tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/02/2013 : SLAVE REPUBLIC - Quest for love

SLAVE REPUBLIC

Quest for love

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDarkwaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   

Accession Records
11/02/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Honestly i missed their debut! But i'm very glad I could jump on the train after listening to their second cd! This is a new Dark Electro/ synth pop discovery! Daniel Myer did a great job as producer!

'Paint my heart black' is a smasher coming in like a comet (also listen to the Tribute Horn remix by Daniel Myer)! Love the beat and the sound, a bit retro but oh so catchy. Normally I don't like O-o's in songs, but this one fits nice, together with the beating drums and the bewitching synths! This song could make it on the dancefloor!

'Walking ghost' contains some tragedy too, a nice guitarplay and heavenly synths mixed with a good beat. I also love the break in the middle of the song and it has a nice outro. 'Emptiness' has a more 'Mesh'-kind of a sound (for sure the voice) and once again: I love the guitars in here!

'Primärreiz' is an other topper and here Torben Wendt joins in to make it an even bigger pearl! Another future dancefloorhit! Don't forget to check out the remix by Absolute Body Control (a major call to the DJ's: try it out)!

'Fall asleep' is a bit more calming down the vibe, but with 'Lovers' Suicide' we get a higher gear and another dancefloorhit. I think i'm already loosing count? 'Promises and broken hearts' has also two versions on this album (the second one is the Tonkollegium club remix). It's for sure a hell of a danceloor blast. Can't stand still on this one and I don't think i'm the only one... Hey, hey: get me more of this!

'Ménage A Trois' is a very tempting song with a genius guitar and a very flashy sound. Who cand stand still on this song? Not me, for sure! 'Quest for love' starts as a very mellow ballade and gets some more electronic beeps after a while, but still: this ballad is a pearl! It's a good idea to put a ballad on here. Most of the lyrics are pretty depressive and ends with this quest for love! And after this the party goes on with 3 powerful remixes.

I can only recommend this cd to everybody and cross fingers that a lot of DJ's will actually play it!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/02/2013


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
34 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
PSYCHEDELIC FURS
Love My Way
27
02
DIVE
Take Your Dreams Away [Official Video]
26
02
ART OF EMPHATHY
Where Souls Shine Brightest
26
02
OUTPOST 11
Action
25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan