tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SOUL EMBRACE - Good Morning To Myself

SOUL EMBRACE

Good Morning To Myself

MusicCD
BluesIndieRock

[77/100]   

Starman Records
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The love begins with the title of the album: Good Morning To Myself. Either these men are hopelessly cynical, or they really do think that they live on another planet! Whatever the answer might be, Soul Embrace is unique in Flanders. Maybe because of the smoky voice of singer Alain Delterne, you can make a link with Blue Blot, but that’s it. The debut album of this quintet sounds American, but with a wonderful nod to many great gods!

This eleven-song album starts with the excellent single Tarantino Cool, a song that you can sing along after just one minute and thanks to both the horn section and the rock 'n' roll you think of the best of Rocket From The Crypt. For a moment you think this is going to be an album for quiffs, but even if you better keep your brylcreem nearby, Soul Embrace is rather a musical collective that browses through a record collection, and the great thing is that these guys have a very diverse taste!

Perhaps the horn is again the reason, but Suffocating Love sounds a bit like a forgotten Roxy Music track from the 70s. Fade Into Me could be a radio hit if only radio makers would have some good taste. No, the song is not a world wonder, just three minutes of delicious pop and sometimes that’s all we need. Each record must have its moment of emotion, and apart from the sublime ending song Trying To Hold On, that’s probably Photograph.

With My Woman you get the feeling you know this song for years, it's soul which only Wilson Pickett could have written. And then there's True To Yourself which has something of Robert Palmer, but in a Morphine version.

Good Morning To Myself feels like a radio program that takes you from one style to another. Great record!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

De liefde begint al met de titel van de plaat: Good Morning To Myself. Ofwel zijn de heren hopeloos cynisch, of ze vinden inderdaad dat ze op een andere planeet leven! Wat ook het antwoord is, Soul Embrace is uniek in Vlaanderen. Misschien kan je wegens de doorrookte stem van zanger Alain Delterne een link maken met Blue Blot, maar daar zal het zonder meer bij blijven. De debuutplaat van dit vijftal klinkt op en top Amerikaans, weliswaar met een heerlijke knipoog naar tal van grootheden!

Deze elf nummers tellende plaat begint met de uitstekende single Tarantino Cool, een nummer dat je na amper één minuut kan meebrullen en zowel dankzij de blazers als het torenhoge rock ’n rollgehalte het beste van Rocket From The Crypt oproept. Eventjes denk je dat dit een schijfje voor vetkuiven wordt, maar ook al hou je je pot brylcreem maar beter in de buurt, is Soul Embrace eerder een muzikaal collectief dat met plezier grasduint in een platencollectie die uit grote goden bestaat, en het leuke is dat de kerels een zeer gevarieerde smaak hebben!

Misschien ligt het alweer aan die blazers, maar Suffocating Love lijkt wel wat op een vergeten Roxy Music-track uit de jaren 70. Fade Into Me zou best een radiohitje kunnen zijn indien de radiomakers over wat meer smaak zouden beschikken. Neen, een wereldwonder is het niet, gewoon drie minuten heerlijke pop en meer moet dat niet zijn. Iedere plaat moet zijn moment van ontroering hebben, en dat is op de sublieme afsluiter Trying To Hold On na, waarschijnlijk Photograph.

Bij My Woman krijg je het gevoel dat je dit nummer al jaren kent, het is soul die alleen Wilson Pickett uit zijn pen zou kunnen toveren. En dan is er True To Yourself dat wel iets van Robert Palmer heeft, maar dan wel in een Morphine-versie.

Good Morning To Myself voelt aan als een radioprogramma dat je van de ene stijl naar de andere zwiert. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God