tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/07/2011 : SLEEPWALK - Revenge of the Lost

SLEEPWALK

Revenge of the Lost

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndustrial

[63/100]   

Scanner
03/07/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

SLEEPWALK, an electro-trio from Bern (Switzerland), nowadays consists of the brothers Ruch (Bruno and Roland) and Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk have been around since 1992 and were founded by Bruno Ruch and Oliver Spring. They released 5 albums together, the last one in 2005 (“Rapid Eye Movement”).

The NEW Sleepwalk (out: Oliver, in: Roland and Andreas) recently released "Revenge of the Lost" on the German label Scanner (Dark Dimensions).

“Revenge of the Lost” is, in fact, the physical form of a free web-EP from 2009, also called ‘Revenge of the Lost”. Two bonus tracks and remixes from Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion and Supreme Court are added.

“RotL” is a limited release and as far as I am concerned, the highlights are “Dig Your Grave” and the restrained / melancholic remix of “Control” by Stereomotion. In my opinion it’s even better than the original song. Also the Supreme Court remix of “Dig Your Grave” deserves a place on the CD!

Some descent offerings of dark electro / EBM, nothing more, nothing less? Difficult to say... “Dig Your Grave” certainly scores above average and also “Control” has captured my attention and makes me wonder about the full album that is currently worked on. In each case, I consider it a hopeful sign that the best songs on “Revenge of the Lost” are the two new songs.

To be continued …

PLAY VERY LOUD!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


NL

Het Zwitsers (Bern) electro-trio SLEEPWALK bestaat uit de broertjes Ruch (Bruno en Roland) en Andreas Lehmann. Sleepwalk is al actief sinds 1992, zij het toen nog in een andere samenstelling.

Recent verscheen op Dark Dimensions / Scanner “Revenge of the Lost” van Sleepwalk.

Het gaat hier eigenlijk om de gratis web-EP “Revenge of the Lost” (2009), die nu omwille van de grote vraag in fysieke vorm wordt uitgebracht, aangevuld met 2 extra nummers en remixes van Painbastard, REIZstrom, Stereomotion en Supreme Court.

“Revenge of the Lost” is een gelimiteerd gevalletje en de uitschieters zijn wat mij betreft “Dig Your Grave” en de “weemoedige”, meer ingetogen remix van “Control” (Stereomotion). Ik vind de remix zelfs beter dan het origineel. Ook de “Dig Your Grave”-remix van Supreme Court verdient zijn plaatsje op de CD.

Een portie degelijke dark electro / EBM, niets meer of minder? Zou dat een goede conclusie kunnen zijn? Het strakke, aanstekelijke “Dig Your Grave” overstijgt in elk geval de grauwe middelmaat en ook “Control” maakt dat we toch een beetje uitkijken naar de full-CD waar momenteel hard aan wordt gewerkt. Het is in elk geval hoopgevend dat de beste nummers op de CD juist de 2 nieuwe nummers zijn!

We zijn benieuwd …

Play very loud!

Didier PIETERS
03/07/2011


 

Next reviews
MINIMAL COMPACT • Raging and dancing, the anthology
PATENBRIGADE:WOLFF • Der Schallplattenunterhalter
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!
ETERNAL NIGHTMARE • Days Without Sleeping
5 F-X • Flight recorder 5.0
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
GIN DEVO • Errata

 

Same genre: EBM
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)