tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/10/2011 : SPLINN - Becoming Ourselves

SPLINN

Becoming Ourselves

MusicCD
IndieMetalPop

[30/100]   

M & O Music
17/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

Splinn was formed in 2007 by Ben (drummer) and Laurent (guitar/vocals) and after recorded their first demo, bass player Romain join the band. They entered a French live contest called Fallenfest, reached the final and got the chance to play in some venues in Paris. In the meantime they recorded their debut EP and got some airplay at local radio channels.

Their music can be described as something between nu-metal, post rock and indie rock. Laurent's vocals sound a bit like Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) or Maynard James Keenan (Tool). Certainly not as good but they do need to find their own style as it's surprising how he sounds the same over and over again. The music itself is also very bland and only seems to touch one dimension while there are so many possibilities. They seem to play it very safe to say the least, meaning that every song is radio friendly but doesn't indie mean you want to be independant?

Stranger and especially 26 are very sensitive songs with a heap of strings, if Snow Patrol would be a nu-metal band they would sound like this. I can't imagine anyone wanting to hear such a version of Snow Patrol however. Nor hearing them alltogether, yuck! Think of uninspired bands like Sum41 and all that junk from ten years ago, dated then and even more dated now. I mean, you can dislike grunge but you have to give it to bands like Nirvana and RATM that they were AGAINST something. Think about it, exactly how long ago has it been since you heard a protest song on the air? I don't hear 'em anymore...

So the most important things Splinn are missing here are some sharp teeth, the will to really make their own way and a rebellious character. When they manage to gain or achieve all that, they might raise a few eyebrows. But for now it's a pretty boring and one sided album, made without any idea of what they actually wanted to achieve.

Chris KONINGS
17/10/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland