tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SONS OF A WANTED MAN - Black Days, Black Dust

SONS OF A WANTED MAN

Black Days, Black Dust

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since the success of Consouling Sounds, the Belgian post metal scene is rising. Although it remains underground music, nowadays the bands are heard more and more.

Sons Of A Wanted Man would fit well on this label. They’re from Beringen, Belgium, an area we will associate with mine shafts until the end of our days, though that may change once you heard these guys. The band has been together for two years, and they want to break all the rules. The one of good taste has not been broken so far, as the first EP is a direct hit from the first to the last note.

Behind the beautiful artwork (so designed that you can choose your own cover) you find four songs that split both the sound barrier and your soul. Music that sounds ominous, but with an enormous emotional impact, and it works confrontational.

The noise, aggression and depression consist of several layers with different styles. The best example is Thou Art Spiritless in which you clearly hear the influence of 65 Days Of Static and Explosions In The Sky, and all this while singer Jan Buekers squeezes everything out of his lungs.

Dodenleer (don’t be afraid of the use of Dutch as you won’t understand one word of the song) and ending song Black Days Black Dust are rather traditional post metal tracks with the guitars of Pieter Jans and the bass of Josse Theunkens that knock you down. Meander, in which again all sorts of styles are used, the drums of Kevin Steegmans determine the despair that characterizes the song.

No cheerful tunes,, but music that haunts in your head.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds het succesverhaal van Consouling Sounds van start ging, zit de Belgische postmetalscène weer volop in de lift. Het blijft weliswaar undergroundmuziek, toch trekken de bands tegenwoordig meer en meer de aandacht.

Een band die uitstekend op dit label zou passen is Sons Of A Wanted Man uit Beringen, een streek die we wellicht tot het einde van onze dagen met mijnschachten zullen associëren, ook al kan dat veranderen eens je Sons Of A Wanted Man hebt gehoord. De band, die al twee jaar bijeen is, wil naar eigen zeggen alle regels breken. Die van de goede smaak hebben ze in ieder geval nog niet gebroken, want hun eerste ep is een voltreffer van de eerste tot de laatste noot.

Achter het prachtige artwork (het hoesje is zo gemaakt dat je je eigen cover kan kiezen) zitten vier loeiharde songs die zowel de geluidsmuur als je ziel willen doorboren. Muziek die dreigend klinkt, maar geen enkele emotie uit de weg gaat en die zeer confronterend is.

Het lawaai, de agressie en de neerslachtigheid bestaan uit verschillende lagen met verschillende stijlen. Het mooiste voorbeeld is Thou Art Spiritless, waarin je duidelijk de invloed van 65 Days Of Static of Explosions In The Sky hoort, en dat terwijl zanger Jan Buekers alles uit zijn longen perst.

Dodenleer (troost je, je verstaat geen woord van de tekst) en afsluiter Black Days Black Dust zijn eerder traditionele postmetal met de gitaren van Pieter Jans en de bas van Josse Theunkens die je ziel doormidden splijten. In Meander, waarin opnieuw allerlei stijlen door elkaar worden gegooid, bepalen de drums van Kevin Steegmans de wanhoop die de song kenmerkt.

Neen, vrolijke muziekjes maken deze Beringenaren niet echt, wel muziek die in je hoofd blijft rondspoken.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)