tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : SIGNAPORE SLING - Psych Fuck

SIGNAPORE SLING

Psych Fuck

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Often the music of Iceland is associated with strange, magical, almost otherworldly compositions. Few people expect that shoegaze is made in this island nation as well. In Reykjavik we find Singapore Sling, Psych Fuck is their eighth (yes!) album.

The music of Henrik Björnsson (the mastermind behind this band) sounds dirty, wonderfully imperfect and probably every possible guitar pedal is used. Although noise definitely is a big part of their sound, Signapore Sling sounds absolutely melodic. You wil probably compare them to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Again? Well not exactly, although we are sure that these Icelanders have all the albums of the Reid brothers (and possibly the entire discography of Suicide too) in their collection, but they eventually follow their own (genius) path.

The CD contains twelve songs. There is a psyche and a fuck side, and if the tracks do have one common factor (except the beauty), then it is the maximum use of distorted guitars. This record was released on Fuzz Club, which is anything but a coincidence. The British label has become the home of modern shoegaze. Psychedelic noise rock with shoegaze guitars, what more do you want? And it’s from Iceland!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Vaak wordt de muziek uit IJsland geassocieerd met vreemde, sprookjesachtige, bijna wereldvreemde composities. Weinig mensen verwachten dan ook dat er in deze eilandstaat ook shoegaze wordt gemaakt. In Reykjavik treffen we Singapore Sling aan, dat met Psych Fuck al z'n achtste (jawel!) album uit heeft. 

De muziek van Henrik Björnsson (het brein achter deze band) klinkt vuil, heerlijk onvolmaakt en waarschijnlijk worden zowat alle mogelijke gitaarpedalen benut. Alhoewel noise zeker een belangrijk onderdeel is van hun geluid, klinken de nummers van Signapore Sling zonder meer mooi melodisch. Allicht eindig je met een referentie naar The Jesus & Mary Chain. Alweer?, horen we je zuchten… Nou net weer niet, ofschoon we er zeker van zijn dat deze IJslanders alle platen van de broertjes Reid (en wellicht ook de volledige discografie van Suicide) in hun collectie hebben, doen ze er uiteindelijk toch hun eigen (leuke) ding mee. 

De cd met de leuke titel bevat twaalf nummers. Er is een psyche- en een fuck-kant, en als de nummers toch één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben, dan is het (behalve geniale schoonheid) ook het maximale gebruik van distortiongitaren. Deze plaat is uitgebracht op Fuzz Club en dat is allesbehalve toevallig. Het Britse label is ondertussen uitgegroeid tot de thuishaven van de hedendaagse shoegaze. Psychedelische noiserock met shoegazegitaren, wat wil je nog meer? En dan nog uit IJsland!

 

 

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone