tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona

SONUS CORONA

Sonus Corona

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sonus Corona started in 2011 as a side project of Ari (songwriter) and drummer Rasmus. Sonus Corona combines soft melodies with heavy riffs. All this in a progressive style with some nice moments as a result.

Deliverance, which starts after the short instrumental opening song, is a track with a lot of rhythm changes. The singer uses a clean rock voice. Struggle has the same pattern. The Window is a a well-built song with beautiful transitions and fine drumming. The use a flute instead of a guitar solo is surprising, but it works. Rise Above is a song with a chorus that is easy to sing along and it contains some fine guitar hooks. Halfway, we hear a guitar bridge with effect that introduces a short solo and then returns to the chorus.

Sonus Corona presents its debut with craftsmanship and with good written songs. A mix of progressive rock and metal. A good rock album that probably can stand out in the crowd. No big or drawn-out songs, weird singing or strange rhythm changes. The album just has congruent rock songs that are quite easy to listen to. The album is highly recommended for fans of the genre

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Sonus Corona startte in 2011 als een zijproject van Ari (songschrijver) en drummer Rasmus. Bij Sonus Corona probeert men zachte melodieën met heavy riffs te combineren. Dit alles in een progressieve stijl. Dat levert zeker een aantal mooie momenten op.

Deliverance, dat na de instrumentale en korte openingssong komt, is een track met veel ritmewisselingen. De zanger gebruikt een cleane rockstem. Struggle krijgt hetzelfde stramien. The Window is een mooi uitgewerkte song met mooie overgangen, fijn drumwerk… Het gebruik van een fluit i.p.v. een gitaar in de solo is verrassend maar werkt wel. Rise Above is een song met een refrein dat makkelijk meezingbaar is en het bevat enkele fijne gitaarhooks. Halfweg horen we een bridge van gitaartokkel met effect, die een korte solo inleidt en terugkeert naar het refrein.

Sonus Corona presenteert hier zijn debuut dat uitblinkt in vakmanschap, met degelijk geschreven songs. Een mengeling van progressieve rock en metal. Een goed rockend album dat misschien wat heeft om zich te onderscheiden in de grote massa. Het blinkt namelijk niet uit in grote en uitgesponnen songs, rare zangcapriolen of vreemde ritmewisselingen. Het album moet het eerder hebben van congruente rocksongs die vrij makkelijk te beluisteren zijn. Voor die liefhebbers is het album zeker een aanrader.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona 09/12/2016 : SONUS CORONA - Sonus Corona

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl