tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : SIGNAPORE SLING - Psych Fuck

SIGNAPORE SLING

Psych Fuck

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Often the music of Iceland is associated with strange, magical, almost otherworldly compositions. Few people expect that shoegaze is made in this island nation as well. In Reykjavik we find Singapore Sling, Psych Fuck is their eighth (yes!) album.

The music of Henrik Björnsson (the mastermind behind this band) sounds dirty, wonderfully imperfect and probably every possible guitar pedal is used. Although noise definitely is a big part of their sound, Signapore Sling sounds absolutely melodic. You wil probably compare them to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Again? Well not exactly, although we are sure that these Icelanders have all the albums of the Reid brothers (and possibly the entire discography of Suicide too) in their collection, but they eventually follow their own (genius) path.

The CD contains twelve songs. There is a psyche and a fuck side, and if the tracks do have one common factor (except the beauty), then it is the maximum use of distorted guitars. This record was released on Fuzz Club, which is anything but a coincidence. The British label has become the home of modern shoegaze. Psychedelic noise rock with shoegaze guitars, what more do you want? And it’s from Iceland!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Vaak wordt de muziek uit IJsland geassocieerd met vreemde, sprookjesachtige, bijna wereldvreemde composities. Weinig mensen verwachten dan ook dat er in deze eilandstaat ook shoegaze wordt gemaakt. In Reykjavik treffen we Singapore Sling aan, dat met Psych Fuck al z'n achtste (jawel!) album uit heeft. 

De muziek van Henrik Björnsson (het brein achter deze band) klinkt vuil, heerlijk onvolmaakt en waarschijnlijk worden zowat alle mogelijke gitaarpedalen benut. Alhoewel noise zeker een belangrijk onderdeel is van hun geluid, klinken de nummers van Signapore Sling zonder meer mooi melodisch. Allicht eindig je met een referentie naar The Jesus & Mary Chain. Alweer?, horen we je zuchten… Nou net weer niet, ofschoon we er zeker van zijn dat deze IJslanders alle platen van de broertjes Reid (en wellicht ook de volledige discografie van Suicide) in hun collectie hebben, doen ze er uiteindelijk toch hun eigen (leuke) ding mee. 

De cd met de leuke titel bevat twaalf nummers. Er is een psyche- en een fuck-kant, en als de nummers toch één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben, dan is het (behalve geniale schoonheid) ook het maximale gebruik van distortiongitaren. Deze plaat is uitgebracht op Fuzz Club en dat is allesbehalve toevallig. Het Britse label is ondertussen uitgegroeid tot de thuishaven van de hedendaagse shoegaze. Psychedelische noiserock met shoegazegitaren, wat wil je nog meer? En dan nog uit IJsland!

 

 

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey