tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : SIDEARTICA - Sideartica: a forgotten gem

SIDEARTICA

Sideartica: a forgotten gem

Article
11/12/2016, Maurizio MOSCARELLI

EN

As an important agenda where one pins the "good things in life" to be taken into high memory, this month I decided to try my hand at writing about this seminal and important Italian project, which unfortunately "was".
In spacetime 2001-2006 Elena Alice Fossi, already member of Kirlian Camera along with founder Angelo Bergamini and recently, Kyoo Nam Rossi, Simone Fornari and Falk Pitschk well, as well as leader of other quite recent inspired groups (post-Siderartica project SPECTRA*paris, Stalingrad Valkyrie, Alice Neve Fox), Elena Alice Fossi gave birth to a specimen combo that, unfortunately for us, was short-lived.

In addition to Elena A. Fossi (vocals-electronics-music-lyrics-production-artwork) operating on such a "synthetisch autobahn" we also find Andrea Savelli and Andrea Fossi (brother of Captain Elena Alice exactly).
Since 2002, the year their debut work Night Parade came out, they started producing real gems of an electro-pop / future-glacial-pop going to take best shape on 2004 album Shapes and Colours from the Land of God.
We might call that Arctic-pop, being genetically robotic with an "artificial" hint. So, after first work Night Parade and following double album Shapes and colors from the land of God, Siderartica issued the 7"picture-disc King Snow's Garden/Silver Surfer's Shroud and an exclusive split-CDr including Drifting (live rehearsals 2003 from Kirlian Camera)", the mysterious project Camera Artica's track Lunar Cockroach (Bergamini-Fossi) and an acoustic version to Arkhangel'sk.

The item in question was released as a limited edition of 283 hand-numbered copies. They appeared on various compilations, as well. We will go forward to analyzing those cinematic gems, but even now we can say the Siderartica patrol was a brilliant invention of Elena Alice Fossi offering a relentless and icy first job to posterity, whereas as a leaden sun is arising at the same time. An album based on Roland Mc-505 and arctic melted electronic, guitars landscapes being treated by sidereal minimalism, as well as deeply inspired voices combined with the glacial power of that great vocalist E.A. Fossi exactly is.

The following Shapes and colors from the land of God came out as a double album, instead, where Disc 1, which gave a main title to the work, appeared more complex when going to be compared to above mentioned full-length debut and Disc 2, phantasmagorically entitled Toys and Robots from the land of God added some new prismatic pieces to the many-coloured CD 1.

Just a curiosity: song number 8 of the tracklist was inspired by the soundtrack to the American movie Portrait of Jennie (music by Dmitry Tyomkin and Bernhard Herrmann) which appeared on large screen in 1948.

The 7" picture-disc King Snow's Garden finally saw the light in November 2005 as a limited edition of 500 copies. After that, the "White Tiger" put the project on deep freeze and start giving shape to today's brilliant "UFO-pop" project SPECTRA*paris, but who knows… maybe one day our heroine starts venturing again into that book made of ice pages containing desolate and cold boreal nights, going to cross again the shapes and colors of the (wonderful) Land of God!

We are here in the meantime, basking in those evergreen sider-icescapes, cathartic sounds, arising under a blinding sun and lonely electronic pulse generator metrics. I'll be writing soon about those works which diligently shine Artic Light and shouldn't be forgotten "like tears in rain"… as Batty the "Replicant" said!

Maurizio MOSCARELLI
11/12/2016


NL

Het is belangrijk om in je agenda ook de "goede dingen in het leven" aan te stippen, daarom besloot ik deze maand om iets te schrijven over een veelbelovend en belangrijk Italiaanse project, dat jammer genoeg tot de verleden tijd behoort.

Het was in de ruimtetijd 2001-2006. Elena Alice Fossi, was toen reeds lid van Kirlian Camera en ook betrokken bij het post-Siderartica project SPECTRA*PARIS, Stalingrad Valkyrie en Alice Neve Fox. Samen met Angelo Bergamini, Kyoo Nam Rossi, Simone Fornari en Falk Pitschk richtte ze het Siderartica-combo op dat helaas een kort leven had.

Naast Elena A. Fossi (zang-elektronica-muziek-teksten-productie-artwork) horen we op deze “synthetische autobaan” ook Andrea Savelli en Andrea Fossi (jawel, de broer van kapitein Elena Alice). In 2002 kwam hun debuut Night Parade uit, en sinds dan kregen de elektropoppareltjes van het in 2004 te verschijnen album Shapes and Colours from the Land of God vorm.

Je kan het Arctic-pop noemen, je weet wel robotachtig met een "kunstmatige" hint. Na Night Parade en het dubbelalbum Shapes and Colours from the Land of God, bracht Siderartica een 7 "picture-disc uit (King Snow's Garden/Silver Surfer’s Shroud) en een exclusieve split-CDr met daarop een liverepetitie uit 2003 van Drifting van Kirlian Camera ) en Lunar Cockroach: een track van het mysterieuze project Camera Artica (Bergamini-Fossi) plus een akoestische versie van Arkhangel'sk.

Deze plaat verscheen in een zeer gelimiteerde oplage: 283 om precies te zijn en allen met de hand genummerd. Later verscheen het op verschillende compilaties. Laten we deze filmische edelstenen even verder analyseren, hoewel we nu al kunnen zeggen dat Siderartica een briljante muzikale uitvinding van Elena Alice Fossi was: een meedogenloze ijzige eerste baan met daarop een loden zon die aan het nageslacht werd aangeboden. Een album met een Roland Mc-505 en arctische landschappen van elektronica en gitaren en dat met een siderisch minimalisme, en tevens geïnspireerd door de ijzige kracht van E.A. Fossis stem.

De opvolger Shapes and colors from the land of God kwam als een dubbelalbum uit. De titel van het eerste schijfje was de belangrijkste, maar bleek ingewikkelder te zijn wanneer je het met de titel van het debuut vergeleek. Daarom werd aan de titel de woorden Toys and Robots from the land of God toegevoegd.

Een leuk weetje overigens, de achtste track was geïnspireerd op de soundtrack van de Amerikaanse in 1948 verschenen film Portrait Of Jennie die door Dmitry Tyomkin en Bernhard Herrmann is geschreven.

De 7 "picture-disc King Snow’s Garden zag eindelijk het licht in november 2005, ook hier in een gelimiteerde oplage van 500 exemplaren. Daarna zette de “White Tiger” dit project in de diepvries en kreeg de hedendaagse briljante"UFO-pop" van SPECTRA*PARIS gestalte. Maar wie weet... Misschien komt op een dag onze heldin terug met het geluid van desolate en koude boreale nachten die worden getransformeerd tot vormen en kleuren van het (prachtige) land van God!

In de tussentijd koesteren we de evergreen Sider-icescapes: geluiden die voortvloeien uit een verblindende zon en elektronische apparaten. Ik zal binnenkort iets schrijven over wat verscheen na Artic Light en ook niet vergeten mag worden, "als tranen in de regen" zoals Batty de "Replicant" zei…

Maurizio MOSCARELLI
11/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)