tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona

SONUS CORONA

Sonus Corona

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sonus Corona started in 2011 as a side project of Ari (songwriter) and drummer Rasmus. Sonus Corona combines soft melodies with heavy riffs. All this in a progressive style with some nice moments as a result.

Deliverance, which starts after the short instrumental opening song, is a track with a lot of rhythm changes. The singer uses a clean rock voice. Struggle has the same pattern. The Window is a a well-built song with beautiful transitions and fine drumming. The use a flute instead of a guitar solo is surprising, but it works. Rise Above is a song with a chorus that is easy to sing along and it contains some fine guitar hooks. Halfway, we hear a guitar bridge with effect that introduces a short solo and then returns to the chorus.

Sonus Corona presents its debut with craftsmanship and with good written songs. A mix of progressive rock and metal. A good rock album that probably can stand out in the crowd. No big or drawn-out songs, weird singing or strange rhythm changes. The album just has congruent rock songs that are quite easy to listen to. The album is highly recommended for fans of the genre

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Sonus Corona startte in 2011 als een zijproject van Ari (songschrijver) en drummer Rasmus. Bij Sonus Corona probeert men zachte melodieën met heavy riffs te combineren. Dit alles in een progressieve stijl. Dat levert zeker een aantal mooie momenten op.

Deliverance, dat na de instrumentale en korte openingssong komt, is een track met veel ritmewisselingen. De zanger gebruikt een cleane rockstem. Struggle krijgt hetzelfde stramien. The Window is een mooi uitgewerkte song met mooie overgangen, fijn drumwerk… Het gebruik van een fluit i.p.v. een gitaar in de solo is verrassend maar werkt wel. Rise Above is een song met een refrein dat makkelijk meezingbaar is en het bevat enkele fijne gitaarhooks. Halfweg horen we een bridge van gitaartokkel met effect, die een korte solo inleidt en terugkeert naar het refrein.

Sonus Corona presenteert hier zijn debuut dat uitblinkt in vakmanschap, met degelijk geschreven songs. Een mengeling van progressieve rock en metal. Een goed rockend album dat misschien wat heeft om zich te onderscheiden in de grote massa. Het blinkt namelijk niet uit in grote en uitgesponnen songs, rare zangcapriolen of vreemde ritmewisselingen. Het album moet het eerder hebben van congruente rocksongs die vrij makkelijk te beluisteren zijn. Voor die liefhebbers is het album zeker een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona 09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down