tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SONS OF A WANTED MAN - Black Days, Black Dust

SONS OF A WANTED MAN

Black Days, Black Dust

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since the success of Consouling Sounds, the Belgian post metal scene is rising. Although it remains underground music, nowadays the bands are heard more and more.

Sons Of A Wanted Man would fit well on this label. They’re from Beringen, Belgium, an area we will associate with mine shafts until the end of our days, though that may change once you heard these guys. The band has been together for two years, and they want to break all the rules. The one of good taste has not been broken so far, as the first EP is a direct hit from the first to the last note.

Behind the beautiful artwork (so designed that you can choose your own cover) you find four songs that split both the sound barrier and your soul. Music that sounds ominous, but with an enormous emotional impact, and it works confrontational.

The noise, aggression and depression consist of several layers with different styles. The best example is Thou Art Spiritless in which you clearly hear the influence of 65 Days Of Static and Explosions In The Sky, and all this while singer Jan Buekers squeezes everything out of his lungs.

Dodenleer (don’t be afraid of the use of Dutch as you won’t understand one word of the song) and ending song Black Days Black Dust are rather traditional post metal tracks with the guitars of Pieter Jans and the bass of Josse Theunkens that knock you down. Meander, in which again all sorts of styles are used, the drums of Kevin Steegmans determine the despair that characterizes the song.

No cheerful tunes,, but music that haunts in your head.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds het succesverhaal van Consouling Sounds van start ging, zit de Belgische postmetalscène weer volop in de lift. Het blijft weliswaar undergroundmuziek, toch trekken de bands tegenwoordig meer en meer de aandacht.

Een band die uitstekend op dit label zou passen is Sons Of A Wanted Man uit Beringen, een streek die we wellicht tot het einde van onze dagen met mijnschachten zullen associëren, ook al kan dat veranderen eens je Sons Of A Wanted Man hebt gehoord. De band, die al twee jaar bijeen is, wil naar eigen zeggen alle regels breken. Die van de goede smaak hebben ze in ieder geval nog niet gebroken, want hun eerste ep is een voltreffer van de eerste tot de laatste noot.

Achter het prachtige artwork (het hoesje is zo gemaakt dat je je eigen cover kan kiezen) zitten vier loeiharde songs die zowel de geluidsmuur als je ziel willen doorboren. Muziek die dreigend klinkt, maar geen enkele emotie uit de weg gaat en die zeer confronterend is.

Het lawaai, de agressie en de neerslachtigheid bestaan uit verschillende lagen met verschillende stijlen. Het mooiste voorbeeld is Thou Art Spiritless, waarin je duidelijk de invloed van 65 Days Of Static of Explosions In The Sky hoort, en dat terwijl zanger Jan Buekers alles uit zijn longen perst.

Dodenleer (troost je, je verstaat geen woord van de tekst) en afsluiter Black Days Black Dust zijn eerder traditionele postmetal met de gitaren van Pieter Jans en de bas van Josse Theunkens die je ziel doormidden splijten. In Meander, waarin opnieuw allerlei stijlen door elkaar worden gegooid, bepalen de drums van Kevin Steegmans de wanhoop die de song kenmerkt.

Neen, vrolijke muziekjes maken deze Beringenaren niet echt, wel muziek die in je hoofd blijft rondspoken.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation