tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

28/10/2014 : SOPHIE LILLIENNE - Immigrants

SOPHIE LILLIENNE

Immigrants

MusicDigital
ElectroTrip Hop

[85/100]   

IRMA Records
28/10/2014, Pascal VERLOOVE

Sophie Lillienne is not a girl and Sophie Lillienne is not French. It is actually the solo project of an Italian musician, singer and producer called VeZzO who has been active for eight years, and has already released three albums and a couple of singles and EP’s.

Immigrants is a preview of his forthcoming album The Fragile Idea that will be released next year. However, “preview” might not be the appropriate term as only the first title of this EP, Immigrants, that is the also the new single, will be included on the album. So, this EP is probably more like an appetizer.

That said, where does Immigrants lead us? Probably back to Bristol, in the early nineties, as trip-hop will definitely be the quickest shortcut to describe the music. Names like Massive Attack, Waldeck or Tricky will probably come to your mind while you’re enjoying this EP, preferably with headphones and your eyes closed.

VeZzO uses some of the trip-hop typical soundscapes, such as the vinyl scratches that were made popular by Portishead, drum and bass loops and sequences, samples of every day’s life sounds (clock, other unidentified sounds), reprocessed or distant vocals, but each of the five titles offers its own story.
It is starting with the dub Immigrants, with its female vocals added to the recipe, to slow down from track to track, reaching very deep beats, mimicking your heart, inviting to relaxation and introspection on Stage or Questions. 
All of this is warm but uncanny, gloomy but sensual.

Something certainly worth mentioning, you can download or stream this EP for free!
So, that is rather easy for you to discover an artist that you may not know yet, and that will enchant you especially if Mezzanine or Dummy are two of the albums you would bring with you on a desert island. VeZzO is not a copycat but if you are sorting your records by genre there is quite a good chance, Sophie Lillienne will not be too far away from Massive Attack.

I didn’t know Sophie Lillienne a couple of weeks ago and I humbly acknowledge Immigrants is the only release I’ve listened to so far, but one thing is sure I will very soon try to fill the gap and discover his previous albums and I will be looking forward to the release of the album The Fragile Idea next year!

Download or listen it here : https://soundcloud.com/sophielillienne/sets/immigrants-ep

 

 

Pascal VERLOOVE
28/10/2014


28/10/2014 : SOPHIE LILLIENNE - Immigrants 28/10/2014 : SOPHIE LILLIENNE - Immigrants 28/10/2014 : SOPHIE LILLIENNE - Immigrants

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes