tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/09/2015 : SONIC YOUTH - Goo

SONIC YOUTH

Goo

MusicAlbum Classics
IndieNoise

[98/100]   

Geffen Records
20/09/2015, Didier BECU

Of course every Sonic Youth is a classic, and I’m aware of the fact that Goo is their most accessible and poppy record ever, but 25 years later the album still kills me. And yes, you can punish me with thousand lashes, but at the end of the day I think I’ll still say that Goo is their best.

In 1988 Sonic Youth proved with Daydream Nation that you can sell lots of records with making noise, and so almost every major company wanted to sign them. When the New Yorkers finally made a deal with Geffen, many fans were disappointed and considered their new step as a sell out. It was indeed strange to see that MTV started playing Sonic Youth clips during prime time, but no one can deny that it was fantastic!

In a way Goo doesn’t have a typical Sonic Youth style, and certainly not No Wave. It was more an experiment to see how you can blend noise, pop and psychedelica into one concept. And in a way rap too, as after all Kool Thing featured the vocals by Chuck D of Public Enemy. Well, actually it was one line, but this was a Sonic Youth sound like you never heard before! There were more guest musicians included, like J Mascis and Don Fleming (Gumball, if you remember!)

Goo certainly wasn’t a happy record. There are some raw noise tracks like Cinderella’s Big Score or Mary-Christ, but there was also the quite dark Tunic (Song For Karen) which was indeed a song for Karen Carpenter who died of anorexia. There was experiment too (Scooter + Jinx), but also a perfect guitar song like Dirty Boots.

Many Sonic Youth fans will think it’s a shame to state that Goo is the best thing Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley and the mighty Kim Gordon did, but if pop and noise were ever a synonym, than Goo is the answer!

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination