tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/05/2011 : SPECTRA*PARIS - FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty

SPECTRA*PARIS

FRIDAY THE 13TH

KORTRIJK

DE KREUN

13/05/2011

When indus meets beauty

Concert


[3/100]
16/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Horror and Goth always seem to go hand in hand and that must be what Shadowplay-founder Bernd had in mind when he transformed Friday the 13th May into a minifestival.

The audience still needs to find its way to De Kreun in Kortrijk but as we always think “what’s not yet, can be later” we think we can sum up this evening musically in a very positive way.

First band Der Klinke opened for Covenant a few weeks ago and lots of have things happened since for the West-Flanders gothbunch. Not only was it the day that “Square Moon” officially got released but it is also Chesko and his mates can claim that the reactions are more than positive so far. Something tells us that this is due to the fact that Der Klinke are coming up with sounds you don’t hear that much these days.

It isn’t gothrock, it isn’t waverock, it’s just (well) Der Klinke and they know how to write a proper tune. It’s a very uplifting experience to see that this band grow with every gig.

It wasn’t just Der Klinke who were founded at the De Klinke youthclub.

Some time ago this place also provoked the resurrection of Mildreda and what we saw from these three musicians yesterday only made us hungry for more.

We saw founder Jan Dewulf, along with Gwenny and Mika (This Morn’ Omina) coming up with their darkest feelings. More than once we had the dark ambient acts in mind that once graced Cold Meat Industry. It also made us hope that it would make Jan concentrate on some more Mildreda in the future as the silence has lasted a bit too long, but we got some glorious thunder on Friday the 13th and it felt good.

Third act of the day was Spectra*Paris, the dark dancepop act from the most beautiful thing ever to come out of Italy. The whole world should know we're talking about Elena Fossi.

In an ideal world this woman should be crowned as the ultimate popqueen, as pop is simply what Spectra*Paris is all about.

Fed by a world of Bond and female superheroes the famous voice of Kirlian Camera is carried away on a carpet pop. Too Goth to be pop or just too poppy to be Goth? It’s a statement like any other but it’s also a statement to say that Spectra*Paris gave a performance that touched our imagination.

The final act was Sonar, the noiseproject from Dirk Ivens fronted by Eric Van Wonterghem (just like Absolute Body Control).

It’s quite impossible for me to catch the energy of Sonar’s music with words. Apart from the fact that Dirk and Eric are having the time of their life, they also succeed in elevating the public to a trance-like state where language is ruled by the power of machines.

You could say Sonar’s music is ultimate aggression but the power of the fist has been transformed in industrial beats.

Sublime, even if we doubt if this can be healthy for the mind…but what was that about Horror and Goth?

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


NL

Horror en goth zijn blijkbaar steeds goede vrienden geweest en dat vond ook Shadowplay-bezieler Bernd die van Vrijdag de 13e meteen een minifestivalletje maakte.

Blijkbaar moet de grote massa nog de weg naar De Kreun vinden, maar onder de noemer van “wat niet is, kan komen” was de eindbalans op muzikaal vlak er enkel één die zeer positief te noemen was.

Opener Der Klinke stond een paar weken geleden nog met Covenant op het podium en ondertussen lijkt er veel te verandert te zijn voor de West-Vlamingen. Niet alleen werd “Square Moon” die dag officieel op het publiek losgelaten maar kan Chesko en zijn maten toch met enige trots zeggen dat de reacties positief zijn, en dat zal veel te maken hebben doordat Der Klinke een groep is die een geluid neer weet te poten die je anno 2011 te weinig hoort.

Het is geen gothrock, het is geen waverock, het is (tja) Der Klinke en ze kunnen nog nummers schrijven ook en vooral zie je dat dit een groep is die optreden per optreden groeit.

Het was niet alleen Der Klinke die ontstond in het beruchte jeugdhuis De Klinke, ook de heropstanding van Mildreda ontstond ginder en wat deze drie gisteren bewezen, deed enkel smaken naar meer.

Samen met Gwenny en Mika (This Morn’ Omina) toonde bezieler Jan Dewulf met Mildreda het donkerste uit zichzelf en moest je aan meerdere dark ambient acts denken die ooit schoon weer maakten op Cold Meat Industry. Het deed je ook ergens hopen dat Jan zich meer zou concentreren op Mildreda want de stilte duurde net iets te lang maar vrijdag de 13e donderde het wel.

Derde op de affiche was Spectra*Paris, de donkere dancepop-act van Italië’s mooiste en ondertussen zou heel de wereld moeten weten dat dit Elena Fossi is.

In een ideale wereld zou Elena tot de ultieme popkoningin moeten gekroond worden want dat is nu net wat Spectra*Paris is.

De bekende Kirlian Camera-stem laat zich doorheen een wereld die gevoed wordt door Bond en allerlei stripheldinnen wegvoeren op een poptapijt. Te goth om pop te zijn of te pop om goth te zijn? Het is een stelling als een andere, maar het is eveneens een stelling om vast te stellen dat Spectra*Paris vrijdag een concert gaf dat tot de verbeelding (en weliswaar niet alleen de muzikale) sprak.

Afsluiten deden we met Sonar, het noiseproject van Dirk Ivens dat hij net als Absolute Body Control met Eric Van Wonterghem brengt. Hoe energievol Sonar’s muziek ook klinkt, blijft het moeilijk om het geluid van Sonar in woorden te vertalen want wat Eric en Dirk doen (naast een hoge dosis zelf-amusement) is het volk in een trance brengen waarbij het wordt meegevoerd naar een wereld waar de taal er één is van machines.

Sonar’s muziek zou je kunnen omschrijven als ultieme agressie, alleen zijn het vuistslagen die vertaald worden in industriële mokerslagen. Subliem, maar of het nu echt gezond is voor de geest...nu ja, horror en goth!

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets