tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/05/2011 : SPECTRA*PARIS - FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty

SPECTRA*PARIS

FRIDAY THE 13TH

KORTRIJK

DE KREUN

13/05/2011

When indus meets beauty

Concert


[3/100]
16/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Horror and Goth always seem to go hand in hand and that must be what Shadowplay-founder Bernd had in mind when he transformed Friday the 13th May into a minifestival.

The audience still needs to find its way to De Kreun in Kortrijk but as we always think “what’s not yet, can be later” we think we can sum up this evening musically in a very positive way.

First band Der Klinke opened for Covenant a few weeks ago and lots of have things happened since for the West-Flanders gothbunch. Not only was it the day that “Square Moon” officially got released but it is also Chesko and his mates can claim that the reactions are more than positive so far. Something tells us that this is due to the fact that Der Klinke are coming up with sounds you don’t hear that much these days.

It isn’t gothrock, it isn’t waverock, it’s just (well) Der Klinke and they know how to write a proper tune. It’s a very uplifting experience to see that this band grow with every gig.

It wasn’t just Der Klinke who were founded at the De Klinke youthclub.

Some time ago this place also provoked the resurrection of Mildreda and what we saw from these three musicians yesterday only made us hungry for more.

We saw founder Jan Dewulf, along with Gwenny and Mika (This Morn’ Omina) coming up with their darkest feelings. More than once we had the dark ambient acts in mind that once graced Cold Meat Industry. It also made us hope that it would make Jan concentrate on some more Mildreda in the future as the silence has lasted a bit too long, but we got some glorious thunder on Friday the 13th and it felt good.

Third act of the day was Spectra*Paris, the dark dancepop act from the most beautiful thing ever to come out of Italy. The whole world should know we're talking about Elena Fossi.

In an ideal world this woman should be crowned as the ultimate popqueen, as pop is simply what Spectra*Paris is all about.

Fed by a world of Bond and female superheroes the famous voice of Kirlian Camera is carried away on a carpet pop. Too Goth to be pop or just too poppy to be Goth? It’s a statement like any other but it’s also a statement to say that Spectra*Paris gave a performance that touched our imagination.

The final act was Sonar, the noiseproject from Dirk Ivens fronted by Eric Van Wonterghem (just like Absolute Body Control).

It’s quite impossible for me to catch the energy of Sonar’s music with words. Apart from the fact that Dirk and Eric are having the time of their life, they also succeed in elevating the public to a trance-like state where language is ruled by the power of machines.

You could say Sonar’s music is ultimate aggression but the power of the fist has been transformed in industrial beats.

Sublime, even if we doubt if this can be healthy for the mind…but what was that about Horror and Goth?

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


NL

Horror en goth zijn blijkbaar steeds goede vrienden geweest en dat vond ook Shadowplay-bezieler Bernd die van Vrijdag de 13e meteen een minifestivalletje maakte.

Blijkbaar moet de grote massa nog de weg naar De Kreun vinden, maar onder de noemer van “wat niet is, kan komen” was de eindbalans op muzikaal vlak er enkel één die zeer positief te noemen was.

Opener Der Klinke stond een paar weken geleden nog met Covenant op het podium en ondertussen lijkt er veel te verandert te zijn voor de West-Vlamingen. Niet alleen werd “Square Moon” die dag officieel op het publiek losgelaten maar kan Chesko en zijn maten toch met enige trots zeggen dat de reacties positief zijn, en dat zal veel te maken hebben doordat Der Klinke een groep is die een geluid neer weet te poten die je anno 2011 te weinig hoort.

Het is geen gothrock, het is geen waverock, het is (tja) Der Klinke en ze kunnen nog nummers schrijven ook en vooral zie je dat dit een groep is die optreden per optreden groeit.

Het was niet alleen Der Klinke die ontstond in het beruchte jeugdhuis De Klinke, ook de heropstanding van Mildreda ontstond ginder en wat deze drie gisteren bewezen, deed enkel smaken naar meer.

Samen met Gwenny en Mika (This Morn’ Omina) toonde bezieler Jan Dewulf met Mildreda het donkerste uit zichzelf en moest je aan meerdere dark ambient acts denken die ooit schoon weer maakten op Cold Meat Industry. Het deed je ook ergens hopen dat Jan zich meer zou concentreren op Mildreda want de stilte duurde net iets te lang maar vrijdag de 13e donderde het wel.

Derde op de affiche was Spectra*Paris, de donkere dancepop-act van Italië’s mooiste en ondertussen zou heel de wereld moeten weten dat dit Elena Fossi is.

In een ideale wereld zou Elena tot de ultieme popkoningin moeten gekroond worden want dat is nu net wat Spectra*Paris is.

De bekende Kirlian Camera-stem laat zich doorheen een wereld die gevoed wordt door Bond en allerlei stripheldinnen wegvoeren op een poptapijt. Te goth om pop te zijn of te pop om goth te zijn? Het is een stelling als een andere, maar het is eveneens een stelling om vast te stellen dat Spectra*Paris vrijdag een concert gaf dat tot de verbeelding (en weliswaar niet alleen de muzikale) sprak.

Afsluiten deden we met Sonar, het noiseproject van Dirk Ivens dat hij net als Absolute Body Control met Eric Van Wonterghem brengt. Hoe energievol Sonar’s muziek ook klinkt, blijft het moeilijk om het geluid van Sonar in woorden te vertalen want wat Eric en Dirk doen (naast een hoge dosis zelf-amusement) is het volk in een trance brengen waarbij het wordt meegevoerd naar een wereld waar de taal er één is van machines.

Sonar’s muziek zou je kunnen omschrijven als ultieme agressie, alleen zijn het vuistslagen die vertaald worden in industriële mokerslagen. Subliem, maar of het nu echt gezond is voor de geest...nu ja, horror en goth!

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)