tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
16/08/2015, Didier BECU

From 1990 (that’s 25 years ago!) Stefan Schäfer has been creating EBM with his band Prager Handgriff, that changed the world. His band will be featured on the Dark X-mas Show in Waregem on the 26th December. We asked Stefan which 10 albums changed his life…

1. Depeche Mode – Speak & Spell
My first Album ever. My mother bought it for me after a painful operation when I was a child. Not the best DM album of course, but maybe my intro in electronic music.

2. Simple Minds – New Gold Dream
This record from 1982 is one of the best produced albums ever. This was how pop music should sound in the Eighties, and one of the first records I bought with my own money. I also loved the older albums of Simple Minds from their more new wave phase, but this one is epic!

3. Joy Division – Still
This compilation of a great band, influenced me very much. It contains a lot of tracks Volker and me played in our first band "большой голод" or „bol'shoy golod" (big hunger) at school, for example “Means to an End” and “walk the Line”. Still love those. Their music, and later the music of New Order, accompanied me my whole life in lovely, but also in really bad situations.

4. Shock Therapy –Shock Therapy
One of my absolute favourites when I was a “teenager”. This record from 1985 contains their great hit “Hate is a 4-letter Word" and “Can I do What I Want”, followed by another great record “My Ushakable Belief”. I saw them 4-5 times live and it was always a happening, depending on Itchies mood. So sad what happened to him later. Maybe a genius but definitely one of the most "underrated" musicians.

5. Clan of Xymox – Twist of Shadows
A more “pop” album of Clan of Xymox from 1989 but full of totally beautiful melodies. Contains the hymn “Evelyn” and this was a long, long period of time in a “heavy rotation modus” on my record player when I was Young.

6. Paradise Lost – One Second
Now we will do a big jump from my childhood to the later nineties. This was my first contact with a band from the metal sene even if this album is more a metal pop album. Full of fantastic hymns, great melodies and with a unbelievable force. A must in every good record collection.

7. Enya – A Day Without Rain
I discovered this record in 2000 and I loved this easy listening style full of beautiful melodies. I listened to this record more than half a year until it became famous as background music for the dreadful pictures of9/11. Therefore, I cannot listen to it anymore without these pics in my head. What a pity.

8. VNV Nation - Matter and Form
I bought this record the day before a flew with my wife to the Maledivian Islands for the holidays. This really nice record accompanied us the whole journey and still helps me today to remember this beautiful area and our great time there. This is what music can do: produce good feelings!

9. White Lies – Big TV
Now to the actual stuff. One of my two favourite bands today. Their albums are all great and this is the latest one. They perfectly adapt the early eighties new wave style in the sound of today. Never heard a better hymn like “There Goes a Love Again” If you love music – this is a must!

10. Editors – The weight of your love
Same applies to this great band. Tom Smith is definitely the best voice in alternative music today. What a charismatic appearance on stage and one of the best live bands I ever saw. This is actualy my favorite record, but their new album will be released in October, I guess. I expect a lot from it. Maybe you missed more EBM style records - but that is how it is :-)

Didier BECU
16/08/2015


16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque