tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/05/2011 : SPECTRA*PARIS - FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty

SPECTRA*PARIS

FRIDAY THE 13TH

KORTRIJK

DE KREUN

13/05/2011

When indus meets beauty

Concert


[3/100]
16/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Horror and Goth always seem to go hand in hand and that must be what Shadowplay-founder Bernd had in mind when he transformed Friday the 13th May into a minifestival.

The audience still needs to find its way to De Kreun in Kortrijk but as we always think “what’s not yet, can be later” we think we can sum up this evening musically in a very positive way.

First band Der Klinke opened for Covenant a few weeks ago and lots of have things happened since for the West-Flanders gothbunch. Not only was it the day that “Square Moon” officially got released but it is also Chesko and his mates can claim that the reactions are more than positive so far. Something tells us that this is due to the fact that Der Klinke are coming up with sounds you don’t hear that much these days.

It isn’t gothrock, it isn’t waverock, it’s just (well) Der Klinke and they know how to write a proper tune. It’s a very uplifting experience to see that this band grow with every gig.

It wasn’t just Der Klinke who were founded at the De Klinke youthclub.

Some time ago this place also provoked the resurrection of Mildreda and what we saw from these three musicians yesterday only made us hungry for more.

We saw founder Jan Dewulf, along with Gwenny and Mika (This Morn’ Omina) coming up with their darkest feelings. More than once we had the dark ambient acts in mind that once graced Cold Meat Industry. It also made us hope that it would make Jan concentrate on some more Mildreda in the future as the silence has lasted a bit too long, but we got some glorious thunder on Friday the 13th and it felt good.

Third act of the day was Spectra*Paris, the dark dancepop act from the most beautiful thing ever to come out of Italy. The whole world should know we're talking about Elena Fossi.

In an ideal world this woman should be crowned as the ultimate popqueen, as pop is simply what Spectra*Paris is all about.

Fed by a world of Bond and female superheroes the famous voice of Kirlian Camera is carried away on a carpet pop. Too Goth to be pop or just too poppy to be Goth? It’s a statement like any other but it’s also a statement to say that Spectra*Paris gave a performance that touched our imagination.

The final act was Sonar, the noiseproject from Dirk Ivens fronted by Eric Van Wonterghem (just like Absolute Body Control).

It’s quite impossible for me to catch the energy of Sonar’s music with words. Apart from the fact that Dirk and Eric are having the time of their life, they also succeed in elevating the public to a trance-like state where language is ruled by the power of machines.

You could say Sonar’s music is ultimate aggression but the power of the fist has been transformed in industrial beats.

Sublime, even if we doubt if this can be healthy for the mind…but what was that about Horror and Goth?

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


NL

Horror en goth zijn blijkbaar steeds goede vrienden geweest en dat vond ook Shadowplay-bezieler Bernd die van Vrijdag de 13e meteen een minifestivalletje maakte.

Blijkbaar moet de grote massa nog de weg naar De Kreun vinden, maar onder de noemer van “wat niet is, kan komen” was de eindbalans op muzikaal vlak er enkel één die zeer positief te noemen was.

Opener Der Klinke stond een paar weken geleden nog met Covenant op het podium en ondertussen lijkt er veel te verandert te zijn voor de West-Vlamingen. Niet alleen werd “Square Moon” die dag officieel op het publiek losgelaten maar kan Chesko en zijn maten toch met enige trots zeggen dat de reacties positief zijn, en dat zal veel te maken hebben doordat Der Klinke een groep is die een geluid neer weet te poten die je anno 2011 te weinig hoort.

Het is geen gothrock, het is geen waverock, het is (tja) Der Klinke en ze kunnen nog nummers schrijven ook en vooral zie je dat dit een groep is die optreden per optreden groeit.

Het was niet alleen Der Klinke die ontstond in het beruchte jeugdhuis De Klinke, ook de heropstanding van Mildreda ontstond ginder en wat deze drie gisteren bewezen, deed enkel smaken naar meer.

Samen met Gwenny en Mika (This Morn’ Omina) toonde bezieler Jan Dewulf met Mildreda het donkerste uit zichzelf en moest je aan meerdere dark ambient acts denken die ooit schoon weer maakten op Cold Meat Industry. Het deed je ook ergens hopen dat Jan zich meer zou concentreren op Mildreda want de stilte duurde net iets te lang maar vrijdag de 13e donderde het wel.

Derde op de affiche was Spectra*Paris, de donkere dancepop-act van Italië’s mooiste en ondertussen zou heel de wereld moeten weten dat dit Elena Fossi is.

In een ideale wereld zou Elena tot de ultieme popkoningin moeten gekroond worden want dat is nu net wat Spectra*Paris is.

De bekende Kirlian Camera-stem laat zich doorheen een wereld die gevoed wordt door Bond en allerlei stripheldinnen wegvoeren op een poptapijt. Te goth om pop te zijn of te pop om goth te zijn? Het is een stelling als een andere, maar het is eveneens een stelling om vast te stellen dat Spectra*Paris vrijdag een concert gaf dat tot de verbeelding (en weliswaar niet alleen de muzikale) sprak.

Afsluiten deden we met Sonar, het noiseproject van Dirk Ivens dat hij net als Absolute Body Control met Eric Van Wonterghem brengt. Hoe energievol Sonar’s muziek ook klinkt, blijft het moeilijk om het geluid van Sonar in woorden te vertalen want wat Eric en Dirk doen (naast een hoge dosis zelf-amusement) is het volk in een trance brengen waarbij het wordt meegevoerd naar een wereld waar de taal er één is van machines.

Sonar’s muziek zou je kunnen omschrijven als ultieme agressie, alleen zijn het vuistslagen die vertaald worden in industriële mokerslagen. Subliem, maar of het nu echt gezond is voor de geest...nu ja, horror en goth!

Didier BECU
16/05/2011


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September
06
09
BIMFEST celebrates 20th edition with smashing line-up featuring Front 242 & Test Department!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

07
09
PETER HEPPNER
Christuskirche Bochum
28
08
HEAVEN 17
W-fest Oostende
28
08
BRAINQUAKE
Sewerfest @ De Wommel
28
08
EUFORIC EXISTANCE
Sewerfest @ De Wommel
28
08
RABBITS WEAR BOOTS
Sewerfest @ De Wommel
28
08
BOILR
Sewerfest @ De Wommel
28
08
ABC
W-fest Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm