tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SOUL EMBRACE - Good Morning To Myself

SOUL EMBRACE

Good Morning To Myself

MusicCD
BluesIndieRock

[77/100]   

Starman Records
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The love begins with the title of the album: Good Morning To Myself. Either these men are hopelessly cynical, or they really do think that they live on another planet! Whatever the answer might be, Soul Embrace is unique in Flanders. Maybe because of the smoky voice of singer Alain Delterne, you can make a link with Blue Blot, but that’s it. The debut album of this quintet sounds American, but with a wonderful nod to many great gods!

This eleven-song album starts with the excellent single Tarantino Cool, a song that you can sing along after just one minute and thanks to both the horn section and the rock 'n' roll you think of the best of Rocket From The Crypt. For a moment you think this is going to be an album for quiffs, but even if you better keep your brylcreem nearby, Soul Embrace is rather a musical collective that browses through a record collection, and the great thing is that these guys have a very diverse taste!

Perhaps the horn is again the reason, but Suffocating Love sounds a bit like a forgotten Roxy Music track from the 70s. Fade Into Me could be a radio hit if only radio makers would have some good taste. No, the song is not a world wonder, just three minutes of delicious pop and sometimes that’s all we need. Each record must have its moment of emotion, and apart from the sublime ending song Trying To Hold On, that’s probably Photograph.

With My Woman you get the feeling you know this song for years, it's soul which only Wilson Pickett could have written. And then there's True To Yourself which has something of Robert Palmer, but in a Morphine version.

Good Morning To Myself feels like a radio program that takes you from one style to another. Great record!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

De liefde begint al met de titel van de plaat: Good Morning To Myself. Ofwel zijn de heren hopeloos cynisch, of ze vinden inderdaad dat ze op een andere planeet leven! Wat ook het antwoord is, Soul Embrace is uniek in Vlaanderen. Misschien kan je wegens de doorrookte stem van zanger Alain Delterne een link maken met Blue Blot, maar daar zal het zonder meer bij blijven. De debuutplaat van dit vijftal klinkt op en top Amerikaans, weliswaar met een heerlijke knipoog naar tal van grootheden!

Deze elf nummers tellende plaat begint met de uitstekende single Tarantino Cool, een nummer dat je na amper één minuut kan meebrullen en zowel dankzij de blazers als het torenhoge rock ’n rollgehalte het beste van Rocket From The Crypt oproept. Eventjes denk je dat dit een schijfje voor vetkuiven wordt, maar ook al hou je je pot brylcreem maar beter in de buurt, is Soul Embrace eerder een muzikaal collectief dat met plezier grasduint in een platencollectie die uit grote goden bestaat, en het leuke is dat de kerels een zeer gevarieerde smaak hebben!

Misschien ligt het alweer aan die blazers, maar Suffocating Love lijkt wel wat op een vergeten Roxy Music-track uit de jaren 70. Fade Into Me zou best een radiohitje kunnen zijn indien de radiomakers over wat meer smaak zouden beschikken. Neen, een wereldwonder is het niet, gewoon drie minuten heerlijke pop en meer moet dat niet zijn. Iedere plaat moet zijn moment van ontroering hebben, en dat is op de sublieme afsluiter Trying To Hold On na, waarschijnlijk Photograph.

Bij My Woman krijg je het gevoel dat je dit nummer al jaren kent, het is soul die alleen Wilson Pickett uit zijn pen zou kunnen toveren. En dan is er True To Yourself dat wel iets van Robert Palmer heeft, maar dan wel in een Morphine-versie.

Good Morning To Myself voelt aan als een radioprogramma dat je van de ene stijl naar de andere zwiert. Knappe plaat!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum