tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

27/01/2012 : SPEAR OF DESTINY - One-Eyed Jacks

SPEAR OF DESTINY

One-Eyed Jacks

MusicCD
Dark PopGlampop

[90/100]   

Cherry Red Records
27/01/2012, Didier BECU

Why does someone love a band? I guess there might be a dozen different reasons for it, no? The tunes, the sound, their attitude....even for some their image, but above all what it means in your personal life. I totally admit that I am one of those who has a soft spot for heroes.

Call it a lack of an own personality or whatever but heroes are in the first place created to help you in your personal life, why else would they have invented Batman, you think? Kirk Brandon always used to be one of those persons I cherish so much. In fact, I always thought it has been a weird choice as for those who once saw Kirk on stage, they all know that this blond guy is the kind of person who believes in some good rock 'n roll. But in his case it always has been the kind of melancholic rock and that's probably why wavefans from all over the world love him so much.

Kirk was indeed the guy behind Theatre Of Hate who asked us once if we still believe in the westworld, but sadly enough lots of music devotees lost their belief in his second band, Spear Of Destiny, of course with the big expection at where this band is seen as an institution of good taste (or at least by them who actually have good taste).

Just like with so many other records, Cherry Red decided to reissue those little gems that are not easy to be found. "One Eyed Jacks" (hence the Marlon Brando-thing) was the second album by Spear Of Destiny. A quite courageous album in fact as pure musically it was Kirk's statement that there is a difference between Theatre Of Hate and Spear Of Destiny. In all honesty, it still pisses me off to hear people say that SOD aren't like TOH, learn to listen folks!

On this album you can hear the essence of Kirk: a song is a song if it's simple and effective and more, if it's pure from the heart. Ten tracks which makes you wonder why they're not been automatically classified as classics. I mean, can you find today one band who write tunes like "Young Men", "Liberator" or "Rainmaker"? Yes, you can but it will be difficult anyway....

Oh, you still want to know how they sound like? What about perfect Miami Vice-tunes for people who at the end of the day like to dream away? Miami Vice, you say? Yeah, not only had Kirk a song about them, but can you sum up one cop tv-show that featured The Mission or Dead Can Dance? No, you can't! Put on a siren on the roof of your car, play bloody loud and discover (or even better rediscover) the beauty of the Spear. All hail Kirk!

And for the wiseguys who say that they already have this one in their collection, of course we do congratulate you for your fine taste in music, but you better get this version too as it features lots of 12" versions and live versions!

 

Didier BECU
27/01/2012


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)