tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONIC AREA - Eyes In The Sky

SONIC AREA

Eyes In The Sky

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[92/100]   

Ant-Zen
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sonic Area's (Arnaud Coëffic) latest album Eyes in the Sky is like listening to every reason for buying into analog modular synth gear. It’s almost like an audio history lesson in 11 parts. If you don’t want to read the full review just know this: it’s a very, very good album.

Neon Tunnel Drive sets off the album with heavy bass, arpeggio and a full bodied organic sound which slowly evolves towards a climax. It’s the perfect album opener and the science fiction inspiration is apparent. Glitchy slow beats are the base for the Loneliness of the Physicist, that vaguely reminds me of Scorn. The album continues with a vibe that sometimes evokes the feeling of a silent sci-fi movie’s soundtrack - especially apparent on Dancing With Clouds.

The concept of simple melodies in complex and evolving structures with an occasional beat constantly, tells me that this is electronic music made out of love for the endless possibilities of working with synths.

The Dark Secret Night has traits of 60s/70s experimental electronics sounding a bit like generative music. A lot of modular synth based compositions often seem to move into this territory due to the nature of patching modules into each other with constantly self-generating modulations.

Pale Blue Dot is a beautiful track with its repetitive arpeggio that goes out of tune for milliseconds and normalize at the end when it becomes increasingly unstable. Maybe that’s the perfect metaphor for the earth right now?

It’s About Time could be the album’s weak link. It’s surprisingly messy, but like the other tracks it slowly goes to a climax and finally finds it’s true form.

Chasing Horisons truly is a chasing track. A fast arpeggio bass line and a tribal beat added to a slow melody. This would be a killer track for live venues and the ending part is pure electronic bliss.

The Soul of a Robot kicks off with a sound that makes me think of Muslimgauze. The sample used would be perfect for a Bryn Jones composition, but then the track gets much more complex with a full bodied sound that was never used on a Muslimgauze albums. Yet, the feeling is perfect, and when Coëffic even manages to add Jarre-like progressions to the track , you know it's good.

Spooky Action at Distance continues the Jarre inspiration, complemented with a touch of cold wave with a reverberated snare drum sound. A very beautiful track.

Album closer Spacewalk Incident sounds exactly like the title implies: a huge, sometimes reversed sound that throws the listener into black space. Alone. The silent afterwards is almost deafening.

Favorite tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Als je naar het nieuwste album Eyes in the Sky van Sonic Area ( Arnaud Coëffic ) luistert, heb je alle redenen om analoge modulaire synthesizers te kopen. Het is bijna als een audiogeschiedenisles in 11 delen. Als je de volledige recensie niet wil lezen, weet dan gewoon dit een zeer, maar dan ook zeer goed album is.

Het begint met Neon Tunnel Drive: een zware bas, arpeggio en een volle organische sound die langzaam evolueert naar een climax. Het is de perfecte opener voor een album en de inspiratie uit sciencefiction is duidelijk. De dreigende, storende beats vormen de basis voor Loneliness of the Physicist, dat me vaag herinnert aan Scorn. Het album gaat dooir met een vibe die soms het gevoel opwekt dat het om een soundtrack van een stille sciencefictionfilm gaat, dat voel je vooral in Dancing With Clouds.

Aan het concept van eenvoudige melodieën in complexe en evoluerende structuren met af en toe een beat, hoor je duidelijk dat deze elektronische muziek is gemaakt is uit liefde voor de eindeloze mogelijkheden van de synths.

The Dark Secret Night heeft invloeden van de experimentele elektronica uit de jaren 60 en 70 en klinkt een beetje als generatieve muziek. Vele composities zijn gebaseerd op modulaire synths waarmee allerlei vervormingen worden gecreëerd.

Pale Blue Dot is een mooie track met een repetitief arpeggio dat voor een paar milliseconden wat uit de toon valt, en dan weer wordt opbouwt. Misschien de perfecte metafoor voor onze aarde op dit moment?

It’s About Time is waarschijnlijk de zwakke schakel op dit album. Het is verrassend rommelig, maar net als de andere tracks evolueert ook deze song langzaam naar een climax waardoor hij uiteindelijk toch nog zijn ware gedaante laat zien.

Chasing Horisons achtervolgt je. Een snelle arpeggiobaslijn en een tribale beat worden aan de trage melodie toegevoegd, waardoor het allemaal wat hectisch klinkt. Dit zou een fantastische track kunnen zijn voor een liveconcert. Het einde is gewoon pure elektronische waanzin.

The Soul of a Robot start met een geluid dat me aan Muslimgauze laat denken. De sample zou perfect zijn voor een Bryn Jones-compositie, maar vrij snel wordt het geluid complexer met een volle klank die je op een Muslimgauze-album nooit zou vinden. Het gevoel is er wel, en als Coëffic er zelfs erin slaagt om met Jarre-achtige elementen voor de dag te komen, dan weet je gewoon dat het goed is.

Spooky Action at Distance is ook geïnspireerd door Jarre, maar er wordt een vleugje cold wave met een galmende snaredrum aan toegevoegd. Een prachtsong.

Afsluiter Spacewalk Incident klinkt precies zoals de titel aangeeft: de luisteraar wordt in de zwarte ruimte gegooid. Helemaal alleen. De stille achteraf is bijna oorverdovend.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Other reviews from SONIC AREA
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane