tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : SIGNAPORE SLING - Psych Fuck

SIGNAPORE SLING

Psych Fuck

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Often the music of Iceland is associated with strange, magical, almost otherworldly compositions. Few people expect that shoegaze is made in this island nation as well. In Reykjavik we find Singapore Sling, Psych Fuck is their eighth (yes!) album.

The music of Henrik Björnsson (the mastermind behind this band) sounds dirty, wonderfully imperfect and probably every possible guitar pedal is used. Although noise definitely is a big part of their sound, Signapore Sling sounds absolutely melodic. You wil probably compare them to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Again? Well not exactly, although we are sure that these Icelanders have all the albums of the Reid brothers (and possibly the entire discography of Suicide too) in their collection, but they eventually follow their own (genius) path.

The CD contains twelve songs. There is a psyche and a fuck side, and if the tracks do have one common factor (except the beauty), then it is the maximum use of distorted guitars. This record was released on Fuzz Club, which is anything but a coincidence. The British label has become the home of modern shoegaze. Psychedelic noise rock with shoegaze guitars, what more do you want? And it’s from Iceland!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Vaak wordt de muziek uit IJsland geassocieerd met vreemde, sprookjesachtige, bijna wereldvreemde composities. Weinig mensen verwachten dan ook dat er in deze eilandstaat ook shoegaze wordt gemaakt. In Reykjavik treffen we Singapore Sling aan, dat met Psych Fuck al z'n achtste (jawel!) album uit heeft. 

De muziek van Henrik Björnsson (het brein achter deze band) klinkt vuil, heerlijk onvolmaakt en waarschijnlijk worden zowat alle mogelijke gitaarpedalen benut. Alhoewel noise zeker een belangrijk onderdeel is van hun geluid, klinken de nummers van Signapore Sling zonder meer mooi melodisch. Allicht eindig je met een referentie naar The Jesus & Mary Chain. Alweer?, horen we je zuchten… Nou net weer niet, ofschoon we er zeker van zijn dat deze IJslanders alle platen van de broertjes Reid (en wellicht ook de volledige discografie van Suicide) in hun collectie hebben, doen ze er uiteindelijk toch hun eigen (leuke) ding mee. 

De cd met de leuke titel bevat twaalf nummers. Er is een psyche- en een fuck-kant, en als de nummers toch één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben, dan is het (behalve geniale schoonheid) ook het maximale gebruik van distortiongitaren. Deze plaat is uitgebracht op Fuzz Club en dat is allesbehalve toevallig. Het Britse label is ondertussen uitgegroeid tot de thuishaven van de hedendaagse shoegaze. Psychedelische noiserock met shoegazegitaren, wat wil je nog meer? En dan nog uit IJsland!

 

 

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams