tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

SOPHIE BARTES

Madame Bovary

MovieCinema
Drama

[69/100]   

A-Film
04/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We have lost count about how many times the debut novel of Gustav Flaubert has been transformed into a film, but even after the ultimate version with Isabelle Huppert, some people obviously thought it was necessary to bring the famous novel back o the big screen. It is the first time a woman does that, but the version of Sophie Bartes brings nothing new and is in the first place just another classic film.

After her role in Jane Eyre, Mia Wasikowsa has become the ideal name for this type of roles and her performance as Emma Bovery is indeed excellent. Immediately we come to the weakness of the film, because despite the fact that this drama has a top cast, nobody transcends Wasikowska. Rhys Ifans as Monsieur Lheureux, who sells so many junk stuff to Emma that she has no money left, offers the best role. The performances of Ezra Miller as Emma's young flame, Logan Marshall-Green as the Marquis or Paul Giamatti as Monsieur Homais, are painfully superficial. The most pity we have for our own Olivier Gourmet, who disappoints as Emma's father with his first non-French speaking film role, as it is simply the worst one of his career.

Sophie Bartes takes no risks. Her directing work is beautiful, but it never goes outside the lines of the classic costume drama. That is no problem, but the movie is always in the shadow of Claude Chabrol's version with Huppert. People who do not bother about that (or who have not seen the Chabrol version) can enter the cinema with a confident heart.

 

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


NL

Ondertussen zijn we de tel kwijt geraakt in verband met het aantal keer dat het debuut van Gustav Flaubert uit 1856 is verfilmd, maar na de ultieme versie met Isabelle Huppert vond men het blijkbaar nodig om nog maar eens de beroemde roman naar het witte doek te brengen. Het is wel de eerste keer dat een vrouw de regie doet, toch is de versie van Sophie Bartes nauwelijks vernieuwend en is het in de eerste plaats een klassieke film geworden.

Na haar rol in Jane Eyre is Mia Wasikowsa de naam bij uitstek geworden voor dit soort rollen en haar vertolking als mannenverslindster Emma Bovery is dan ook uitstekend. Meteen leggen we daarmee de zwakte van de film bloot, want ondanks het feit dat dit drama een topcast heeft, is niemand in staat om Wasikowska te overstijgen. Rhys Ifans als Monsieur Lheureux, die Emma allerlei troep verkoopt waardoor zij tot over haar oren in de schulden komt te zitten, brengt het er nog het beste van af, maar de vertolkingen van Ezra Miller als Emma’s jonge vlam, Logan Marshall-Green als de markies of Paul Giamatti als Monsieur Homais zijn bijna pijnlijk oppervlakkig. Het meeste medelijden hebben we met onze eigen Olivier Gourmet, die als Emma’s vader met zijn eerste niet-Franstalige rol wellicht de slechtste vertolking uit zijn leven brengt.

Sophie Bartes neemt geen enkel risico. Haar regiewerk is mooi, maar gaat nooit buiten de lijntjes van het klassieke kostuumdrama. Dat is geen probleem, alleen lijkt het alsof de film altijd in de schaduw van Claude Chabrols versie met Huppert staat, en dat werkt nefast. Mensen die zich daar niet aan storen (of die gewoon Chabrols versie niet hebben gezien) kunnen met een gerust hart de bioscoop binnenwandelen.

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap