tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2014 : SOROR DOLOROSA - No More Heroes

SOROR DOLOROSA

No More Heroes

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic RockNew wave

[100/100]   

Northern Silence - Beneath Grey Skies
17/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I heard a lot of things lately about this band and all of them very positive things. That is the reason why I jumped on this one!

First track 'Silver Square' shows the nice voice fromAndy: very melancholic and touching your heart! I like the gothic retro guitar sound that is like Red Zebra versus Fields of The Nephilim! The sound is very catchy! It's pretty fast very clear that this band will grow and pretty soon become very big, almost incontournable as they say so nicely in French! I'm a big fan of their hypnotic sound!

'Sound & Death' sets another and even higher standard for New Wave, Gothic and Death Rock bands! Just listen to the hypnotic voice voice! Another great thing is that Andy uses his voice in many ways and keeps it very interesting for the audience (style and tonation)! I know manyGothic rock and Death Rock bands from whom the voice almost never changes and gets boring after a while, well it's clear that this band got that message and used all their resources and worked on it!

They deliver one well-crafted diamond after another on all levels! It's a great team play in where only the best is good enough! I can't find enough lyrical words to describe how good they are! At some point I want to compare them to an unknown jewel called The Open up and Bleeds, but it's not the same genre, however this other band gave me the same feeling! The sudden end of this track surprises me a bit, but the next one is already playing 'Dany'. Again the voice sounds differently from the previous track. It sounds a bit holier and sung in a church. A few band names pops-up Derek & The Dirt, Novastar (the early years) and Fields of The Niphilim (for the music). It feels like the best mix of musical superheroes of this genre!

I also notice more synths. The sound is more ballad minded. 'The Figure Of The Night' is more Gothic Rock , with a little bit of influence from Echo and the Bunnymen. 'Hologram' has a more Sisters of Mercy versus The Mission sound. It's a slow grower, but with the typical hypnotic sound. Same for 'Wormhole', where I hear almost the sound of dolphins in it, I guess it's an influence from The Essence. 'A dead Yesterday' has guitars that sound like old tracks from Red Zebra (the solo's whilst playing normally), the voice is closer to Echo and The Bunnymen. It has a great melancholic and very catchy sound and is one of the best tracks on the album! I love the vibe in this track! 'Exodus' is already the last track and I really regret it! It's over and I try to hide a tear! I push manually the start bottom, here I go again!

Well, it's very clear to me: I should have seen them on stage at the Porta Nigra (Aarschot)! I missed a great chance to see a great band! So I'll do my best to catch them in Brussels! Can't wait to see them! This record is simply the best in years (in this genre)! So if you are a fan : you know what to do! Buy the CD and can go to their gigs! The music is already haunting me!

Thumbs up!

click underneath for the announced event (4/10/2014):

gig in Brussels

The interview

They will also play here:

sacrosanct 2014

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me