tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SOUL EMBRACE - Good Morning To Myself

SOUL EMBRACE

Good Morning To Myself

MusicCD
BluesIndieRock

[77/100]   

Starman Records
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The love begins with the title of the album: Good Morning To Myself. Either these men are hopelessly cynical, or they really do think that they live on another planet! Whatever the answer might be, Soul Embrace is unique in Flanders. Maybe because of the smoky voice of singer Alain Delterne, you can make a link with Blue Blot, but that’s it. The debut album of this quintet sounds American, but with a wonderful nod to many great gods!

This eleven-song album starts with the excellent single Tarantino Cool, a song that you can sing along after just one minute and thanks to both the horn section and the rock 'n' roll you think of the best of Rocket From The Crypt. For a moment you think this is going to be an album for quiffs, but even if you better keep your brylcreem nearby, Soul Embrace is rather a musical collective that browses through a record collection, and the great thing is that these guys have a very diverse taste!

Perhaps the horn is again the reason, but Suffocating Love sounds a bit like a forgotten Roxy Music track from the 70s. Fade Into Me could be a radio hit if only radio makers would have some good taste. No, the song is not a world wonder, just three minutes of delicious pop and sometimes that’s all we need. Each record must have its moment of emotion, and apart from the sublime ending song Trying To Hold On, that’s probably Photograph.

With My Woman you get the feeling you know this song for years, it's soul which only Wilson Pickett could have written. And then there's True To Yourself which has something of Robert Palmer, but in a Morphine version.

Good Morning To Myself feels like a radio program that takes you from one style to another. Great record!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

De liefde begint al met de titel van de plaat: Good Morning To Myself. Ofwel zijn de heren hopeloos cynisch, of ze vinden inderdaad dat ze op een andere planeet leven! Wat ook het antwoord is, Soul Embrace is uniek in Vlaanderen. Misschien kan je wegens de doorrookte stem van zanger Alain Delterne een link maken met Blue Blot, maar daar zal het zonder meer bij blijven. De debuutplaat van dit vijftal klinkt op en top Amerikaans, weliswaar met een heerlijke knipoog naar tal van grootheden!

Deze elf nummers tellende plaat begint met de uitstekende single Tarantino Cool, een nummer dat je na amper één minuut kan meebrullen en zowel dankzij de blazers als het torenhoge rock ’n rollgehalte het beste van Rocket From The Crypt oproept. Eventjes denk je dat dit een schijfje voor vetkuiven wordt, maar ook al hou je je pot brylcreem maar beter in de buurt, is Soul Embrace eerder een muzikaal collectief dat met plezier grasduint in een platencollectie die uit grote goden bestaat, en het leuke is dat de kerels een zeer gevarieerde smaak hebben!

Misschien ligt het alweer aan die blazers, maar Suffocating Love lijkt wel wat op een vergeten Roxy Music-track uit de jaren 70. Fade Into Me zou best een radiohitje kunnen zijn indien de radiomakers over wat meer smaak zouden beschikken. Neen, een wereldwonder is het niet, gewoon drie minuten heerlijke pop en meer moet dat niet zijn. Iedere plaat moet zijn moment van ontroering hebben, en dat is op de sublieme afsluiter Trying To Hold On na, waarschijnlijk Photograph.

Bij My Woman krijg je het gevoel dat je dit nummer al jaren kent, het is soul die alleen Wilson Pickett uit zijn pen zou kunnen toveren. En dan is er True To Yourself dat wel iets van Robert Palmer heeft, maar dan wel in een Morphine-versie.

Good Morning To Myself voelt aan als een radioprogramma dat je van de ene stijl naar de andere zwiert. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline