tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2014 : SOROR DOLOROSA - No More Heroes

SOROR DOLOROSA

No More Heroes

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic RockNew wave

[100/100]   

Northern Silence - Beneath Grey Skies
17/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I heard a lot of things lately about this band and all of them very positive things. That is the reason why I jumped on this one!

First track 'Silver Square' shows the nice voice fromAndy: very melancholic and touching your heart! I like the gothic retro guitar sound that is like Red Zebra versus Fields of The Nephilim! The sound is very catchy! It's pretty fast very clear that this band will grow and pretty soon become very big, almost incontournable as they say so nicely in French! I'm a big fan of their hypnotic sound!

'Sound & Death' sets another and even higher standard for New Wave, Gothic and Death Rock bands! Just listen to the hypnotic voice voice! Another great thing is that Andy uses his voice in many ways and keeps it very interesting for the audience (style and tonation)! I know manyGothic rock and Death Rock bands from whom the voice almost never changes and gets boring after a while, well it's clear that this band got that message and used all their resources and worked on it!

They deliver one well-crafted diamond after another on all levels! It's a great team play in where only the best is good enough! I can't find enough lyrical words to describe how good they are! At some point I want to compare them to an unknown jewel called The Open up and Bleeds, but it's not the same genre, however this other band gave me the same feeling! The sudden end of this track surprises me a bit, but the next one is already playing 'Dany'. Again the voice sounds differently from the previous track. It sounds a bit holier and sung in a church. A few band names pops-up Derek & The Dirt, Novastar (the early years) and Fields of The Niphilim (for the music). It feels like the best mix of musical superheroes of this genre!

I also notice more synths. The sound is more ballad minded. 'The Figure Of The Night' is more Gothic Rock , with a little bit of influence from Echo and the Bunnymen. 'Hologram' has a more Sisters of Mercy versus The Mission sound. It's a slow grower, but with the typical hypnotic sound. Same for 'Wormhole', where I hear almost the sound of dolphins in it, I guess it's an influence from The Essence. 'A dead Yesterday' has guitars that sound like old tracks from Red Zebra (the solo's whilst playing normally), the voice is closer to Echo and The Bunnymen. It has a great melancholic and very catchy sound and is one of the best tracks on the album! I love the vibe in this track! 'Exodus' is already the last track and I really regret it! It's over and I try to hide a tear! I push manually the start bottom, here I go again!

Well, it's very clear to me: I should have seen them on stage at the Porta Nigra (Aarschot)! I missed a great chance to see a great band! So I'll do my best to catch them in Brussels! Can't wait to see them! This record is simply the best in years (in this genre)! So if you are a fan : you know what to do! Buy the CD and can go to their gigs! The music is already haunting me!

Thumbs up!

click underneath for the announced event (4/10/2014):

gig in Brussels

The interview

They will also play here:

sacrosanct 2014

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid