tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke

SOPHIE SCHOUKENS

Marieke, Marieke

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseDrama

[76/100]   

KMBO
12/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You have to look in the art house section to find them, but Belgium has a lot of good directors, who are on a par with their foreign colleagues. One of them is the Brussels based Sophie Schoukens. Well, it must be said that Marieke, Marieke is her only film so far, because for the rest this lady is mainly busy with the production of short films.

Perhaps the movie means nothing to you. The reason: Marieke, Marieke wasn’t screened that much at the cinemas. I do not know if Sophie is honored by it or not, but for me her way of filming is similar to that other great lady of Belgian cinema, Patrice Toye, or to put it differently: a filmmaker who takes time for her subject ( even though this movie lasts just 80 minutes). Marieke (Hande Kondja) is a young girl who works in a chocolate factory. While her colleagues are interested in conquering the hearts of young boys, she likes older guys. The young girl is clearly looking for a father figure that she missed her whole life. She says nothing to her mother (Barbara Sarafian) about it. It is only when the former publisher of her father (Jan Decleir) reappears after years of silence that the (painful) truth comes to light.

Hande Kondja stars as the confused girl who reminds us a bit of Isabelle in the Ozon movie Jeune & Jolie. Schoukens is never looking for sensation (despite the subject), but she rather uses silences that serve as an interlude to reflect about what’s being told. The film is released on DVD through the French film company KMBO.

 

Didier BECU
12/08/2015


NL

Je moet ze in de arthouseafdeling zoeken, maar België heeft heel wat goede regisseurs die op één lijn met hun buitenlandse collega’s staan. Eéntje daarvan is de Brusselse Sophie Schoukens. Nou ja, het moet worden gezegd dat Marieke, Marieke haar enige film is, want voor de rest houdt deze dame zich vooral bezig met het produceren van kortfilms.

Wellicht zegt de film je niet veel, en dat is natuurlijk te verklaren door het feit dat deze film in Vlaanderen weinig of geen cinemazalen heeft bereikt. Ik weet niet of Sophie het een eer vindt, maar haar manier van filmen is te vergelijken met die andere grote dame uit de Belgische cinema, Patrice Toye, of om het anders te zeggen: een cineaste die de tijd neemt voor haar onderwerp (ook al duurt Marieke, Marieke amper 80 minuten). Marieke (Hande Kondja) is een jong meisje dat in een pralinefabriek werkt. Terwijl haar collega’s geïnteresseerd zijn in de harten van jonge kerels, stort Marieke zich liever op de ene oude vent na de andere. Het jonge meisje is duidelijk op zoek naar een vaderfiguur die ze heel haar leven heeft gemist. Aan haar moeder (Barbara Sarafian) vertelt ze er niets over. Het is pas op het moment dat de gewezen uitgever van haar vader (Jan Decleir) na jaren stilte opnieuw opduikt, dat de (pijnlijke) waarheid aan het licht komt.

Vlaamse sterren, toch wordt er Frans gesproken in dit drama dat zich in Brussel afspeelt. Maar dat heeft natuurlijk met geldschieters te maken. Hande Kondja schittert als het verwarde meisje dat ons een beetje aan Isabelle uit de Ozon-film Jeune & Jolie doet denken. Schoukens zoekt, ondanks het onderwerp, nooit het sensationele op, maar gebruikt eerder stiltes die als intermezzo’s dienen om na te denken. De film is op dvd uitgebracht via de Franse filmmaatschappij KMBO.

Didier BECU
12/08/2015


12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke 12/08/2015 : SOPHIE SCHOUKENS - Marieke, Marieke

 

Next reviews
SURPRIZE • In Movimento
MARK BURTON & RICHARD STARZAK • Shaun The Sheep, The Movie
DIRK IVENS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
PIE ARE SQUARED • Lucciole
MCCARTHY • I Am A Wallet
XIAN AUSTIN (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUSSELL CROWE • The Water Diviner
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
THE WATERBOYS • Fisherman's Blues Deluxe

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)