tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

17/09/2015 : SINEAD O'CONNOR - The Foggy Dew

SINEAD O'CONNOR

The Foggy Dew

MusicCD single
FolkRock

[90/100]   

Self-released
17/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Sinéad O'Conner has released a new single. The Foggy Dew was recorded for the commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the funeral of Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa in Dublin, a renowned leader of the Fenian movement, who strove for Irish independence in the 19th century. His funeral at Glasnevin Cemetery on August 1, 1915, was one of the greatest political funerals of Irish history. According to the leaflet, the single can be downloaded free of charge on the UFC website, but we have not found it there. You find the gruesome video of O'Connors UFC appearance here.

Sinéad O'Connor recorded The Foggy Dew with The Chieftains in 1995. It is an old composition of which different versions are circulating. The oldest, according to Wikipedia, can be found in the songbook The Ancient Music of Ireland (1840) by Edward Bunting, but that version has a different tune. Perhaps parish priest Canon Charles O'Neill (1887-1963) is the author of the present version. It is said that he probably wrote it about 1919, shortly after the Irish Easter Rebellion. He used an older tune that was also used for other folk songs.

For the new version of The Foggy Dew, a large orchestral accompaniment was written in which the drumes dominate the soundscape in order to emphasize the hard struggle and the bloodshed of the heroes. O'Connor sounds sharper than in The Chieftains version and as a result of the multiple duplications of the voice, The Foggy Dew grows into a grand anthem with goose bumps as a result. The folk song becomes a battle song and Sinéad O'Connor delivers the best version ever put on CD.

A brief historical sketch of Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa can be found here.

William LIÉNARD
17/09/2015


NL

Sinéad O’Connor heeft een nieuwe single uit. The Foggy Dew is opgenomen voor de herdenkingsplechtigheid van de 100ste verjaardag van de begrafenis van Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa in Dublin, een gerenommeerd leider van de Fenian beweging, die in de 19e eeuw naar Ierse onafhankelijkheid streefde. Zijn begrafenis op de Glasnevin-begraafplaats op 1 augustus 1915, was één van de grootste politieke begrafenissen uit de Ierse geschiedenis. De single kan volgens de bijsluiter gratis worden gedownload op de UFC website, maar daar hebben wij hem niet gevonden. De afschuwelijke video van O’Connors UFC-optreden vindt u hier.

Sinéad O’Connor nam The Foggy Dew eerder op met The Chieftains in 1995. Het is een oude compositie waarvan ondertussen verschillende versies bestaan. De alleroudste is volgens Wikipedia terug te vinden in de liederenbundel The Ancient Music of Ireland (1840) van Edward Bunting, maar die heeft een andere melodie dan de versie die tegenwoordig populair is. Misschien is parochiepriester Canon Charles O’Neill (1887-1963) de auteur van de huidige versie. Hij zou dan omstreeks 1919, kort na de Ierse Paasopstand, de tekst hebben geschreven op een oudere melodie die ook voor andere volksliedjes is gebruikt.

Voor de nieuwe versie van The Foggy Dew is een ruime orkestrale begeleiding geschreven waarin de drums domineren als om de harde strijd en het vele vergoten bloed beter in de verf te zetten. O’Connor klinkt scherper dan in de versie met The Chieftains en als gevolg van de verveelvoudiging van de stem, groeit The Foggy Dew uit tot een groots anthem met kippenvel tot gevolg. De folksong is strijdlied geworden en Sinéad O’Connor levert wat ons betreft de beste versie die ooit op CD is gezet.

Een korte historische schets over Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa vindt u hier.

William LIÉNARD
17/09/2015


17/09/2015 : SINEAD O'CONNOR - The Foggy Dew 17/09/2015 : SINEAD O'CONNOR - The Foggy Dew 17/09/2015 : SINEAD O'CONNOR - The Foggy Dew 17/09/2015 : SINEAD O'CONNOR - The Foggy Dew

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules