tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/02/2013 : SOAP & SKIN - Sugarbread EP

SOAP & SKIN

Sugarbread EP

MusicCD
DarkwaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[91/100]   

PIAS
27/02/2013, Didier BECU

Anja Plaschg aka Soap & Skin will probably always be compared with Nico, but so what? Her debut Lovetune For Vacuum is perhaps one of the most emotive albums you’ll ever find and anyone who has ever seen a show by her will be aware of the fact that Anja is indeed a very special artist. I still don’t know if it’s a set up game or not, but she was the sole artist I saw bursting out of tears on stage. Yeah, I know...so did Catpower, but I never saw her so...

Along with the godlike Anika (another artist which is inspired by Nico) Soap & Skin is the best female musician of today's musicscene. Last year Anja released the mini-album Narrow and now there’s another little gem on the market as this EP only features three tracks. But wait a minute, which three songs it are! I couldn’t keep away my finger from the repeat-button as Sugarbread is highly addictive.

The title song Sugarbread is Soap & Skin at its most experimental. If Wagner would have ever invented dark pop, this would be the sound. The song is like some funeral march. It’s bombastic, creepy and everything that is associated with dark. The second track is a bit lighter, but don’t expect to hear a poppy tune. Me And The Devil is a track written by Robert Johnson, one of the world's greatest bluesartists.

The EP ends with Pray and it’s Soap & Skin as we know her best. A beautiful piano song that haunts you.

Sugarbread EP only lasts 9 minutes and of course you’re left hungry as soon as the last second takes its start, but another milestone from a genius artist nonetheless.

Didier BECU
27/02/2013


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains