tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's

STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL

Bro's Before Ho's

Movie
Comedy

[60/100]   

A-Film
09/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some readers will definitely shiver and shake when they hear the names of Steffen Haars and Flip van der Kuil. In Holland they smashed down all records by making, what some define as vulgar humour. Their New Kids-movies can be best compared with say Superbad. Some people reject the idea that the youth of today is addicted to that type of stuff, but they often forget that everybody used to be young once. In their newest offering Bro’s Before Ho’s the two went a bit further by making a romcom added with dirty humour! Yes indeed, something like This Is 40. In a cinematographic way, the movie fails at all fronts, but the essence is: this is damned funny!


Max (Tim Haars) and Jules (Daniël Arends) are brothers. From the days they were kids, they were warned by their father (Ton Kas) who said that it is dangerous to give yourself to a female heart. According to him, all women are whores. The two take this advice quite literally as they decided to stay for the rest of their days alone. No woman will command them! And yet, they both can use some good discipline. Max works in a videostore in where no one comes and Jules’ job as superstore manager isn't a guarantee for a save future either. In their free time the two young men only care about blowing and getting chicks in their bed. Everything changes when the beautiful Anna (Sylvia Hoeks) comes along as both Max and Jules are falling in love. But Anna chooses Jules....


Without having seen the film, you already can imagine that Bro’s Before Ho’s (what an impossible title to remember!) is all about wrong humour. You definitely will meet enough people who think such type of movies should be banned. But, so what? What is right and what is wrong? This is just made to have a good time and if it's not your cup of tea, just pass it on! Nah, don't seek any meaning in here. Burlesque humour, and if that's your standard to judge a movie, then we can only conclude that Steffen Haars and Flip van der Kuil made once again their goal.


Bro’s Before Ho’s is out on A-Film, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/04/2014


NL

Sommige mensen zullen ongetwijfeld bibberen als ze de namen van Steffen Haars en Flip van der Kuil horen. Dat zijn immers de twee die met de New Kids in Nederland alle records verpulverden, of voor de kenners : het duo dat Maaskantje op stelten heeft gezet. Toegegeven, het heeft een ander educatief effect dan pakweg Mary Poppins. Maar toch? Keken ook wij niet vol enthousiasme naar de belevenissen van de familie Flodder? Met Bro’s Before Ho’s (onmogelijke titel om te onthouden!) waagden de twee zich aan een romcom die voorzien is van de nodige poep- en pieshumor. Het resultaat? Cinematografisch niet om aan te zien, maar wel ontzettend grappig!


Max (Tim Haars) en Jules (Daniël Arends) zijn broers. Vanaf hun jeugd was de raad van vader (Ton Kas) duidelijk: "Alle vrouwen zijn kuthoeren.” De twee broers nemen deze wijze woorden zeer letterlijk, want ze hebben gezworen om heel hun leven alleen te blijven. Geen vrouw die hun onder de sloef zal krijgen! Nochtans kunnen deze twee nietsnutten best wat discipline gebruiken. Max is een verkoper in een videotheek waar geen kat komt, en ook het baantje van Jules als supermarktchef biedt maar weinig soelaas voor een stevige toekomst. In hun vrije tijd houden de kerels zich bezig met wat hun vriendjes van Maaskantje het liefst doen: blowen en chicks in bed krijgen. De knappe Anna (Sylvia Hoeks) komt wel roet in het eten gooien, zowel Max als Jules worden verliefd op de gehandicaptenbegeleidster. Alleen kiest Anna voor Jules....


Zonder dat je de film hebt gezien, kun je tussen de regels lezen dat het om behoorlijk foute humor gaat. Het soort grollen dat moraalridders zonder pardon zullen veroordelen, maar de waarheid is evenwel dat het allemaal hilarisch is. De makers proberen er wel een romantisch tintje aan te geven, maar iedereen weet waarom hij Bro’s Before Ho’s in de lader schuift. Om te gieren en te brullen dus, en als dat de maatstaf is dan zijn Steffen Haars en Flip van der Kuil wederom in hun opzet geslaagd.


Bro’s Before Ho’s is uitgebracht op A-Film, en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/04/2014


09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's 09/04/2014 : STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL - Bro's Before Ho's

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls