tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

06/05/2011 : SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS - Have You Seen This Ghost?

SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS

Have You Seen This Ghost?

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothicNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Apocalyptic Vision (Trisol)
06/05/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

Counting downto a new album by Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows is always worth the effort. Once again this disc, the second part of the "A Triptychon of Ghosts" trilogy, comes in a beautiful, limited box with more than 100 pages of beautiful artwork. Next to this I got a DVD and a T-shirt. On the first, the clip of the single "Sleep", on the second a successful print of the cover of the album. The packaging and booklet, with beautiful illustrations by Ingo Römling, reflect my musical expectations: theatricality full of details, dark spots and German quality.

The opener glorifies the intimate atmosphere of "Dead Lovers Sarabande”, but the gothic bombast predominates in the next songs. From "Les Fleurs du Mal" Sopor embarked on a path of baroque, propelling rhythms topped with catchy, often lingering melodies surrounded by strings, winds and ever-present bells and clocks. This time, the carillon has been taken from under the dustjacket.

This brings me to the only drawback of this new birth: there is, unfortunately, little new to be discovered. It all sounds very familiar. But for a real Sopor-adept that should not spoil the fun. If only to hear how he has left his mark on "Sleep " by Marianne Faithfull or the honey sweet "Hello" by Lionel Richie. It still remains great to sink down and disappear into the mystical world of this tortured soul.

The texts are pretty revealing: from compensatory eating to the secret desire for the unattainable prince or superhero, including all the kinky details. The long final song reminds me of "The Virgin Queen" from "Les Fleurs de Mal": a slow build up, a dominant and touching melody and then a whiny, pleading Sopor on top. I linger in a place no-one knows (reverse T-shirt), but it still feels like coming home to Auntie Vava.

(Editorial note: T-shirt is only available in the ultra-limited pre-order version.
As always there’s also a vinyl version available – without the DVD)

Tom PLOVIE
06/05/2011


NL

Aftellen naar een nieuw album van Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows loont steeds de moeite. Ook deze keer werd het schijfje, het tweede luik uit de “A Triptychon of Ghosts”-trilogie, geleverd in een prachtige, gelimiteerde box met ruim 100 pagina’s aan fraai artwork. Daarnaast krijg ik er een DVD en T-shirt bij. Op de één staat de clip van de single “Sleep”, op het ander een print van de geslaagde cover van het album. De verpakking en het boekje, met prachtige illustraties van Ingo Römling, weerspiegelen hetgeen me muzikaal te wachten staat: theatraliteit vol details, duistere plekjes en Duitse kwaliteit.

De opener dweept met de intieme sfeer uit “Dead Lovers Sarabande”, maar de gothische bombast overheerst in de opvolgers. Sopor is sedert “Les Fleurs du Mal” de weg ingeslagen van barokke, stuwende ritmes overgoten met pakkende, vaak slepende melodieën die omringd worden door strijkers, blazers en immer aanwezige belletjes en klokken. Deze keer wordt ook de beiaard van onder het stof gehaald.

Meteen kom ik bij het enige minpunt van deze nieuwe worp: er valt, jammer genoeg, weinig nieuws te ontdekken. Het klinkt allemaal heel erg vertrouwd en gekend. Als heuse Sopor-adept mag dat de pret niet drukken. Al is het maar om te horen hoe hij op “Sleep” van Marianne Faithfull of het zeemzoeterige “Hello” van Lionel Richie zijn stempel heeft gedrukt. Het blijft heerlijk om te verzinken en op te gaan in de mystieke wereld van deze gekwelde ziel.

 De teksten zijn weinig verhullend: van compenserend eetgedrag tot het heimelijk verlangen naar de onbereikbare prins of de superheld, kinky details incluis. Het lange slotnummer herinnert me aan “The Virgin Queen” uit “Les Fleurs de Mal”: een langzame opbouw, een overheersende en plakkende melodie met daarop een huilerige, smekende Sopor. Ik vertoef in a place no-one knows (ommezijde T-shirt), maar toch voelt het als thuiskomen bij Auntie Vava.

(Editorial note: T-shirt enkel bij de ultra-gelimiteerde pre-order versie.
Zoals gewoonlijk bestaat van deze CD ook een vinyl-versie, zonder DVD echter)

Tom PLOVIE
06/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles

 

Other reviews from SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force