tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/07/2011 : SLEEPWALK - Revenge of the Lost

SLEEPWALK

Revenge of the Lost

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[63/100]   

Scanner
03/07/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

SLEEPWALK, an electro-trio from Bern (Switzerland), nowadays consists of the brothers Ruch (Bruno and Roland) and Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk have been around since 1992 and were founded by Bruno Ruch and Oliver Spring. They released 5 albums together, the last one in 2005 (“Rapid Eye Movement”).

The NEW Sleepwalk (out: Oliver, in: Roland and Andreas) recently released "Revenge of the Lost" on the German label Scanner (Dark Dimensions).

“Revenge of the Lost” is, in fact, the physical form of a free web-EP from 2009, also called ‘Revenge of the Lost”. Two bonus tracks and remixes from Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion and Supreme Court are added.

“RotL” is a limited release and as far as I am concerned, the highlights are “Dig Your Grave” and the restrained / melancholic remix of “Control” by Stereomotion. In my opinion it’s even better than the original song. Also the Supreme Court remix of “Dig Your Grave” deserves a place on the CD!

Some descent offerings of dark electro / EBM, nothing more, nothing less? Difficult to say... “Dig Your Grave” certainly scores above average and also “Control” has captured my attention and makes me wonder about the full album that is currently worked on. In each case, I consider it a hopeful sign that the best songs on “Revenge of the Lost” are the two new songs.

To be continued …

PLAY VERY LOUD!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


NL

Het Zwitsers (Bern) electro-trio SLEEPWALK bestaat uit de broertjes Ruch (Bruno en Roland) en Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk is al actief sinds 1992, zij het toen nog in een andere samenstelling.

Recent verscheen op Dark Dimensions / Scanner “Revenge of the Lost” van Sleepwalk.

Het gaat hier eigenlijk om de gratis web-EP “Revenge of the Lost” (2009), die nu omwille van de grote vraag in fysieke vorm wordt uitgebracht, aangevuld met 2 extra nummers en remixes van Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion en Supreme Court.

“Revenge of the Lost” is een gelimiteerd gevalletje en de uitschieters zijn wat mij betreft “Dig Your Grave” en de “weemoedige”, meer ingetogen remix van “Control” (Stereomotion). Ik vind de remix zelfs beter dan het origineel. Ook de “Dig Your Grave”-remix van Supreme Court verdient zijn plaatsje op de CD.

Een portie degelijke dark electro / EBM, niets meer of minder? Zou dat een goede conclusie kunnen zijn? Het strakke, aanstekelijke “Dig Your Grave” overstijgt in elk geval de grauwe middelmaat en ook “Control” maakt dat we toch een beetje uitkijken naar de full-CD waar momenteel hard aan wordt gewerkt. Het is in elk geval hoopgevend dat de beste nummers op de CD juist de 2 nieuwe nummers zijn!

We zijn benieuwd …

Play very loud!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
JESU • When I Was Small

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes