tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONIC AREA - Eyes In The Sky

SONIC AREA

Eyes In The Sky

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[92/100]   

Ant-Zen
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Sonic Area's (Arnaud Coëffic) latest album Eyes in the Sky is like listening to every reason for buying into analog modular synth gear. It’s almost like an audio history lesson in 11 parts. If you don’t want to read the full review just know this: it’s a very, very good album.

Neon Tunnel Drive sets off the album with heavy bass, arpeggio and a full bodied organic sound which slowly evolves towards a climax. It’s the perfect album opener and the science fiction inspiration is apparent. Glitchy slow beats are the base for the Loneliness of the Physicist, that vaguely reminds me of Scorn. The album continues with a vibe that sometimes evokes the feeling of a silent sci-fi movie’s soundtrack - especially apparent on Dancing With Clouds.

The concept of simple melodies in complex and evolving structures with an occasional beat constantly, tells me that this is electronic music made out of love for the endless possibilities of working with synths.

The Dark Secret Night has traits of 60s/70s experimental electronics sounding a bit like generative music. A lot of modular synth based compositions often seem to move into this territory due to the nature of patching modules into each other with constantly self-generating modulations.

Pale Blue Dot is a beautiful track with its repetitive arpeggio that goes out of tune for milliseconds and normalize at the end when it becomes increasingly unstable. Maybe that’s the perfect metaphor for the earth right now?

It’s About Time could be the album’s weak link. It’s surprisingly messy, but like the other tracks it slowly goes to a climax and finally finds it’s true form.

Chasing Horisons truly is a chasing track. A fast arpeggio bass line and a tribal beat added to a slow melody. This would be a killer track for live venues and the ending part is pure electronic bliss.

The Soul of a Robot kicks off with a sound that makes me think of Muslimgauze. The sample used would be perfect for a Bryn Jones composition, but then the track gets much more complex with a full bodied sound that was never used on a Muslimgauze albums. Yet, the feeling is perfect, and when Coëffic even manages to add Jarre-like progressions to the track , you know it's good.

Spooky Action at Distance continues the Jarre inspiration, complemented with a touch of cold wave with a reverberated snare drum sound. A very beautiful track.

Album closer Spacewalk Incident sounds exactly like the title implies: a huge, sometimes reversed sound that throws the listener into black space. Alone. The silent afterwards is almost deafening.

Favorite tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

Als je naar het nieuwste album Eyes in the Sky van Sonic Area ( Arnaud Coëffic ) luistert, heb je alle redenen om analoge modulaire synthesizers te kopen. Het is bijna als een audiogeschiedenisles in 11 delen. Als je de volledige recensie niet wil lezen, weet dan gewoon dit een zeer, maar dan ook zeer goed album is.

Het begint met Neon Tunnel Drive: een zware bas, arpeggio en een volle organische sound die langzaam evolueert naar een climax. Het is de perfecte opener voor een album en de inspiratie uit sciencefiction is duidelijk. De dreigende, storende beats vormen de basis voor Loneliness of the Physicist, dat me vaag herinnert aan Scorn. Het album gaat dooir met een vibe die soms het gevoel opwekt dat het om een soundtrack van een stille sciencefictionfilm gaat, dat voel je vooral in Dancing With Clouds.

Aan het concept van eenvoudige melodieën in complexe en evoluerende structuren met af en toe een beat, hoor je duidelijk dat deze elektronische muziek is gemaakt is uit liefde voor de eindeloze mogelijkheden van de synths.

The Dark Secret Night heeft invloeden van de experimentele elektronica uit de jaren 60 en 70 en klinkt een beetje als generatieve muziek. Vele composities zijn gebaseerd op modulaire synths waarmee allerlei vervormingen worden gecreëerd.

Pale Blue Dot is een mooie track met een repetitief arpeggio dat voor een paar milliseconden wat uit de toon valt, en dan weer wordt opbouwt. Misschien de perfecte metafoor voor onze aarde op dit moment?

It’s About Time is waarschijnlijk de zwakke schakel op dit album. Het is verrassend rommelig, maar net als de andere tracks evolueert ook deze song langzaam naar een climax waardoor hij uiteindelijk toch nog zijn ware gedaante laat zien.

Chasing Horisons achtervolgt je. Een snelle arpeggiobaslijn en een tribale beat worden aan de trage melodie toegevoegd, waardoor het allemaal wat hectisch klinkt. Dit zou een fantastische track kunnen zijn voor een liveconcert. Het einde is gewoon pure elektronische waanzin.

The Soul of a Robot start met een geluid dat me aan Muslimgauze laat denken. De sample zou perfect zijn voor een Bryn Jones-compositie, maar vrij snel wordt het geluid complexer met een volle klank die je op een Muslimgauze-album nooit zou vinden. Het gevoel is er wel, en als Coëffic er zelfs erin slaagt om met Jarre-achtige elementen voor de dag te komen, dan weet je gewoon dat het goed is.

Spooky Action at Distance is ook geïnspireerd door Jarre, maar er wordt een vleugje cold wave met een galmende snaredrum aan toegevoegd. Een prachtsong.

Afsluiter Spacewalk Incident klinkt precies zoals de titel aangeeft: de luisteraar wordt in de zwarte ruimte gegooid. Helemaal alleen. De stille achteraf is bijna oorverdovend.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Neon Tunnel Drive, Pale Blue Dot, Chasing Horisons, The Soul of a Robot, Spooky Action at Distance.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Other reviews from SONIC AREA
SONIC AREA • Music For Ghosts

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire