tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

SOPHIE BARTES

Madame Bovary

MovieCinema
Drama

[69/100]   

A-Film
04/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We have lost count about how many times the debut novel of Gustav Flaubert has been transformed into a film, but even after the ultimate version with Isabelle Huppert, some people obviously thought it was necessary to bring the famous novel back o the big screen. It is the first time a woman does that, but the version of Sophie Bartes brings nothing new and is in the first place just another classic film.

After her role in Jane Eyre, Mia Wasikowsa has become the ideal name for this type of roles and her performance as Emma Bovery is indeed excellent. Immediately we come to the weakness of the film, because despite the fact that this drama has a top cast, nobody transcends Wasikowska. Rhys Ifans as Monsieur Lheureux, who sells so many junk stuff to Emma that she has no money left, offers the best role. The performances of Ezra Miller as Emma's young flame, Logan Marshall-Green as the Marquis or Paul Giamatti as Monsieur Homais, are painfully superficial. The most pity we have for our own Olivier Gourmet, who disappoints as Emma's father with his first non-French speaking film role, as it is simply the worst one of his career.

Sophie Bartes takes no risks. Her directing work is beautiful, but it never goes outside the lines of the classic costume drama. That is no problem, but the movie is always in the shadow of Claude Chabrol's version with Huppert. People who do not bother about that (or who have not seen the Chabrol version) can enter the cinema with a confident heart.

 

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


NL

Ondertussen zijn we de tel kwijt geraakt in verband met het aantal keer dat het debuut van Gustav Flaubert uit 1856 is verfilmd, maar na de ultieme versie met Isabelle Huppert vond men het blijkbaar nodig om nog maar eens de beroemde roman naar het witte doek te brengen. Het is wel de eerste keer dat een vrouw de regie doet, toch is de versie van Sophie Bartes nauwelijks vernieuwend en is het in de eerste plaats een klassieke film geworden.

Na haar rol in Jane Eyre is Mia Wasikowsa de naam bij uitstek geworden voor dit soort rollen en haar vertolking als mannenverslindster Emma Bovery is dan ook uitstekend. Meteen leggen we daarmee de zwakte van de film bloot, want ondanks het feit dat dit drama een topcast heeft, is niemand in staat om Wasikowska te overstijgen. Rhys Ifans als Monsieur Lheureux, die Emma allerlei troep verkoopt waardoor zij tot over haar oren in de schulden komt te zitten, brengt het er nog het beste van af, maar de vertolkingen van Ezra Miller als Emma’s jonge vlam, Logan Marshall-Green als de markies of Paul Giamatti als Monsieur Homais zijn bijna pijnlijk oppervlakkig. Het meeste medelijden hebben we met onze eigen Olivier Gourmet, die als Emma’s vader met zijn eerste niet-Franstalige rol wellicht de slechtste vertolking uit zijn leven brengt.

Sophie Bartes neemt geen enkel risico. Haar regiewerk is mooi, maar gaat nooit buiten de lijntjes van het klassieke kostuumdrama. Dat is geen probleem, alleen lijkt het alsof de film altijd in de schaduw van Claude Chabrols versie met Huppert staat, en dat werkt nefast. Mensen die zich daar niet aan storen (of die gewoon Chabrols versie niet hebben gezien) kunnen met een gerust hart de bioscoop binnenwandelen.

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow