tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

SOPHIE BARTES

Madame Bovary

MovieCinema
Drama

[69/100]   

A-Film
04/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We have lost count about how many times the debut novel of Gustav Flaubert has been transformed into a film, but even after the ultimate version with Isabelle Huppert, some people obviously thought it was necessary to bring the famous novel back o the big screen. It is the first time a woman does that, but the version of Sophie Bartes brings nothing new and is in the first place just another classic film.

After her role in Jane Eyre, Mia Wasikowsa has become the ideal name for this type of roles and her performance as Emma Bovery is indeed excellent. Immediately we come to the weakness of the film, because despite the fact that this drama has a top cast, nobody transcends Wasikowska. Rhys Ifans as Monsieur Lheureux, who sells so many junk stuff to Emma that she has no money left, offers the best role. The performances of Ezra Miller as Emma's young flame, Logan Marshall-Green as the Marquis or Paul Giamatti as Monsieur Homais, are painfully superficial. The most pity we have for our own Olivier Gourmet, who disappoints as Emma's father with his first non-French speaking film role, as it is simply the worst one of his career.

Sophie Bartes takes no risks. Her directing work is beautiful, but it never goes outside the lines of the classic costume drama. That is no problem, but the movie is always in the shadow of Claude Chabrol's version with Huppert. People who do not bother about that (or who have not seen the Chabrol version) can enter the cinema with a confident heart.

 

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


NL

Ondertussen zijn we de tel kwijt geraakt in verband met het aantal keer dat het debuut van Gustav Flaubert uit 1856 is verfilmd, maar na de ultieme versie met Isabelle Huppert vond men het blijkbaar nodig om nog maar eens de beroemde roman naar het witte doek te brengen. Het is wel de eerste keer dat een vrouw de regie doet, toch is de versie van Sophie Bartes nauwelijks vernieuwend en is het in de eerste plaats een klassieke film geworden.

Na haar rol in Jane Eyre is Mia Wasikowsa de naam bij uitstek geworden voor dit soort rollen en haar vertolking als mannenverslindster Emma Bovery is dan ook uitstekend. Meteen leggen we daarmee de zwakte van de film bloot, want ondanks het feit dat dit drama een topcast heeft, is niemand in staat om Wasikowska te overstijgen. Rhys Ifans als Monsieur Lheureux, die Emma allerlei troep verkoopt waardoor zij tot over haar oren in de schulden komt te zitten, brengt het er nog het beste van af, maar de vertolkingen van Ezra Miller als Emma’s jonge vlam, Logan Marshall-Green als de markies of Paul Giamatti als Monsieur Homais zijn bijna pijnlijk oppervlakkig. Het meeste medelijden hebben we met onze eigen Olivier Gourmet, die als Emma’s vader met zijn eerste niet-Franstalige rol wellicht de slechtste vertolking uit zijn leven brengt.

Sophie Bartes neemt geen enkel risico. Haar regiewerk is mooi, maar gaat nooit buiten de lijntjes van het klassieke kostuumdrama. Dat is geen probleem, alleen lijkt het alsof de film altijd in de schaduw van Claude Chabrols versie met Huppert staat, en dat werkt nefast. Mensen die zich daar niet aan storen (of die gewoon Chabrols versie niet hebben gezien) kunnen met een gerust hart de bioscoop binnenwandelen.

Didier BECU
04/09/2015


04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary 04/09/2015 : SOPHIE BARTES - Madame Bovary

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real