijfels, want wie verlekkerd is op melodieuze en stevige muziek met heerlijke vrouwelijke vocals, komt met deze plaat aan zijn trekken.

Heel wat gelijksoortige bands durven wel eens te veel als Nightwish klinken, of de zangeres probeert net iets te veel om een tweede Sharon den Adel te worden, maar niet Sanne Heuyerjans. De Nederlandse beschikt over een fluwelen stem die alles aankan: het vrij poppy Last One Standing, de pure rock’n roll van opener Sick Of Waiting, de knappe ballade Same Old Story of het goth/metalachtige Mistake waarvoorj de band hulp krijgt van Ruud Jolie van Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks die voor het zware werk zwichten zouden Shiverburn net iets te veel als een lichtgewicht kunnen beschouwen, maar als poprock met een heavy kantje daarentegen je ding is...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass