tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

06/05/2011 : SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS - Have You Seen This Ghost?

SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS

Have You Seen This Ghost?

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothicNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Apocalyptic Vision (Trisol)
06/05/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

Counting downto a new album by Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows is always worth the effort. Once again this disc, the second part of the "A Triptychon of Ghosts" trilogy, comes in a beautiful, limited box with more than 100 pages of beautiful artwork. Next to this I got a DVD and a T-shirt. On the first, the clip of the single "Sleep", on the second a successful print of the cover of the album. The packaging and booklet, with beautiful illustrations by Ingo Römling, reflect my musical expectations: theatricality full of details, dark spots and German quality.

The opener glorifies the intimate atmosphere of "Dead Lovers Sarabande”, but the gothic bombast predominates in the next songs. From "Les Fleurs du Mal" Sopor embarked on a path of baroque, propelling rhythms topped with catchy, often lingering melodies surrounded by strings, winds and ever-present bells and clocks. This time, the carillon has been taken from under the dustjacket.

This brings me to the only drawback of this new birth: there is, unfortunately, little new to be discovered. It all sounds very familiar. But for a real Sopor-adept that should not spoil the fun. If only to hear how he has left his mark on "Sleep " by Marianne Faithfull or the honey sweet "Hello" by Lionel Richie. It still remains great to sink down and disappear into the mystical world of this tortured soul.

The texts are pretty revealing: from compensatory eating to the secret desire for the unattainable prince or superhero, including all the kinky details. The long final song reminds me of "The Virgin Queen" from "Les Fleurs de Mal": a slow build up, a dominant and touching melody and then a whiny, pleading Sopor on top. I linger in a place no-one knows (reverse T-shirt), but it still feels like coming home to Auntie Vava.

(Editorial note: T-shirt is only available in the ultra-limited pre-order version.
As always there’s also a vinyl version available – without the DVD)

Tom PLOVIE
06/05/2011


NL

Aftellen naar een nieuw album van Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows loont steeds de moeite. Ook deze keer werd het schijfje, het tweede luik uit de “A Triptychon of Ghosts”-trilogie, geleverd in een prachtige, gelimiteerde box met ruim 100 pagina’s aan fraai artwork. Daarnaast krijg ik er een DVD en T-shirt bij. Op de één staat de clip van de single “Sleep”, op het ander een print van de geslaagde cover van het album. De verpakking en het boekje, met prachtige illustraties van Ingo Römling, weerspiegelen hetgeen me muzikaal te wachten staat: theatraliteit vol details, duistere plekjes en Duitse kwaliteit.

De opener dweept met de intieme sfeer uit “Dead Lovers Sarabande”, maar de gothische bombast overheerst in de opvolgers. Sopor is sedert “Les Fleurs du Mal” de weg ingeslagen van barokke, stuwende ritmes overgoten met pakkende, vaak slepende melodieën die omringd worden door strijkers, blazers en immer aanwezige belletjes en klokken. Deze keer wordt ook de beiaard van onder het stof gehaald.

Meteen kom ik bij het enige minpunt van deze nieuwe worp: er valt, jammer genoeg, weinig nieuws te ontdekken. Het klinkt allemaal heel erg vertrouwd en gekend. Als heuse Sopor-adept mag dat de pret niet drukken. Al is het maar om te horen hoe hij op “Sleep” van Marianne Faithfull of het zeemzoeterige “Hello” van Lionel Richie zijn stempel heeft gedrukt. Het blijft heerlijk om te verzinken en op te gaan in de mystieke wereld van deze gekwelde ziel.

 De teksten zijn weinig verhullend: van compenserend eetgedrag tot het heimelijk verlangen naar de onbereikbare prins of de superheld, kinky details incluis. Het lange slotnummer herinnert me aan “The Virgin Queen” uit “Les Fleurs de Mal”: een langzame opbouw, een overheersende en plakkende melodie met daarop een huilerige, smekende Sopor. Ik vertoef in a place no-one knows (ommezijde T-shirt), maar toch voelt het als thuiskomen bij Auntie Vava.

(Editorial note: T-shirt enkel bij de ultra-gelimiteerde pre-order versie.
Zoals gewoonlijk bestaat van deze CD ook een vinyl-versie, zonder DVD echter)

Tom PLOVIE
06/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles

 

Other reviews from SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
11
11
THE MISSION
De Casino
11
11
DEPARTMENT S
De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)
13
11
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
12
11
AEON SABLE
Hypaerion