tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SOUL EMBRACE - Good Morning To Myself

SOUL EMBRACE

Good Morning To Myself

MusicCD
BluesIndieRock

[77/100]   

Starman Records
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The love begins with the title of the album: Good Morning To Myself. Either these men are hopelessly cynical, or they really do think that they live on another planet! Whatever the answer might be, Soul Embrace is unique in Flanders. Maybe because of the smoky voice of singer Alain Delterne, you can make a link with Blue Blot, but that’s it. The debut album of this quintet sounds American, but with a wonderful nod to many great gods!

This eleven-song album starts with the excellent single Tarantino Cool, a song that you can sing along after just one minute and thanks to both the horn section and the rock 'n' roll you think of the best of Rocket From The Crypt. For a moment you think this is going to be an album for quiffs, but even if you better keep your brylcreem nearby, Soul Embrace is rather a musical collective that browses through a record collection, and the great thing is that these guys have a very diverse taste!

Perhaps the horn is again the reason, but Suffocating Love sounds a bit like a forgotten Roxy Music track from the 70s. Fade Into Me could be a radio hit if only radio makers would have some good taste. No, the song is not a world wonder, just three minutes of delicious pop and sometimes that’s all we need. Each record must have its moment of emotion, and apart from the sublime ending song Trying To Hold On, that’s probably Photograph.

With My Woman you get the feeling you know this song for years, it's soul which only Wilson Pickett could have written. And then there's True To Yourself which has something of Robert Palmer, but in a Morphine version.

Good Morning To Myself feels like a radio program that takes you from one style to another. Great record!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

De liefde begint al met de titel van de plaat: Good Morning To Myself. Ofwel zijn de heren hopeloos cynisch, of ze vinden inderdaad dat ze op een andere planeet leven! Wat ook het antwoord is, Soul Embrace is uniek in Vlaanderen. Misschien kan je wegens de doorrookte stem van zanger Alain Delterne een link maken met Blue Blot, maar daar zal het zonder meer bij blijven. De debuutplaat van dit vijftal klinkt op en top Amerikaans, weliswaar met een heerlijke knipoog naar tal van grootheden!

Deze elf nummers tellende plaat begint met de uitstekende single Tarantino Cool, een nummer dat je na amper één minuut kan meebrullen en zowel dankzij de blazers als het torenhoge rock ’n rollgehalte het beste van Rocket From The Crypt oproept. Eventjes denk je dat dit een schijfje voor vetkuiven wordt, maar ook al hou je je pot brylcreem maar beter in de buurt, is Soul Embrace eerder een muzikaal collectief dat met plezier grasduint in een platencollectie die uit grote goden bestaat, en het leuke is dat de kerels een zeer gevarieerde smaak hebben!

Misschien ligt het alweer aan die blazers, maar Suffocating Love lijkt wel wat op een vergeten Roxy Music-track uit de jaren 70. Fade Into Me zou best een radiohitje kunnen zijn indien de radiomakers over wat meer smaak zouden beschikken. Neen, een wereldwonder is het niet, gewoon drie minuten heerlijke pop en meer moet dat niet zijn. Iedere plaat moet zijn moment van ontroering hebben, en dat is op de sublieme afsluiter Trying To Hold On na, waarschijnlijk Photograph.

Bij My Woman krijg je het gevoel dat je dit nummer al jaren kent, het is soul die alleen Wilson Pickett uit zijn pen zou kunnen toveren. En dan is er True To Yourself dat wel iets van Robert Palmer heeft, maar dan wel in een Morphine-versie.

Good Morning To Myself voelt aan als een radioprogramma dat je van de ene stijl naar de andere zwiert. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete