tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's

STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL

Bro's Before Ho's

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

A-Film
09/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some readers will definitely shiver and shake when they hear the names of Steffen Haars and Flip van der Kuil. In Holland they smashed down all records by making, what some define as vulgar humour. Their New Kids-movies can be best compared with say Superbad. Some people reject the idea that the youth of today is addicted to that type of stuff, but they often forget that everybody used to be young once. In their newest offering Bro’s Before Ho’s the two went a bit further by making a romcom added with dirty humour! Yes indeed, something like This Is 40. In a cinematographic way, the movie fails at all fronts, but the essence is: this is damned funny!


Max (Tim Haars) and Jules (Daniël Arends) are brothers. From the days they were kids, they were warned by their father (Ton Kas) who said that it is dangerous to give yourself to a female heart. According to him, all women are whores. The two take this advice quite literally as they decided to stay for the rest of their days alone. No woman will command them! And yet, they both can use some good discipline. Max works in a videostore in where no one comes and Jules’ job as superstore manager isn't a guarantee for a save future either. In their free time the two young men only care about blowing and getting chicks in their bed. Everything changes when the beautiful Anna (Sylvia Hoeks) comes along as both Max and Jules are falling in love. But Anna chooses Jules....


Without having seen the film, you already can imagine that Bro’s Before Ho’s (what an impossible title to remember!) is all about wrong humour. You definitely will meet enough people who think such type of movies should be banned. But, so what? What is right and what is wrong? This is just made to have a good time and if it's not your cup of tea, just pass it on! Nah, don't seek any meaning in here. Burlesque humour, and if that's your standard to judge a movie, then we can only conclude that Steffen Haars and Flip van der Kuil made once again their goal.


Bro’s Before Ho’s is out on A-Film, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/04/2014


NL

Sommige mensen zullen ongetwijfeld bibberen als ze de namen van Steffen Haars en Flip van der Kuil horen. Dat zijn immers de twee die met de New Kids in Nederland alle records verpulverden, of voor de kenners : het duo dat Maaskantje op stelten heeft gezet. Toegegeven, het heeft een ander educatief effect dan pakweg Mary Poppins. Maar toch? Keken ook wij niet vol enthousiasme naar de belevenissen van de familie Flodder? Met Bro’s Before Ho’s (onmogelijke titel om te onthouden!) waagden de twee zich aan een romcom die voorzien is van de nodige poep- en pieshumor. Het resultaat? Cinematografisch niet om aan te zien, maar wel ontzettend grappig!


Max (Tim Haars) en Jules (Daniël Arends) zijn broers. Vanaf hun jeugd was de raad van vader (Ton Kas) duidelijk: "Alle vrouwen zijn kuthoeren.” De twee broers nemen deze wijze woorden zeer letterlijk, want ze hebben gezworen om heel hun leven alleen te blijven. Geen vrouw die hun onder de sloef zal krijgen! Nochtans kunnen deze twee nietsnutten best wat discipline gebruiken. Max is een verkoper in een videotheek waar geen kat komt, en ook het baantje van Jules als supermarktchef biedt maar weinig soelaas voor een stevige toekomst. In hun vrije tijd houden de kerels zich bezig met wat hun vriendjes van Maaskantje het liefst doen: blowen en chicks in bed krijgen. De knappe Anna (Sylvia Hoeks) komt wel roet in het eten gooien, zowel Max als Jules worden verliefd op de gehandicaptenbegeleidster. Alleen kiest Anna voor Jules....


Zonder dat je de film hebt gezien, kun je tussen de regels lezen dat het om behoorlijk foute humor gaat. Het soort grollen dat moraalridders zonder pardon zullen veroordelen, maar de waarheid is evenwel dat het allemaal hilarisch is. De makers proberen er wel een romantisch tintje aan te geven, maar iedereen weet waarom hij Bro’s Before Ho’s in de lader schuift. Om te gieren en te brullen dus, en als dat de maatstaf is dan zijn Steffen Haars en Flip van der Kuil wederom in hun opzet geslaagd.


Bro’s Before Ho’s is uitgebracht op A-Film, en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/04/2014


09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

04
12
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme