tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora

SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS

Meteora

Movie
Arthouse

[76/100]   

Homescreen
18/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Spiros Stathoulopoulos is indeed the kind of name that is impossible to remember. But mind you, who knows you will one day, as he’s the creator from one of the most remarkable arthouseproductions we saw last months. If you search for Meteora on the web, you’ll discover that this is a Greek name for a convent that’s been built on a rock. There are still 6 of them and they’re all standing in Thessalia. Even if we never get to know in which period this story takes place, it’s all happening in such a building. Those who’ll enter these convents automatically are aware of the fact that they won’t see much of the rest of the world afterwards.
 

That’s the case with the monk Theodorus (Theo Alexander, famous from True Blood) and the Russian nun Urania (Tamila Koulieva). Men and women are separated. They see each other on very rare occasions, and if they do, the impossible happens: the monk falls in love with the nun. Of course they also made a vow to God. It looks indeed like the ideal script for a Hollywood-production, but as expected Spiros Stathoulopoulos makes it something total different. This method doesn’t make it any easier for the viewer, but he awaits a cinematographic orgasm that makes it all worthwhile.


Just like a master has to do, Spiros Stathoulopoulos never judges. He doesn’t even tell us if the lovers will choose for their lusts or not. The director uses great animation techniques that are based upon icons from Byzantium and that are dealing about the same theme. Of course not everyone will like Meteora, that’s for sure! Some will probably never make it till the end or will consider the symbolic beauty as dull.

Meteora is daring, touching, but especially a proof that Greek cinema is getting back on the map.

The movie is now out on DVD on Homescreen.

Didier BECU
18/03/2014

)

NL

De man met de bijna onmogelijk te onthouden naam Spiros Stathoulopoulos is de maker van één van de mooiste arthouseproducties die we de laatste maanden hebben gezien. Als je Meteora op het web zoekt, zul je zien dat dit kloosters zijn die op een rots zijn gebouwd. In de wereld vind je er nog zes en die staan allen in het Griekse Thessalië en zijn sinds 1988 in de Werelderfgoedlijst opgenomen. Alhoewel we nooit te weten komen in welke periode, speelt dit verhaal zich in zo’n gebouw af. Wie zo’n oord betreedt, weet dat hij nadien niet veel meer van de bewoonde wereld zal zien. Zelfs het voedsel (en de aanvoer van nieuwe nonnen!) moet met behulp van takels naar boven worden gebracht.


In zo’n klooster zitten ook de monnik Theodorus (Theo Alexander, bekend uit True Blood) en de Russische non Urania (Tamila Koulieva). De mannen en vrouwen zitten er gescheiden. Ze zien elkaar zeer zelden. Als dat toch het geval is, gebeurt het onwaarschijnlijke: de monnik wordt verliefd op een non. En tja, natuurlijk bestaat er nog zoiets als de gelofte van kuisheid.


Ideaal voer dus om er een hollywoodiaans melodrama van te maken, toch tapt Spiros Stathoulopoulos uit een heel ander vaatje. Dat vergemakkelijkt geenszins de opdracht van de kijker om dit complexe verhaal te doorgronden, maar daar staat evenwel een grote cinematografische meerwaarde tegenover.


Zoals het een grootmeester beaamt velt Spiros Stathoulopoulos geen oordeel. Hij laat het zelfs na om ons te verklappen of de twee geliefden zullen toegeven aan hun lusten of niet, wel roept hij via schitterende animatietechnieken die zijn gebaseerd op Byzantijnse iconen beelden op die hetzelfde thema belichten. Meteora is natuurlijk niet spek voor ieders bek. Heel wat mensen zullen waarschijnlijk afhaken en de symbolische pracht zelfs wat langdradig vinden. Het vergt inderdaad wat inspanningen, maar wie daartoe bereid is zal een klein anderhalf uur kunnen genieten van een mysterieus filmorgasme.


Meteora is gewaagd, origineel, ontroerend, maar vooral een bewijs dat de Griekse cinema meer dan ooit levend is. Waar een crisis al niet goed voor kan zijn, niet waar? Je kan Meteora nu op dvd ontdekken, de film is uitgebracht op Homescreen.

Didier BECU
18/03/2014

)

18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora 18/03/2014 : SPIROS STATHOULOPOULUS - Meteora

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain