tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/08/2015 : SLEAFORD MODS - Key Markets

SLEAFORD MODS

Key Markets

MusicCD


[80/100]   
16/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

From being largely confined to the clubs of the East Midlands to turning a marquee at Glastonbury a hothouse of sweat, swearing and swaying, it's been a steady rise for likeable Nottz spitters Sleaford Mods. Key Markets might be the album that divides opinion, however. As the loyal fan-base will no doubt remain, the hipsters will move on to their next idols, leaving Jason Williamson and Andrew Fearn to face their next audience - the mainstream, the charlies, the chancers and the very subjects of previous rants.

Not that any of this matters when you've got an album as sharp as this. If Divide and Exit suffered for being a bit too samey musically, Fearn's beats on here are as tight as a moth's arse while Williamson's rhythmical rhyming couplets are as brash, bleak, hilarious and verbose as ever with one or two noticeable restraining orders served on the usual 'fucks', 'tits' and 'cunts' present on much of the album. No Ones Bothered might even make the One Show one day. There's a thought. Sorry about that.

The highlights on Key Markets are many - the politically-inclined Face To Faces portentously remarks that '.. in our failure to grab hold of what we have... we have lost the sight..., we have lost our fucking minds alright..' while Cunt Make It Up is a hybrid of the surreal and the ridiculed not unlike The Fall mixed with fellow East Midlander Pitman's barbed but comedic rants. And all the while, those insistent bass-lines and tin-pan drum patterns batter your eardrums like a landfill sound-system.

At the time of writing, I read a review of Key Markets by London's Evening Standard. Predictably, they dismissed it as uninventive and that it 'doesn't demand repeated listening'. Which is precisely one of many reasons that you, the unsure, should pick up this bang-on album and bang it on. Loud. The bass-line and beats on Rupert Trousers are worth the admission fee alone. If only half of the slack-trousered kids standing on the sidelines had a fraction of this sort of venom in their creative juices, they might form bands like this and unnerve the unhinged. 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

 

 

Paul PLEDGER
16/08/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string