tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONIC AREA - Eyes In The Sky

SONIC AREA

Eyes In The Sky

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[92/100]   

Ant-Zen
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sonic Area's (Arnaud Coëffic) latest album Eyes in the Sky is like listening to every reason for buying into analog modular synth gear. It’s almost like an audio history lesson in 11 parts. If you don’t want to read the full review just know this: it’s a very, very good album.

Neon Tunnel Drive sets off the album with heavy bass, arpeggio and a full bodied organic sound which slowly evolves towards a climax. It’s the perfect album opener and the science fiction inspiration is apparent. Glitchy slow beats are the base for the Loneliness of the Physicist, that vaguely reminds me of Scorn. The album continues with a vibe that sometimes evokes the feeling of a silent sci-fi movie’s soundtrack - especially apparent on Dancing With Clouds.

The concept of simple melodies in complex and evolving structures with an occasional beat constantly, tells me that this is electronic music made out of love for the endless possibilities of working with synths.

The Dark Secret Night has traits of 60s/70s experimental electronics sounding a bit like generative music. A lot of modular synth based compositions often seem to move into this territory due to the nature of patching modules into each other with constantly self-generating modulations.

Pale Blue Dot is a beautiful track with its repetitive arpeggio that goes out of tune for milliseconds and normalize at the end when it becomes increasingly unstable. Maybe that’s the perfect metaphor for the earth right now?

It’s About Time could be the album’s weak link. It’s surprisingly messy, but like the other tracks it slowly goes to a climax and finally finds it’s true form.

Chasing Horisons truly is a chasing track. A fast arpeggio bass line and a tribal beat added to a slow melody. This would be a killer track for live venues and the ending part is pure electronic bliss.

The Soul of a Robot kicks off with a sound that makes me think of Muslimgauze. The sample used would be perfect for a Bryn Jones composition, but then the track gets much more complex with a full bodied sound that was never used on a Muslimgauze albums. Yet, the feeling is perfect, and when Coëffic even manages to add Jarre-like progressions to the track , you know it's good.

Spooky Action at Distance continues the Jarre inspiration, complemented with a touch of cold wave with a reverberated snare drum sound. A very beautiful track.

Album closer Spacewalk Incident sounds exactly like the title implies: a huge, sometimes reversed sound that throws the listener into black space. Alone. The silent afterwards is almost deafening.

Favorite tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Als je naar het nieuwste album Eyes in the Sky van Sonic Area ( Arnaud Coëffic ) luistert, heb je alle redenen om analoge modulaire synthesizers te kopen. Het is bijna als een audiogeschiedenisles in 11 delen. Als je de volledige recensie niet wil lezen, weet dan gewoon dit een zeer, maar dan ook zeer goed album is.

Het begint met Neon Tunnel Drive: een zware bas, arpeggio en een volle organische sound die langzaam evolueert naar een climax. Het is de perfecte opener voor een album en de inspiratie uit sciencefiction is duidelijk. De dreigende, storende beats vormen de basis voor Loneliness of the Physicist, dat me vaag herinnert aan Scorn. Het album gaat dooir met een vibe die soms het gevoel opwekt dat het om een soundtrack van een stille sciencefictionfilm gaat, dat voel je vooral in Dancing With Clouds.

Aan het concept van eenvoudige melodieën in complexe en evoluerende structuren met af en toe een beat, hoor je duidelijk dat deze elektronische muziek is gemaakt is uit liefde voor de eindeloze mogelijkheden van de synths.

The Dark Secret Night heeft invloeden van de experimentele elektronica uit de jaren 60 en 70 en klinkt een beetje als generatieve muziek. Vele composities zijn gebaseerd op modulaire synths waarmee allerlei vervormingen worden gecreëerd.

Pale Blue Dot is een mooie track met een repetitief arpeggio dat voor een paar milliseconden wat uit de toon valt, en dan weer wordt opbouwt. Misschien de perfecte metafoor voor onze aarde op dit moment?

It’s About Time is waarschijnlijk de zwakke schakel op dit album. Het is verrassend rommelig, maar net als de andere tracks evolueert ook deze song langzaam naar een climax waardoor hij uiteindelijk toch nog zijn ware gedaante laat zien.

Chasing Horisons achtervolgt je. Een snelle arpeggiobaslijn en een tribale beat worden aan de trage melodie toegevoegd, waardoor het allemaal wat hectisch klinkt. Dit zou een fantastische track kunnen zijn voor een liveconcert. Het einde is gewoon pure elektronische waanzin.

The Soul of a Robot start met een geluid dat me aan Muslimgauze laat denken. De sample zou perfect zijn voor een Bryn Jones-compositie, maar vrij snel wordt het geluid complexer met een volle klank die je op een Muslimgauze-album nooit zou vinden. Het gevoel is er wel, en als Coëffic er zelfs erin slaagt om met Jarre-achtige elementen voor de dag te komen, dan weet je gewoon dat het goed is.

Spooky Action at Distance is ook geïnspireerd door Jarre, maar er wordt een vleugje cold wave met een galmende snaredrum aan toegevoegd. Een prachtsong.

Afsluiter Spacewalk Incident klinkt precies zoals de titel aangeeft: de luisteraar wordt in de zwarte ruimte gegooid. Helemaal alleen. De stille achteraf is bijna oorverdovend.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Other reviews from SONIC AREA
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia