tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
16/08/2015, Didier BECU

From 1990 (that’s 25 years ago!) Stefan Schäfer has been creating EBM with his band Prager Handgriff, that changed the world. His band will be featured on the Dark X-mas Show in Waregem on the 26th December. We asked Stefan which 10 albums changed his life…

1. Depeche Mode – Speak & Spell
My first Album ever. My mother bought it for me after a painful operation when I was a child. Not the best DM album of course, but maybe my intro in electronic music.

2. Simple Minds – New Gold Dream
This record from 1982 is one of the best produced albums ever. This was how pop music should sound in the Eighties, and one of the first records I bought with my own money. I also loved the older albums of Simple Minds from their more new wave phase, but this one is epic!

3. Joy Division – Still
This compilation of a great band, influenced me very much. It contains a lot of tracks Volker and me played in our first band "большой голод" or „bol'shoy golod" (big hunger) at school, for example “Means to an End” and “walk the Line”. Still love those. Their music, and later the music of New Order, accompanied me my whole life in lovely, but also in really bad situations.

4. Shock Therapy –Shock Therapy
One of my absolute favourites when I was a “teenager”. This record from 1985 contains their great hit “Hate is a 4-letter Word" and “Can I do What I Want”, followed by another great record “My Ushakable Belief”. I saw them 4-5 times live and it was always a happening, depending on Itchies mood. So sad what happened to him later. Maybe a genius but definitely one of the most "underrated" musicians.

5. Clan of Xymox – Twist of Shadows
A more “pop” album of Clan of Xymox from 1989 but full of totally beautiful melodies. Contains the hymn “Evelyn” and this was a long, long period of time in a “heavy rotation modus” on my record player when I was Young.

6. Paradise Lost – One Second
Now we will do a big jump from my childhood to the later nineties. This was my first contact with a band from the metal sene even if this album is more a metal pop album. Full of fantastic hymns, great melodies and with a unbelievable force. A must in every good record collection.

7. Enya – A Day Without Rain
I discovered this record in 2000 and I loved this easy listening style full of beautiful melodies. I listened to this record more than half a year until it became famous as background music for the dreadful pictures of9/11. Therefore, I cannot listen to it anymore without these pics in my head. What a pity.

8. VNV Nation - Matter and Form
I bought this record the day before a flew with my wife to the Maledivian Islands for the holidays. This really nice record accompanied us the whole journey and still helps me today to remember this beautiful area and our great time there. This is what music can do: produce good feelings!

9. White Lies – Big TV
Now to the actual stuff. One of my two favourite bands today. Their albums are all great and this is the latest one. They perfectly adapt the early eighties new wave style in the sound of today. Never heard a better hymn like “There Goes a Love Again” If you love music – this is a must!

10. Editors – The weight of your love
Same applies to this great band. Tom Smith is definitely the best voice in alternative music today. What a charismatic appearance on stage and one of the best live bands I ever saw. This is actualy my favorite record, but their new album will be released in October, I guess. I expect a lot from it. Maybe you missed more EBM style records - but that is how it is :-)

Didier BECU
16/08/2015


16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 16/08/2015 : STEFAN SCHAFER (PRAGER HANDGRIFF) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love