tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SHIVERBURN - Road To Somewhere

SHIVERBURN

Road To Somewhere

MusicCD
Goth MetalRock

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A band that considers Nickelback as one of its inspirations, makes me shiver. Fortunately, the Dutch Shiverburn does not play polished rock, but rock with balls, and it actually sounds good too.

This five-piece band from Limburg (Netherlands) exists three years now, and after the very well-received EP, the debut album Road To Somewhere is out now.

On the CD you hear that this band doubts between alternative rock and goth metal, and it's that dilemma that makes Shiverburn different. Keep those doubts! Those who are keen on melodic and heavy music with great female vocals will like this.

A lot of similar bands sound too much like Nightwish, or the female singer tries to sound like Sharon den Adel, but not Sanne Heuyerjans. The Dutch has a velvet voice that can handle anything: the poppy Last One Standing, the pure rock'n'roll opener Sick Of Waiting, the pretty ballad Same Old Story or the goth/metal like Mistake on which the band gets help from Ruud Jolie of Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks who like it harder might think Shiverburn is a lightweight, but when pop rock with a heavy touch is your favorite music, then these Dutch can be your band...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Ik geef het ruiterlijk toe, een band die Nickelback als één van zijn inspiratiebronnen ziet, doet me rillen van angst. Gelukkig brengt het Nederlandse Shiverburn geen afgelikte rock, wel rock met ballen, en het klinkt nog lekker ook.

Deze vijfkoppige band uit het Nederlandse Limburg is al zo’n drie jaar bezig, en na de zeer goed ontvangen ep, is er het debuut Road To Somewhere.

Op de cd hoor je dat deze band flink twijfelt tussen alternatieve rock en goth metal, en het is net dat dilemma die de band anders laat klinken. Houden dus, die twijfels, want wie verlekkerd is op melodieuze en stevige muziek met heerlijke vrouwelijke vocals, komt met deze plaat aan zijn trekken.

Heel wat gelijksoortige bands durven wel eens te veel als Nightwish klinken, of de zangeres probeert net iets te veel om een tweede Sharon den Adel te worden, maar niet Sanne Heuyerjans. De Nederlandse beschikt over een fluwelen stem die alles aankan: het vrij poppy Last One Standing, de pure rock’n roll van opener Sick Of Waiting, de knappe ballade Same Old Story of het goth/metalachtige Mistake waarvoorj de band hulp krijgt van Ruud Jolie van Within Temptation.

Metalfreaks die voor het zware werk zwichten zouden Shiverburn net iets te veel als een lichtgewicht kunnen beschouwen, maar als poprock met een heavy kantje daarentegen je ding is...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido