tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONIC AREA - Eyes In The Sky

SONIC AREA

Eyes In The Sky

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[92/100]   

Ant-Zen
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sonic Area's (Arnaud Coëffic) latest album Eyes in the Sky is like listening to every reason for buying into analog modular synth gear. It’s almost like an audio history lesson in 11 parts. If you don’t want to read the full review just know this: it’s a very, very good album.

Neon Tunnel Drive sets off the album with heavy bass, arpeggio and a full bodied organic sound which slowly evolves towards a climax. It’s the perfect album opener and the science fiction inspiration is apparent. Glitchy slow beats are the base for the Loneliness of the Physicist, that vaguely reminds me of Scorn. The album continues with a vibe that sometimes evokes the feeling of a silent sci-fi movie’s soundtrack - especially apparent on Dancing With Clouds.

The concept of simple melodies in complex and evolving structures with an occasional beat constantly, tells me that this is electronic music made out of love for the endless possibilities of working with synths.

The Dark Secret Night has traits of 60s/70s experimental electronics sounding a bit like generative music. A lot of modular synth based compositions often seem to move into this territory due to the nature of patching modules into each other with constantly self-generating modulations.

Pale Blue Dot is a beautiful track with its repetitive arpeggio that goes out of tune for milliseconds and normalize at the end when it becomes increasingly unstable. Maybe that’s the perfect metaphor for the earth right now?

It’s About Time could be the album’s weak link. It’s surprisingly messy, but like the other tracks it slowly goes to a climax and finally finds it’s true form.

Chasing Horisons truly is a chasing track. A fast arpeggio bass line and a tribal beat added to a slow melody. This would be a killer track for live venues and the ending part is pure electronic bliss.

The Soul of a Robot kicks off with a sound that makes me think of Muslimgauze. The sample used would be perfect for a Bryn Jones composition, but then the track gets much more complex with a full bodied sound that was never used on a Muslimgauze albums. Yet, the feeling is perfect, and when Coëffic even manages to add Jarre-like progressions to the track , you know it's good.

Spooky Action at Distance continues the Jarre inspiration, complemented with a touch of cold wave with a reverberated snare drum sound. A very beautiful track.

Album closer Spacewalk Incident sounds exactly like the title implies: a huge, sometimes reversed sound that throws the listener into black space. Alone. The silent afterwards is almost deafening.

Favorite tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Als je naar het nieuwste album Eyes in the Sky van Sonic Area ( Arnaud Coëffic ) luistert, heb je alle redenen om analoge modulaire synthesizers te kopen. Het is bijna als een audiogeschiedenisles in 11 delen. Als je de volledige recensie niet wil lezen, weet dan gewoon dit een zeer, maar dan ook zeer goed album is.

Het begint met Neon Tunnel Drive: een zware bas, arpeggio en een volle organische sound die langzaam evolueert naar een climax. Het is de perfecte opener voor een album en de inspiratie uit sciencefiction is duidelijk. De dreigende, storende beats vormen de basis voor Loneliness of the Physicist, dat me vaag herinnert aan Scorn. Het album gaat dooir met een vibe die soms het gevoel opwekt dat het om een soundtrack van een stille sciencefictionfilm gaat, dat voel je vooral in Dancing With Clouds.

Aan het concept van eenvoudige melodieën in complexe en evoluerende structuren met af en toe een beat, hoor je duidelijk dat deze elektronische muziek is gemaakt is uit liefde voor de eindeloze mogelijkheden van de synths.

The Dark Secret Night heeft invloeden van de experimentele elektronica uit de jaren 60 en 70 en klinkt een beetje als generatieve muziek. Vele composities zijn gebaseerd op modulaire synths waarmee allerlei vervormingen worden gecreëerd.

Pale Blue Dot is een mooie track met een repetitief arpeggio dat voor een paar milliseconden wat uit de toon valt, en dan weer wordt opbouwt. Misschien de perfecte metafoor voor onze aarde op dit moment?

It’s About Time is waarschijnlijk de zwakke schakel op dit album. Het is verrassend rommelig, maar net als de andere tracks evolueert ook deze song langzaam naar een climax waardoor hij uiteindelijk toch nog zijn ware gedaante laat zien.

Chasing Horisons achtervolgt je. Een snelle arpeggiobaslijn en een tribale beat worden aan de trage melodie toegevoegd, waardoor het allemaal wat hectisch klinkt. Dit zou een fantastische track kunnen zijn voor een liveconcert. Het einde is gewoon pure elektronische waanzin.

The Soul of a Robot start met een geluid dat me aan Muslimgauze laat denken. De sample zou perfect zijn voor een Bryn Jones-compositie, maar vrij snel wordt het geluid complexer met een volle klank die je op een Muslimgauze-album nooit zou vinden. Het gevoel is er wel, en als Coëffic er zelfs erin slaagt om met Jarre-achtige elementen voor de dag te komen, dan weet je gewoon dat het goed is.

Spooky Action at Distance is ook geïnspireerd door Jarre, maar er wordt een vleugje cold wave met een galmende snaredrum aan toegevoegd. Een prachtsong.

Afsluiter Spacewalk Incident klinkt precies zoals de titel aangeeft: de luisteraar wordt in de zwarte ruimte gegooid. Helemaal alleen. De stille achteraf is bijna oorverdovend.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Other reviews from SONIC AREA
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins