tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/07/2011 : SLEEPWALK - Revenge of the Lost

SLEEPWALK

Revenge of the Lost

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[63/100]   

Scanner
03/07/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

SLEEPWALK, an electro-trio from Bern (Switzerland), nowadays consists of the brothers Ruch (Bruno and Roland) and Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk have been around since 1992 and were founded by Bruno Ruch and Oliver Spring. They released 5 albums together, the last one in 2005 (“Rapid Eye Movement”).

The NEW Sleepwalk (out: Oliver, in: Roland and Andreas) recently released "Revenge of the Lost" on the German label Scanner (Dark Dimensions).

“Revenge of the Lost” is, in fact, the physical form of a free web-EP from 2009, also called ‘Revenge of the Lost”. Two bonus tracks and remixes from Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion and Supreme Court are added.

“RotL” is a limited release and as far as I am concerned, the highlights are “Dig Your Grave” and the restrained / melancholic remix of “Control” by Stereomotion. In my opinion it’s even better than the original song. Also the Supreme Court remix of “Dig Your Grave” deserves a place on the CD!

Some descent offerings of dark electro / EBM, nothing more, nothing less? Difficult to say... “Dig Your Grave” certainly scores above average and also “Control” has captured my attention and makes me wonder about the full album that is currently worked on. In each case, I consider it a hopeful sign that the best songs on “Revenge of the Lost” are the two new songs.

To be continued …

PLAY VERY LOUD!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


NL

Het Zwitsers (Bern) electro-trio SLEEPWALK bestaat uit de broertjes Ruch (Bruno en Roland) en Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk is al actief sinds 1992, zij het toen nog in een andere samenstelling.

Recent verscheen op Dark Dimensions / Scanner “Revenge of the Lost” van Sleepwalk.

Het gaat hier eigenlijk om de gratis web-EP “Revenge of the Lost” (2009), die nu omwille van de grote vraag in fysieke vorm wordt uitgebracht, aangevuld met 2 extra nummers en remixes van Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion en Supreme Court.

“Revenge of the Lost” is een gelimiteerd gevalletje en de uitschieters zijn wat mij betreft “Dig Your Grave” en de “weemoedige”, meer ingetogen remix van “Control” (Stereomotion). Ik vind de remix zelfs beter dan het origineel. Ook de “Dig Your Grave”-remix van Supreme Court verdient zijn plaatsje op de CD.

Een portie degelijke dark electro / EBM, niets meer of minder? Zou dat een goede conclusie kunnen zijn? Het strakke, aanstekelijke “Dig Your Grave” overstijgt in elk geval de grauwe middelmaat en ook “Control” maakt dat we toch een beetje uitkijken naar de full-CD waar momenteel hard aan wordt gewerkt. Het is in elk geval hoopgevend dat de beste nummers op de CD juist de 2 nieuwe nummers zijn!

We zijn benieuwd …

Play very loud!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
GIN DEVO • Errata
NTRSN • Hardlines

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked