tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SONS OF A WANTED MAN - Black Days, Black Dust

SONS OF A WANTED MAN

Black Days, Black Dust

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since the success of Consouling Sounds, the Belgian post metal scene is rising. Although it remains underground music, nowadays the bands are heard more and more.

Sons Of A Wanted Man would fit well on this label. They’re from Beringen, Belgium, an area we will associate with mine shafts until the end of our days, though that may change once you heard these guys. The band has been together for two years, and they want to break all the rules. The one of good taste has not been broken so far, as the first EP is a direct hit from the first to the last note.

Behind the beautiful artwork (so designed that you can choose your own cover) you find four songs that split both the sound barrier and your soul. Music that sounds ominous, but with an enormous emotional impact, and it works confrontational.

The noise, aggression and depression consist of several layers with different styles. The best example is Thou Art Spiritless in which you clearly hear the influence of 65 Days Of Static and Explosions In The Sky, and all this while singer Jan Buekers squeezes everything out of his lungs.

Dodenleer (don’t be afraid of the use of Dutch as you won’t understand one word of the song) and ending song Black Days Black Dust are rather traditional post metal tracks with the guitars of Pieter Jans and the bass of Josse Theunkens that knock you down. Meander, in which again all sorts of styles are used, the drums of Kevin Steegmans determine the despair that characterizes the song.

No cheerful tunes,, but music that haunts in your head.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds het succesverhaal van Consouling Sounds van start ging, zit de Belgische postmetalscène weer volop in de lift. Het blijft weliswaar undergroundmuziek, toch trekken de bands tegenwoordig meer en meer de aandacht.

Een band die uitstekend op dit label zou passen is Sons Of A Wanted Man uit Beringen, een streek die we wellicht tot het einde van onze dagen met mijnschachten zullen associëren, ook al kan dat veranderen eens je Sons Of A Wanted Man hebt gehoord. De band, die al twee jaar bijeen is, wil naar eigen zeggen alle regels breken. Die van de goede smaak hebben ze in ieder geval nog niet gebroken, want hun eerste ep is een voltreffer van de eerste tot de laatste noot.

Achter het prachtige artwork (het hoesje is zo gemaakt dat je je eigen cover kan kiezen) zitten vier loeiharde songs die zowel de geluidsmuur als je ziel willen doorboren. Muziek die dreigend klinkt, maar geen enkele emotie uit de weg gaat en die zeer confronterend is.

Het lawaai, de agressie en de neerslachtigheid bestaan uit verschillende lagen met verschillende stijlen. Het mooiste voorbeeld is Thou Art Spiritless, waarin je duidelijk de invloed van 65 Days Of Static of Explosions In The Sky hoort, en dat terwijl zanger Jan Buekers alles uit zijn longen perst.

Dodenleer (troost je, je verstaat geen woord van de tekst) en afsluiter Black Days Black Dust zijn eerder traditionele postmetal met de gitaren van Pieter Jans en de bas van Josse Theunkens die je ziel doormidden splijten. In Meander, waarin opnieuw allerlei stijlen door elkaar worden gegooid, bepalen de drums van Kevin Steegmans de wanhoop die de song kenmerkt.

Neen, vrolijke muziekjes maken deze Beringenaren niet echt, wel muziek die in je hoofd blijft rondspoken.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)