tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/02/2013 : SOAP & SKIN - Sugarbread EP

SOAP & SKIN

Sugarbread EP

MusicCD
DarkwaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[91/100]   

PIAS
27/02/2013, Didier BECU

Anja Plaschg aka Soap & Skin will probably always be compared with Nico, but so what? Her debut Lovetune For Vacuum is perhaps one of the most emotive albums you’ll ever find and anyone who has ever seen a show by her will be aware of the fact that Anja is indeed a very special artist. I still don’t know if it’s a set up game or not, but she was the sole artist I saw bursting out of tears on stage. Yeah, I know...so did Catpower, but I never saw her so...

Along with the godlike Anika (another artist which is inspired by Nico) Soap & Skin is the best female musician of today's musicscene. Last year Anja released the mini-album Narrow and now there’s another little gem on the market as this EP only features three tracks. But wait a minute, which three songs it are! I couldn’t keep away my finger from the repeat-button as Sugarbread is highly addictive.

The title song Sugarbread is Soap & Skin at its most experimental. If Wagner would have ever invented dark pop, this would be the sound. The song is like some funeral march. It’s bombastic, creepy and everything that is associated with dark. The second track is a bit lighter, but don’t expect to hear a poppy tune. Me And The Devil is a track written by Robert Johnson, one of the world's greatest bluesartists.

The EP ends with Pray and it’s Soap & Skin as we know her best. A beautiful piano song that haunts you.

Sugarbread EP only lasts 9 minutes and of course you’re left hungry as soon as the last second takes its start, but another milestone from a genius artist nonetheless.

Didier BECU
27/02/2013


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.