tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2014 : SOROR DOLOROSA - No More Heroes

SOROR DOLOROSA

No More Heroes

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic RockNew wave

[100/100]   

Northern Silence - Beneath Grey Skies
17/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I heard a lot of things lately about this band and all of them very positive things. That is the reason why I jumped on this one!

First track 'Silver Square' shows the nice voice fromAndy: very melancholic and touching your heart! I like the gothic retro guitar sound that is like Red Zebra versus Fields of The Nephilim! The sound is very catchy! It's pretty fast very clear that this band will grow and pretty soon become very big, almost incontournable as they say so nicely in French! I'm a big fan of their hypnotic sound!

'Sound & Death' sets another and even higher standard for New Wave, Gothic and Death Rock bands! Just listen to the hypnotic voice voice! Another great thing is that Andy uses his voice in many ways and keeps it very interesting for the audience (style and tonation)! I know manyGothic rock and Death Rock bands from whom the voice almost never changes and gets boring after a while, well it's clear that this band got that message and used all their resources and worked on it!

They deliver one well-crafted diamond after another on all levels! It's a great team play in where only the best is good enough! I can't find enough lyrical words to describe how good they are! At some point I want to compare them to an unknown jewel called The Open up and Bleeds, but it's not the same genre, however this other band gave me the same feeling! The sudden end of this track surprises me a bit, but the next one is already playing 'Dany'. Again the voice sounds differently from the previous track. It sounds a bit holier and sung in a church. A few band names pops-up Derek & The Dirt, Novastar (the early years) and Fields of The Niphilim (for the music). It feels like the best mix of musical superheroes of this genre!

I also notice more synths. The sound is more ballad minded. 'The Figure Of The Night' is more Gothic Rock , with a little bit of influence from Echo and the Bunnymen. 'Hologram' has a more Sisters of Mercy versus The Mission sound. It's a slow grower, but with the typical hypnotic sound. Same for 'Wormhole', where I hear almost the sound of dolphins in it, I guess it's an influence from The Essence. 'A dead Yesterday' has guitars that sound like old tracks from Red Zebra (the solo's whilst playing normally), the voice is closer to Echo and The Bunnymen. It has a great melancholic and very catchy sound and is one of the best tracks on the album! I love the vibe in this track! 'Exodus' is already the last track and I really regret it! It's over and I try to hide a tear! I push manually the start bottom, here I go again!

Well, it's very clear to me: I should have seen them on stage at the Porta Nigra (Aarschot)! I missed a great chance to see a great band! So I'll do my best to catch them in Brussels! Can't wait to see them! This record is simply the best in years (in this genre)! So if you are a fan : you know what to do! Buy the CD and can go to their gigs! The music is already haunting me!

Thumbs up!

click underneath for the announced event (4/10/2014):

gig in Brussels

The interview

They will also play here:

sacrosanct 2014

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You