tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/02/2013 : SLAVE REPUBLIC - Quest for love

SLAVE REPUBLIC

Quest for love

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDarkwaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   

Accession Records
11/02/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Honestly i missed their debut! But i'm very glad I could jump on the train after listening to their second cd! This is a new Dark Electro/ synth pop discovery! Daniel Myer did a great job as producer!

'Paint my heart black' is a smasher coming in like a comet (also listen to the Tribute Horn remix by Daniel Myer)! Love the beat and the sound, a bit retro but oh so catchy. Normally I don't like O-o's in songs, but this one fits nice, together with the beating drums and the bewitching synths! This song could make it on the dancefloor!

'Walking ghost' contains some tragedy too, a nice guitarplay and heavenly synths mixed with a good beat. I also love the break in the middle of the song and it has a nice outro. 'Emptiness' has a more 'Mesh'-kind of a sound (for sure the voice) and once again: I love the guitars in here!

'Primärreiz' is an other topper and here Torben Wendt joins in to make it an even bigger pearl! Another future dancefloorhit! Don't forget to check out the remix by Absolute Body Control (a major call to the DJ's: try it out)!

'Fall asleep' is a bit more calming down the vibe, but with 'Lovers' Suicide' we get a higher gear and another dancefloorhit. I think i'm already loosing count? 'Promises and broken hearts' has also two versions on this album (the second one is the Tonkollegium club remix). It's for sure a hell of a danceloor blast. Can't stand still on this one and I don't think i'm the only one... Hey, hey: get me more of this!

'Ménage A Trois' is a very tempting song with a genius guitar and a very flashy sound. Who cand stand still on this song? Not me, for sure! 'Quest for love' starts as a very mellow ballade and gets some more electronic beeps after a while, but still: this ballad is a pearl! It's a good idea to put a ballad on here. Most of the lyrics are pretty depressive and ends with this quest for love! And after this the party goes on with 3 powerful remixes.

I can only recommend this cd to everybody and cross fingers that a lot of DJ's will actually play it!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/02/2013


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched