tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/10/2011 : SKINNY PUPPY - hanDover

SKINNY PUPPY

hanDover

MusicCD
ElectroIndustrial

[76/100]   

Synthetic Promotions
13/10/2011, Didier BECU

Due to the many clones we tend to forget the real thing. Indeed, apart from Front 242 or Nitzer Ebb, we guess Skinny Puppy must be the most copied band in the scene, but whereas many of their examples tend to forget that there is something like "evolution", frontmen/conceptualists Ogre and Cevin Key seem to be aware that you better change the concept from time to time.

Their 14th album, "hanDover" is inspired by the greedy financial organisations who seem to fuck up the life from the ordinary Joe and in a career spanning more than 25 years this album might not be their strongest but it's certainly one of their most innovating ones.

Those who are expecting to hear a reprise from anthems like "Smothered Hope" or "Assimilate" will probably categorize this album as a rather dull one. The indus-influences are of course still there but in such a way you could describe the newest offerings from this institute as a more cinematographic approach.

This album comes three years after "Mythmaker" and according to Key this album had to be different: "I didn’t want to write the record the same way as the previous ones, I wanted there to be fresh angles, both in the songwriting and the programming platforms. I was changing the whole element of myself just to see what would happen. In the end, I made something different, but it was still coming from me. I’m not interested in looking at my accomplishments and myself. Like any electronic music fan, I look at the big question: Where is it all going?", the man says.

We honestly don't know ourselves but what we do know is that after Ogre's great solo-offering earlier this year, Skinny Puppy have once again delivered an album that definitely matters even if it's not the same band that once delivered the Remission-EP back in 1984. The anger's still there, the melancholy as well and sadly enough the dark subjects as well.

No one will disagree that you can easily come up with a stronger album by them but at least they once again changed their borders and who knows we'll see this album as a classic in 2020 but along with 16Volt they delivered one of the best electro-indusalbum of this year.

Perhaps not a surprise to read, but certainly surprising enough to hear this from someone who already gave up on them.

Didier BECU
13/10/2011


 

Next reviews
IN CAMERA • IV Songs + II
A THOUSAND SOCIETIES • Le Crépuscule Des Idoles
SECTION 25 • Invicta EP
DICEPEOPLE • It Gets Darker
AUTODAFEH • Act of faith
THE OPEN UP AND BLEEDS • An act of love and violence
HECQ • Avenger
MASCHINENFEST 2K11 • Or how to destroy your senses in a few days time...
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits
ZARTBITTER 16 • Richtung Zukunft

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
KLANGWELT • The Incident
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • All The Way Down
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)