tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
16/08/2015, Didier BECU

From 1990 (that’s 25 years ago!) Stefan Schäfer has been creating EBM with his band Prager Handgriff, that changed the world. His band will be featured on the Dark X-mas Show in Waregem on the 26th December. We asked Stefan which 10 albums changed his life…

1. Depeche Mode – Speak & Spell
My first Album ever. My mother bought it for me after a painful operation when I was a child. Not the best DM album of course, but maybe my intro in electronic music.

2. Simple Minds – New Gold Dream
This record from 1982 is one of the best produced albums ever. This was how pop music should sound in the Eighties, and one of the first records I bought with my own money. I also loved the older albums of Simple Minds from their more new wave phase, but this one is epic!

3. Joy Division – Still
This compilation of a great band, influenced me very much. It contains a lot of tracks Volker and me played in our first band "большой голод" or „bol'shoy golod" (big hunger) at school, for example “Means to an End” and “walk the Line”. Still love those. Their music, and later the music of New Order, accompanied me my whole life in lovely, but also in really bad situations.

4. Shock Therapy –Shock Therapy
One of my absolute favourites when I was a “teenager”. This record from 1985 contains their great hit “Hate is a 4-letter Word" and “Can I do What I Want”, followed by another great record “My Ushakable Belief”. I saw them 4-5 times live and it was always a happening, depending on Itchies mood. So sad what happened to him later. Maybe a genius but definitely one of the most "underrated" musicians.

5. Clan of Xymox – Twist of Shadows
A more “pop” album of Clan of Xymox from 1989 but full of totally beautiful melodies. Contains the hymn “Evelyn” and this was a long, long period of time in a “heavy rotation modus” on my record player when I was Young.

6. Paradise Lost – One Second
Now we will do a big jump from my childhood to the later nineties. This was my first contact with a band from the metal sene even if this album is more a metal pop album. Full of fantastic hymns, great melodies and with a unbelievable force. A must in every good record collection.

7. Enya – A Day Without Rain
I discovered this record in 2000 and I loved this easy listening style full of beautiful melodies. I listened to this record more than half a year until it became famous as background music for the dreadful pictures of9/11. Therefore, I cannot listen to it anymore without these pics in my head. What a pity.

8. VNV Nation - Matter and Form
I bought this record the day before a flew with my wife to the Maledivian Islands for the holidays. This really nice record accompanied us the whole journey and still helps me today to remember this beautiful area and our great time there. This is what music can do: produce good feelings!

9. White Lies – Big TV
Now to the actual stuff. One of my two favourite bands today. Their albums are all great and this is the latest one. They perfectly adapt the early eighties new wave style in the sound of today. Never heard a better hymn like “There Goes a Love Again” If you love music – this is a must!

10. Editors – The weight of your love
Same applies to this great band. Tom Smith is definitely the best voice in alternative music today. What a charismatic appearance on stage and one of the best live bands I ever saw. This is actualy my favorite record, but their new album will be released in October, I guess. I expect a lot from it. Maybe you missed more EBM style records - but that is how it is :-)

Didier BECU
16/08/2015


16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad