tempobet yeni adresi

11/12/2016 : SINE SILEX - Schachmatt

SINE SILEX

Schachmatt

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDarkwaveSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Sine Silex is a minimal synthwave/dreampop band with two members: Kriistal Ann (also half of the band Paradox Obscur) and Chroma Carbon (also band Factice Factory). Toxic Razor (musical centipede and the othar 'half' of Paradox Obscur) produced the album Schachmatt, which is released by Werkstatt Recordings.

The album contains 10 songs. Both members sing, the music sounds very vintage with very dark and painfully slow synths with a typical cold drum sound. The lyrics are diverse: in English and French. The voices of Anna and Chroma complement each other: the darker and deeper sound of Chroma and the mythical and sometimes heavenly voice of Anna.

Operative has a seasoned eighties sound, while Ether consists of a more millennium and more uptempo synth sound. Six To Twenty Seconds dances on a tune as if it was a heartbeat. And the diversity, allthough we can say that everything is old school synthwave, becomes obviously clear in a song like Les Nimbes, in which the analog machinery goes all the way.

Modeliste takes us back to the eighties. Nénuphar contains more modern sounds. I even hear some drum 'n bass.

Over all, this is a great album for those who like good old synthwave. Werkstatt Recordings releases an excellent longplayer, available (limited) on cassette, CD and deluxe digipac.

Tracklist:
Antidote
Operative
Ether
Six To Twenty Seconds
Les Nimbes
Modeliste
Rifle
Nénuphar
L'amnésie
L'embrun

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
PIG • The Gospel

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PARADE GROUND • Strange World

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
MALA HERBA • Demo
ELEZORIA • Astray
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)