tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash

STEPHEN DALDRY

Trash

Movie
Drama

[63/100]   

Universal Pictures
31/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of the worst films I have ever seen, but because Stephen Daldry also directed Billy Elliot, I was willing to give Trash a chance (a man must do something). It is a title that was announced by Universal with pride (it would be their Slumdog Millionaire), but at the end of the day it did not even reach the Flemish theatres. Just as in the 09/11-vehicle with Tom Hanks, the British director chose to work with young people, this time it is all set in the suburbs of Brazil.

Do not expect explosive world cinema, because screenwriter Richard Curtis (responsible for the Hugh Grant-monstrosity Love Actually) opted for a Hollywood approach, and so the Brazilian slums seem mainly used as decors. Topics such as corruption are mentioned, but Trash feels more like, say, The Goonies instead of Cidade De Deus. The film lacks a lot of potential, but anyone who can close his eyes for this missed opportunity, will actually enjoy it.

Raphael (Rickson Tevez) and Gardo (Eduardo Luis) are two friends. They work on the garbage dump of Rio De Janeiro. There they find a wallet with money and a key. They are happy with the find, but they do not know that the content of the wallet is important for the corrupt politicians of the country. Frederico (Selton Mello) searches all the garbage dumps of Rio. The two guys get the visit of the brutal agent and the poor Gardo is just a little too talkative. The two realize that they are in danger and seek solace by a priest (Martin Sheen).

Occasionally Stephen Daldry dares to show the dark side of Brazil, but there are just too many clichés in Trash. If you can look beyond the stereotypical approach, then Trash is an enjoyable adventure film, in which friendship plays an important role. We are getting close to The Goonies, not?

Trash is now on DVD and Blu-ray via Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


NL

Wellicht moet Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close één van de slechtste films zijn die ik ooit heb gezien, maar omdat Stephen Daldry ook Billy Elliot regisseerde, was ik toch bereid (een mens moet iets doen) om Trash een kans te gunnen. Het is een titel die door Universal met de nodige poeha is aangekondigd (het zou hun Slumdog Millionaire worden), maar uiteindelijke raakte de productie niet eens in de Vlaamse zalen. Net zoals in het 09/11-vehikel met Tom Hanks, koos de Britse regisseur ervoor om met jongeren samen te werken, deze keer speelt alles zich af in de buitenwijken van Brazilië.

Verwacht echter geen explosieve wereldcinema, want scenarioschrijver Richard Curtis (verantwoordelijk voor het Hugh Grant-gedrocht Love Actually) koos voor een Hollywoodiaanse aanpak waardoor de Braziliaanse sloppenwijk eerder decors lijken. Topics zoals de corruptie in Brazilië worden wel aangekaart, maar eigenlijk lijkt Trash meer op The Goonies dan op pakweg Cidade De Deus. De film mist daardoor weliswaar heel wat potentie, maar wie zijn ogen voor deze gemiste kans kan sluiten, houdt alsnog een leuk niemendalletje over.

Raphael (Rickson Tevez) en Gardo (Eduardo Luis) zijn twee vrienden die op de vuilnisbelt van Rio De Janeiro werken. De twee kerels vinden een portemonnee waarin niet alleen geld zit, maar ook een sleutel. Ze prijzen zich gelukkig met de vondst, maar weten niet dat de inhoud van de portemonnee belangrijk is voor de corrupte politici van het land. Frederico (Selton Mello) laat alle vuilnisbelten van Rio doorzoeken. Ook de twee jongens krijgen de brutale agent op bezoek, en de arme Gardo is net iets te loslippig. De twee beseffen dat ze gevaar lopen en zoeken soelaas bij een priester (Martin Sheen).

Af en toe durft Stephen Daldry het wel aan om de donkere kant van Brazilië te tonen, maar wie op zoek gaat naar moraliserende wereldcinema met een boodschap, zal in Trash op net iets te veel clichés botsen. Als je over de stereotiepe benadering heen kan kijken, dan is Trash een aangename avonturenfilm waarin vriendschap een belangrijke rol speelt en zo komen we weer wat dichter bij The Goonies, niet?

Trash is vanaf nu op dvd en Blu-ray uit via Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number