tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SOUL EMBRACE - Good Morning To Myself

SOUL EMBRACE

Good Morning To Myself

MusicCD
BluesIndieRock

[77/100]   

Starman Records
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The love begins with the title of the album: Good Morning To Myself. Either these men are hopelessly cynical, or they really do think that they live on another planet! Whatever the answer might be, Soul Embrace is unique in Flanders. Maybe because of the smoky voice of singer Alain Delterne, you can make a link with Blue Blot, but that’s it. The debut album of this quintet sounds American, but with a wonderful nod to many great gods!

This eleven-song album starts with the excellent single Tarantino Cool, a song that you can sing along after just one minute and thanks to both the horn section and the rock 'n' roll you think of the best of Rocket From The Crypt. For a moment you think this is going to be an album for quiffs, but even if you better keep your brylcreem nearby, Soul Embrace is rather a musical collective that browses through a record collection, and the great thing is that these guys have a very diverse taste!

Perhaps the horn is again the reason, but Suffocating Love sounds a bit like a forgotten Roxy Music track from the 70s. Fade Into Me could be a radio hit if only radio makers would have some good taste. No, the song is not a world wonder, just three minutes of delicious pop and sometimes that’s all we need. Each record must have its moment of emotion, and apart from the sublime ending song Trying To Hold On, that’s probably Photograph.

With My Woman you get the feeling you know this song for years, it's soul which only Wilson Pickett could have written. And then there's True To Yourself which has something of Robert Palmer, but in a Morphine version.

Good Morning To Myself feels like a radio program that takes you from one style to another. Great record!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

De liefde begint al met de titel van de plaat: Good Morning To Myself. Ofwel zijn de heren hopeloos cynisch, of ze vinden inderdaad dat ze op een andere planeet leven! Wat ook het antwoord is, Soul Embrace is uniek in Vlaanderen. Misschien kan je wegens de doorrookte stem van zanger Alain Delterne een link maken met Blue Blot, maar daar zal het zonder meer bij blijven. De debuutplaat van dit vijftal klinkt op en top Amerikaans, weliswaar met een heerlijke knipoog naar tal van grootheden!

Deze elf nummers tellende plaat begint met de uitstekende single Tarantino Cool, een nummer dat je na amper één minuut kan meebrullen en zowel dankzij de blazers als het torenhoge rock ’n rollgehalte het beste van Rocket From The Crypt oproept. Eventjes denk je dat dit een schijfje voor vetkuiven wordt, maar ook al hou je je pot brylcreem maar beter in de buurt, is Soul Embrace eerder een muzikaal collectief dat met plezier grasduint in een platencollectie die uit grote goden bestaat, en het leuke is dat de kerels een zeer gevarieerde smaak hebben!

Misschien ligt het alweer aan die blazers, maar Suffocating Love lijkt wel wat op een vergeten Roxy Music-track uit de jaren 70. Fade Into Me zou best een radiohitje kunnen zijn indien de radiomakers over wat meer smaak zouden beschikken. Neen, een wereldwonder is het niet, gewoon drie minuten heerlijke pop en meer moet dat niet zijn. Iedere plaat moet zijn moment van ontroering hebben, en dat is op de sublieme afsluiter Trying To Hold On na, waarschijnlijk Photograph.

Bij My Woman krijg je het gevoel dat je dit nummer al jaren kent, het is soul die alleen Wilson Pickett uit zijn pen zou kunnen toveren. En dan is er True To Yourself dat wel iets van Robert Palmer heeft, maar dan wel in een Morphine-versie.

Good Morning To Myself voelt aan als een radioprogramma dat je van de ene stijl naar de andere zwiert. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls