tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : SONS OF A WANTED MAN - Black Days, Black Dust

SONS OF A WANTED MAN

Black Days, Black Dust

MusicCD (EP)
Post-Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since the success of Consouling Sounds, the Belgian post metal scene is rising. Although it remains underground music, nowadays the bands are heard more and more.

Sons Of A Wanted Man would fit well on this label. They’re from Beringen, Belgium, an area we will associate with mine shafts until the end of our days, though that may change once you heard these guys. The band has been together for two years, and they want to break all the rules. The one of good taste has not been broken so far, as the first EP is a direct hit from the first to the last note.

Behind the beautiful artwork (so designed that you can choose your own cover) you find four songs that split both the sound barrier and your soul. Music that sounds ominous, but with an enormous emotional impact, and it works confrontational.

The noise, aggression and depression consist of several layers with different styles. The best example is Thou Art Spiritless in which you clearly hear the influence of 65 Days Of Static and Explosions In The Sky, and all this while singer Jan Buekers squeezes everything out of his lungs.

Dodenleer (don’t be afraid of the use of Dutch as you won’t understand one word of the song) and ending song Black Days Black Dust are rather traditional post metal tracks with the guitars of Pieter Jans and the bass of Josse Theunkens that knock you down. Meander, in which again all sorts of styles are used, the drums of Kevin Steegmans determine the despair that characterizes the song.

No cheerful tunes,, but music that haunts in your head.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds het succesverhaal van Consouling Sounds van start ging, zit de Belgische postmetalscène weer volop in de lift. Het blijft weliswaar undergroundmuziek, toch trekken de bands tegenwoordig meer en meer de aandacht.

Een band die uitstekend op dit label zou passen is Sons Of A Wanted Man uit Beringen, een streek die we wellicht tot het einde van onze dagen met mijnschachten zullen associëren, ook al kan dat veranderen eens je Sons Of A Wanted Man hebt gehoord. De band, die al twee jaar bijeen is, wil naar eigen zeggen alle regels breken. Die van de goede smaak hebben ze in ieder geval nog niet gebroken, want hun eerste ep is een voltreffer van de eerste tot de laatste noot.

Achter het prachtige artwork (het hoesje is zo gemaakt dat je je eigen cover kan kiezen) zitten vier loeiharde songs die zowel de geluidsmuur als je ziel willen doorboren. Muziek die dreigend klinkt, maar geen enkele emotie uit de weg gaat en die zeer confronterend is.

Het lawaai, de agressie en de neerslachtigheid bestaan uit verschillende lagen met verschillende stijlen. Het mooiste voorbeeld is Thou Art Spiritless, waarin je duidelijk de invloed van 65 Days Of Static of Explosions In The Sky hoort, en dat terwijl zanger Jan Buekers alles uit zijn longen perst.

Dodenleer (troost je, je verstaat geen woord van de tekst) en afsluiter Black Days Black Dust zijn eerder traditionele postmetal met de gitaren van Pieter Jans en de bas van Josse Theunkens die je ziel doormidden splijten. In Meander, waarin opnieuw allerlei stijlen door elkaar worden gegooid, bepalen de drums van Kevin Steegmans de wanhoop die de song kenmerkt.

Neen, vrolijke muziekjes maken deze Beringenaren niet echt, wel muziek die in je hoofd blijft rondspoken.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap