tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : SIGNAPORE SLING - Psych Fuck

SIGNAPORE SLING

Psych Fuck

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Often the music of Iceland is associated with strange, magical, almost otherworldly compositions. Few people expect that shoegaze is made in this island nation as well. In Reykjavik we find Singapore Sling, Psych Fuck is their eighth (yes!) album.

The music of Henrik Björnsson (the mastermind behind this band) sounds dirty, wonderfully imperfect and probably every possible guitar pedal is used. Although noise definitely is a big part of their sound, Signapore Sling sounds absolutely melodic. You wil probably compare them to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Again? Well not exactly, although we are sure that these Icelanders have all the albums of the Reid brothers (and possibly the entire discography of Suicide too) in their collection, but they eventually follow their own (genius) path.

The CD contains twelve songs. There is a psyche and a fuck side, and if the tracks do have one common factor (except the beauty), then it is the maximum use of distorted guitars. This record was released on Fuzz Club, which is anything but a coincidence. The British label has become the home of modern shoegaze. Psychedelic noise rock with shoegaze guitars, what more do you want? And it’s from Iceland!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Vaak wordt de muziek uit IJsland geassocieerd met vreemde, sprookjesachtige, bijna wereldvreemde composities. Weinig mensen verwachten dan ook dat er in deze eilandstaat ook shoegaze wordt gemaakt. In Reykjavik treffen we Singapore Sling aan, dat met Psych Fuck al z'n achtste (jawel!) album uit heeft. 

De muziek van Henrik Björnsson (het brein achter deze band) klinkt vuil, heerlijk onvolmaakt en waarschijnlijk worden zowat alle mogelijke gitaarpedalen benut. Alhoewel noise zeker een belangrijk onderdeel is van hun geluid, klinken de nummers van Signapore Sling zonder meer mooi melodisch. Allicht eindig je met een referentie naar The Jesus & Mary Chain. Alweer?, horen we je zuchten… Nou net weer niet, ofschoon we er zeker van zijn dat deze IJslanders alle platen van de broertjes Reid (en wellicht ook de volledige discografie van Suicide) in hun collectie hebben, doen ze er uiteindelijk toch hun eigen (leuke) ding mee. 

De cd met de leuke titel bevat twaalf nummers. Er is een psyche- en een fuck-kant, en als de nummers toch één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben, dan is het (behalve geniale schoonheid) ook het maximale gebruik van distortiongitaren. Deze plaat is uitgebracht op Fuzz Club en dat is allesbehalve toevallig. Het Britse label is ondertussen uitgegroeid tot de thuishaven van de hedendaagse shoegaze. Psychedelische noiserock met shoegazegitaren, wat wil je nog meer? En dan nog uit IJsland!

 

 

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis