tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/08/2015 : SLEAFORD MODS - Key Markets

SLEAFORD MODS

Key Markets

MusicCD


[80/100]   
16/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

From being largely confined to the clubs of the East Midlands to turning a marquee at Glastonbury a hothouse of sweat, swearing and swaying, it's been a steady rise for likeable Nottz spitters Sleaford Mods. Key Markets might be the album that divides opinion, however. As the loyal fan-base will no doubt remain, the hipsters will move on to their next idols, leaving Jason Williamson and Andrew Fearn to face their next audience - the mainstream, the charlies, the chancers and the very subjects of previous rants.

Not that any of this matters when you've got an album as sharp as this. If Divide and Exit suffered for being a bit too samey musically, Fearn's beats on here are as tight as a moth's arse while Williamson's rhythmical rhyming couplets are as brash, bleak, hilarious and verbose as ever with one or two noticeable restraining orders served on the usual 'fucks', 'tits' and 'cunts' present on much of the album. No Ones Bothered might even make the One Show one day. There's a thought. Sorry about that.

The highlights on Key Markets are many - the politically-inclined Face To Faces portentously remarks that '.. in our failure to grab hold of what we have... we have lost the sight..., we have lost our fucking minds alright..' while Cunt Make It Up is a hybrid of the surreal and the ridiculed not unlike The Fall mixed with fellow East Midlander Pitman's barbed but comedic rants. And all the while, those insistent bass-lines and tin-pan drum patterns batter your eardrums like a landfill sound-system.

At the time of writing, I read a review of Key Markets by London's Evening Standard. Predictably, they dismissed it as uninventive and that it 'doesn't demand repeated listening'. Which is precisely one of many reasons that you, the unsure, should pick up this bang-on album and bang it on. Loud. The bass-line and beats on Rupert Trousers are worth the admission fee alone. If only half of the slack-trousered kids standing on the sidelines had a fraction of this sort of venom in their creative juices, they might form bands like this and unnerve the unhinged. 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

 

 

Paul PLEDGER
16/08/2015


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn