tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

04/05/2011 : SOMNAMBULIST - Withered Land

SOMNAMBULIST

Withered Land

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[83/100]   

Walhalla Records
04/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most underrated Belgian artists certainly must be Mark Burghgraeve.

Every music history book that respects itself will quote this man as one of the founders of The Klinik. While Dirk Ivens became the star he deserved to be, Mark decided to hide himself in the underground releasing tapes under the alter ego from Somnambulist or M. Byro.

Art for the sake of it or the fruit of a misinterpreted genius?

Who will tell, but we’re pretty sure though that artists like Mark never would have thought themselves that thirty years later they would be seen as innovators from a genre that is now named “minimal wave”.

Anyway, let’s be happy with the current recognition. One of the labels that are digging for those pearls from the past is the Antwerp based Walhalla Records and it’s even through the efforts from label founder Lieven that Mark Burghgraeve suddenly got a new breath of artistic life, and so getting little by little the respect he deserves to have.

This record has originally been released on Central Tapes and is a live recording made at the Paradox in Antwerp, at 31stOctober 1983.

“Withered land” features 8 tracks and they all have that typical Somnambulist-sound that can best be defined as a schizophrenic one: his songs consists of experimental weird synths that are similar to those from Der Plan and melancholic coldwave synths that were dominating the 80’s at the same time.

Add an intriguing voice to that and you have indeed a beautiful musical project.

An ice-cold beauty, with a “thank you” to those nuclear missiles of the eighties.

Didier BECU
04/05/2011


NL

Een van de meest ondergewaardeerde artiesten uit België moet ongetwijfeld Mark Burghgraeve zijn.

Ieder zichzelf respecterend muziekgeschiedenisboek zou deze man moeten aanduiden als één van de oorspronkelijke bezielers van The Klinik.

Terwijl Dirk Ivens later (meer dan verdiend) een ster werd, verschool Mark zich in de underground en kwam hij o.a. in het tapecircuit terecht waar hij releases uitbracht onder de naam van Somnambulist of M. Byro.

Kunst voor de lol of het werk van onbegrepen genieën? Wie zal het zeggen, maar we zijn vrijwel zeker dat dit soort artiesten destijds nooit zou hebben verwacht dat ze dertig jaar later plots in de kijker zouden staan en dat de destijds genegeerde muziek nu aangeprezen wordt als zijnde “minimal wave”.

Laten we blij zijn dat de erkenning er nu toch komt. Eén van de labels die op zoek gaat naar de pareltjes uit het verleden is het Antwerpse Walhalla Records, dat er zelfs voor zorgt dat door deze heruitgave de carrière van Mark Burghraeve plots een tweede levensadem krijgt, waardoor deze man misschien toch nog een beetje de erkenning krijgt waarop hij onmiskenbaar recht heeft.

Deze heruitgave was oorspronkelijk uitgebracht op Central Tapes en is een live-opname die dateert van 31 oktober 1983, opgenomen in de Antwerpse Paradox.

Deze plaat telt 8 nummers en bevat het typische Somnambulist-geluid dat het best kan omschreven worden als schizofreen: enerzijds heb je de experimentele synths die aanleunen bij Der Plan, terwijl je anderzijds die zware, melancholische coldwavesynths hebt die de jaren ’80 zo mooi maakten. Voeg daarbij nog eens een intrigerende stem en je bekomt een uniek muzikaal project.

Ijskoud mooi, met dank aan de dreigende kernraketten van weleer.

Didier BECU
04/05/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)