tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : SIVA SIX - The Twin Moons

SIVA SIX

The Twin Moons

MusicCD
EBMElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[66/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
02/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Unleash the bea(s)ts!

SIVA SIX is a Greek duo, consisting of Z and Herr Khaos. 

Their third album, “The Twin Moons” (an "apocalyptical concept album"), is to be released on the superb Belgian Alfa-Matrix Label in June 2011.

Their music is an interesting mix of dark electro, EBM and IDM (intelligent dance music). Aggressive, distorted vocals are combined with real orchestra recordings by maestro Chris Antoniou, also known from his work with the fantastic Greek death/doom metal band, Septic Flesh.

Have you heard this kind of stuff before? A lot? You probably have. Leather Strip, :WUMPSCUT, Suicide Commando, HOCICO and Decoded Feedback can all be mentioned in this regard. Just for fun we can also add Santa Hates You to this list.

The artwork is from Jérôme Cros, a rather famous graphic designer and illustrator that also worked with Mayhem and Rotting Christ.

“The Twin Moons” is a varied album with some “hellish” club hits (“Valley of the Shadows”, “Serpent Whore” and “The Twin Moons”); some intriguing dark soundscapes and even an unnecessary Vangelis cover (a track from the “Blade Runner” soundtrack).

Fans can also buy a strictly limited carton box edition (200 copies) with a bonus CD: “Alfa & Omega”, featuring club remixes by amGod, Acylum, Christian Cambas, The Synthetic Dream Foundation …

A conclusion? A bit difficult this time. Let’s say that SIVA SIX deliver an enjoyable album to be played very loud. If they come to Belgium with a new live-show, you should probably check them out!

Didier PIETERS
02/06/2011


NL

Hell Yeah! Unleash the bea(s)ts!

SIVA SIX is alweer een Grieks duo (zie ook ]CYLIX[), deze keer bestaand uit Z en Herr Khaos.

In juni komt op het Belgische Alfa-Matrix Label hun derde CD, “The Twin Moons” uit.

Siva Six brengt een mix van dark electro, EBM en intelligente dansmuziek (IDM voor de kenners).

Ze streven naar een apocalyptische sound, ter verpakking van hun “hel-profetieën”. Als u nu luidkeels begint te schateren: denk eraan, SATAN ziet u! Agressieve, verstoorde vocalen worden gecombineerd met bombastische orkestopnames van maestro Chris Antoniou, ook bekend van zijn werk met de sublieme Griekse death/doom metalband Septic Flesh.

Hebt u het allemaal al eens eerder (en misschien beter) gehoord? Zeker wel. Bij Leather Strip, :WUMPSCUT, Suicide Commando, HOCICO en Decoded Feedback om maar enkele namen te noemen. We kunnen hier voor de lol ook nog het geschifte Santa Hates You aan toevoegen.

Het artwork is van de hand van Jérôme Cros, ook al achter de tekentafel voor onder andere Mayhem en Rotting Christ.

“The Twin Moons”? Al bij al krijgen we een redelijk gevarieerd album met bij momenten leuk voer voor de dansvloer (“Valley of the Shadows”, “Serpent Whore” en “The Twin Moons”), enkele donkere sfeerstukjes en een compleet overbodige Vangelis cover (een nummer van de “Blade Runner” soundtrack).

Voor de liefhebbers is er ook een sterk gelimiteerde versie van The Twin Moons verkrijgbaar (200 copies) met een extra CD (“Alfa & Omega”).

U wilt mijn oordeel? Moeilijk deze keer. Laat het ons houden op een genietbaar tussendoortje, best te smaken/degusteren met de volumeknop wijd open! Z en Herr Khaos zijn overigens volop bezig met het uitwerken van een nieuwe liveshow. Als ze naar België komen zeker het checken waard!

Didier PIETERS
02/06/2011


 

Next reviews
DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE • Codes and Keys
MONOZID • Say Hello to Artificial Grey
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night
QLUSTER • Fragen
SHOULD • Like a fire without sound
HERPES • Symptome und beschwerden
MIST • House
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Frost Vol.1
DICEPEOPLE • It Gets Darker
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize