tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2014 : SOROR DOLOROSA - No More Heroes

SOROR DOLOROSA

No More Heroes

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic RockNew wave

[100/100]   

Northern Silence - Beneath Grey Skies
17/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I heard a lot of things lately about this band and all of them very positive things. That is the reason why I jumped on this one!

First track 'Silver Square' shows the nice voice fromAndy: very melancholic and touching your heart! I like the gothic retro guitar sound that is like Red Zebra versus Fields of The Nephilim! The sound is very catchy! It's pretty fast very clear that this band will grow and pretty soon become very big, almost incontournable as they say so nicely in French! I'm a big fan of their hypnotic sound!

'Sound & Death' sets another and even higher standard for New Wave, Gothic and Death Rock bands! Just listen to the hypnotic voice voice! Another great thing is that Andy uses his voice in many ways and keeps it very interesting for the audience (style and tonation)! I know manyGothic rock and Death Rock bands from whom the voice almost never changes and gets boring after a while, well it's clear that this band got that message and used all their resources and worked on it!

They deliver one well-crafted diamond after another on all levels! It's a great team play in where only the best is good enough! I can't find enough lyrical words to describe how good they are! At some point I want to compare them to an unknown jewel called The Open up and Bleeds, but it's not the same genre, however this other band gave me the same feeling! The sudden end of this track surprises me a bit, but the next one is already playing 'Dany'. Again the voice sounds differently from the previous track. It sounds a bit holier and sung in a church. A few band names pops-up Derek & The Dirt, Novastar (the early years) and Fields of The Niphilim (for the music). It feels like the best mix of musical superheroes of this genre!

I also notice more synths. The sound is more ballad minded. 'The Figure Of The Night' is more Gothic Rock , with a little bit of influence from Echo and the Bunnymen. 'Hologram' has a more Sisters of Mercy versus The Mission sound. It's a slow grower, but with the typical hypnotic sound. Same for 'Wormhole', where I hear almost the sound of dolphins in it, I guess it's an influence from The Essence. 'A dead Yesterday' has guitars that sound like old tracks from Red Zebra (the solo's whilst playing normally), the voice is closer to Echo and The Bunnymen. It has a great melancholic and very catchy sound and is one of the best tracks on the album! I love the vibe in this track! 'Exodus' is already the last track and I really regret it! It's over and I try to hide a tear! I push manually the start bottom, here I go again!

Well, it's very clear to me: I should have seen them on stage at the Porta Nigra (Aarschot)! I missed a great chance to see a great band! So I'll do my best to catch them in Brussels! Can't wait to see them! This record is simply the best in years (in this genre)! So if you are a fan : you know what to do! Buy the CD and can go to their gigs! The music is already haunting me!

Thumbs up!

click underneath for the announced event (4/10/2014):

gig in Brussels

The interview

They will also play here:

sacrosanct 2014

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue