tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2014 : SOROR DOLOROSA - No More Heroes

SOROR DOLOROSA

No More Heroes

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic RockNew wave

[100/100]   

Northern Silence - Beneath Grey Skies
17/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I heard a lot of things lately about this band and all of them very positive things. That is the reason why I jumped on this one!

First track 'Silver Square' shows the nice voice fromAndy: very melancholic and touching your heart! I like the gothic retro guitar sound that is like Red Zebra versus Fields of The Nephilim! The sound is very catchy! It's pretty fast very clear that this band will grow and pretty soon become very big, almost incontournable as they say so nicely in French! I'm a big fan of their hypnotic sound!

'Sound & Death' sets another and even higher standard for New Wave, Gothic and Death Rock bands! Just listen to the hypnotic voice voice! Another great thing is that Andy uses his voice in many ways and keeps it very interesting for the audience (style and tonation)! I know manyGothic rock and Death Rock bands from whom the voice almost never changes and gets boring after a while, well it's clear that this band got that message and used all their resources and worked on it!

They deliver one well-crafted diamond after another on all levels! It's a great team play in where only the best is good enough! I can't find enough lyrical words to describe how good they are! At some point I want to compare them to an unknown jewel called The Open up and Bleeds, but it's not the same genre, however this other band gave me the same feeling! The sudden end of this track surprises me a bit, but the next one is already playing 'Dany'. Again the voice sounds differently from the previous track. It sounds a bit holier and sung in a church. A few band names pops-up Derek & The Dirt, Novastar (the early years) and Fields of The Niphilim (for the music). It feels like the best mix of musical superheroes of this genre!

I also notice more synths. The sound is more ballad minded. 'The Figure Of The Night' is more Gothic Rock , with a little bit of influence from Echo and the Bunnymen. 'Hologram' has a more Sisters of Mercy versus The Mission sound. It's a slow grower, but with the typical hypnotic sound. Same for 'Wormhole', where I hear almost the sound of dolphins in it, I guess it's an influence from The Essence. 'A dead Yesterday' has guitars that sound like old tracks from Red Zebra (the solo's whilst playing normally), the voice is closer to Echo and The Bunnymen. It has a great melancholic and very catchy sound and is one of the best tracks on the album! I love the vibe in this track! 'Exodus' is already the last track and I really regret it! It's over and I try to hide a tear! I push manually the start bottom, here I go again!

Well, it's very clear to me: I should have seen them on stage at the Porta Nigra (Aarschot)! I missed a great chance to see a great band! So I'll do my best to catch them in Brussels! Can't wait to see them! This record is simply the best in years (in this genre)! So if you are a fan : you know what to do! Buy the CD and can go to their gigs! The music is already haunting me!

Thumbs up!

click underneath for the announced event (4/10/2014):

gig in Brussels

The interview

They will also play here:

sacrosanct 2014

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl