tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : SIGNAPORE SLING - Psych Fuck

SIGNAPORE SLING

Psych Fuck

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Often the music of Iceland is associated with strange, magical, almost otherworldly compositions. Few people expect that shoegaze is made in this island nation as well. In Reykjavik we find Singapore Sling, Psych Fuck is their eighth (yes!) album.

The music of Henrik Björnsson (the mastermind behind this band) sounds dirty, wonderfully imperfect and probably every possible guitar pedal is used. Although noise definitely is a big part of their sound, Signapore Sling sounds absolutely melodic. You wil probably compare them to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Again? Well not exactly, although we are sure that these Icelanders have all the albums of the Reid brothers (and possibly the entire discography of Suicide too) in their collection, but they eventually follow their own (genius) path.

The CD contains twelve songs. There is a psyche and a fuck side, and if the tracks do have one common factor (except the beauty), then it is the maximum use of distorted guitars. This record was released on Fuzz Club, which is anything but a coincidence. The British label has become the home of modern shoegaze. Psychedelic noise rock with shoegaze guitars, what more do you want? And it’s from Iceland!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Vaak wordt de muziek uit IJsland geassocieerd met vreemde, sprookjesachtige, bijna wereldvreemde composities. Weinig mensen verwachten dan ook dat er in deze eilandstaat ook shoegaze wordt gemaakt. In Reykjavik treffen we Singapore Sling aan, dat met Psych Fuck al z'n achtste (jawel!) album uit heeft. 

De muziek van Henrik Björnsson (het brein achter deze band) klinkt vuil, heerlijk onvolmaakt en waarschijnlijk worden zowat alle mogelijke gitaarpedalen benut. Alhoewel noise zeker een belangrijk onderdeel is van hun geluid, klinken de nummers van Signapore Sling zonder meer mooi melodisch. Allicht eindig je met een referentie naar The Jesus & Mary Chain. Alweer?, horen we je zuchten… Nou net weer niet, ofschoon we er zeker van zijn dat deze IJslanders alle platen van de broertjes Reid (en wellicht ook de volledige discografie van Suicide) in hun collectie hebben, doen ze er uiteindelijk toch hun eigen (leuke) ding mee. 

De cd met de leuke titel bevat twaalf nummers. Er is een psyche- en een fuck-kant, en als de nummers toch één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben, dan is het (behalve geniale schoonheid) ook het maximale gebruik van distortiongitaren. Deze plaat is uitgebracht op Fuzz Club en dat is allesbehalve toevallig. Het Britse label is ondertussen uitgegroeid tot de thuishaven van de hedendaagse shoegaze. Psychedelische noiserock met shoegazegitaren, wat wil je nog meer? En dan nog uit IJsland!

 

 

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day