tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
16/08/2015, Didier BECU

From 1990 (that’s 25 years ago!) Stefan Schäfer has been creating EBM with his band Prager Handgriff, that changed the world. His band will be featured on the Dark X-mas Show in Waregem on the 26th December. We asked Stefan which 10 albums changed his life…

1. Depeche Mode – Speak & Spell
My first Album ever. My mother bought it for me after a painful operation when I was a child. Not the best DM album of course, but maybe my intro in electronic music.

2. Simple Minds – New Gold Dream
This record from 1982 is one of the best produced albums ever. This was how pop music should sound in the Eighties, and one of the first records I bought with my own money. I also loved the older albums of Simple Minds from their more new wave phase, but this one is epic!

3. Joy Division – Still
This compilation of a great band, influenced me very much. It contains a lot of tracks Volker and me played in our first band "большой голод" or „bol'shoy golod" (big hunger) at school, for example “Means to an End” and “walk the Line”. Still love those. Their music, and later the music of New Order, accompanied me my whole life in lovely, but also in really bad situations.

4. Shock Therapy –Shock Therapy
One of my absolute favourites when I was a “teenager”. This record from 1985 contains their great hit “Hate is a 4-letter Word" and “Can I do What I Want”, followed by another great record “My Ushakable Belief”. I saw them 4-5 times live and it was always a happening, depending on Itchies mood. So sad what happened to him later. Maybe a genius but definitely one of the most "underrated" musicians.

5. Clan of Xymox – Twist of Shadows
A more “pop” album of Clan of Xymox from 1989 but full of totally beautiful melodies. Contains the hymn “Evelyn” and this was a long, long period of time in a “heavy rotation modus” on my record player when I was Young.

6. Paradise Lost – One Second
Now we will do a big jump from my childhood to the later nineties. This was my first contact with a band from the metal sene even if this album is more a metal pop album. Full of fantastic hymns, great melodies and with a unbelievable force. A must in every good record collection.

7. Enya – A Day Without Rain
I discovered this record in 2000 and I loved this easy listening style full of beautiful melodies. I listened to this record more than half a year until it became famous as background music for the dreadful pictures of9/11. Therefore, I cannot listen to it anymore without these pics in my head. What a pity.

8. VNV Nation - Matter and Form
I bought this record the day before a flew with my wife to the Maledivian Islands for the holidays. This really nice record accompanied us the whole journey and still helps me today to remember this beautiful area and our great time there. This is what music can do: produce good feelings!

9. White Lies – Big TV
Now to the actual stuff. One of my two favourite bands today. Their albums are all great and this is the latest one. They perfectly adapt the early eighties new wave style in the sound of today. Never heard a better hymn like “There Goes a Love Again” If you love music – this is a must!

10. Editors – The weight of your love
Same applies to this great band. Tom Smith is definitely the best voice in alternative music today. What a charismatic appearance on stage and one of the best live bands I ever saw. This is actualy my favorite record, but their new album will be released in October, I guess. I expect a lot from it. Maybe you missed more EBM style records - but that is how it is :-)

Didier BECU
16/08/2015


16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures