tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : SKOLD - Anomie

SKOLD

Anomie

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Dependent
07/07/2011, Karenza NIXON

It’s been 15 years since Tim Skold released his first solo album and not being the kind of man to rest on his laurels; his alliances with KMFDM and Marilyn Manson have brought much critical acclaim. ‘Anomie’, his second solo album, sees the man firing on all cylinders. Crossing the genres of musical diversity to create a beast of an album that will not only please fans of his previous acquaintances, but will cater for a whole range of musical tastes.

The opener ‘(This Is My) Elephant’ thunders in giving an immediate metal edge to the album and ‘Angel of Noise’, well, it’s pure metal! If that’s not your bag, don’t be disheartened, songs like ‘Becoming’ (the highlight of the album for me), ‘Satellite’ and ‘What You See Is What You Get’ are industrial tracks infused with enough angst for the darkest of minds. 

Comparisons to his work with Manson and KMFDM are obvious and ‘Suck’ and ‘Black Out’ tick that box nicely. The ballads…..’And Then We Die’ and ‘Miserably Never After’ both have an industrial-rock feel and by comparison ‘Tonight’ is an up-beat track and a bit of a surprise.

The production on this album is superb, but really I wouldn’t expect less and the vocal qualities of Tim Skold (that I always loved) are sharper, with more depth and emotion than ever.

With the likes of Combichrist, 16Volt and Front Line Assembly lined up for remixes on future releases, the direction seems a good one, so if you like music that’s not confined to one genre but the perfect mixture of many, then give this a try.

 

Karenza NIXON
07/07/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith