tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash

STEPHEN DALDRY

Trash

Movie
Drama

[63/100]   

Universal Pictures
31/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of the worst films I have ever seen, but because Stephen Daldry also directed Billy Elliot, I was willing to give Trash a chance (a man must do something). It is a title that was announced by Universal with pride (it would be their Slumdog Millionaire), but at the end of the day it did not even reach the Flemish theatres. Just as in the 09/11-vehicle with Tom Hanks, the British director chose to work with young people, this time it is all set in the suburbs of Brazil.

Do not expect explosive world cinema, because screenwriter Richard Curtis (responsible for the Hugh Grant-monstrosity Love Actually) opted for a Hollywood approach, and so the Brazilian slums seem mainly used as decors. Topics such as corruption are mentioned, but Trash feels more like, say, The Goonies instead of Cidade De Deus. The film lacks a lot of potential, but anyone who can close his eyes for this missed opportunity, will actually enjoy it.

Raphael (Rickson Tevez) and Gardo (Eduardo Luis) are two friends. They work on the garbage dump of Rio De Janeiro. There they find a wallet with money and a key. They are happy with the find, but they do not know that the content of the wallet is important for the corrupt politicians of the country. Frederico (Selton Mello) searches all the garbage dumps of Rio. The two guys get the visit of the brutal agent and the poor Gardo is just a little too talkative. The two realize that they are in danger and seek solace by a priest (Martin Sheen).

Occasionally Stephen Daldry dares to show the dark side of Brazil, but there are just too many clichés in Trash. If you can look beyond the stereotypical approach, then Trash is an enjoyable adventure film, in which friendship plays an important role. We are getting close to The Goonies, not?

Trash is now on DVD and Blu-ray via Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


NL

Wellicht moet Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close één van de slechtste films zijn die ik ooit heb gezien, maar omdat Stephen Daldry ook Billy Elliot regisseerde, was ik toch bereid (een mens moet iets doen) om Trash een kans te gunnen. Het is een titel die door Universal met de nodige poeha is aangekondigd (het zou hun Slumdog Millionaire worden), maar uiteindelijke raakte de productie niet eens in de Vlaamse zalen. Net zoals in het 09/11-vehikel met Tom Hanks, koos de Britse regisseur ervoor om met jongeren samen te werken, deze keer speelt alles zich af in de buitenwijken van Brazilië.

Verwacht echter geen explosieve wereldcinema, want scenarioschrijver Richard Curtis (verantwoordelijk voor het Hugh Grant-gedrocht Love Actually) koos voor een Hollywoodiaanse aanpak waardoor de Braziliaanse sloppenwijk eerder decors lijken. Topics zoals de corruptie in Brazilië worden wel aangekaart, maar eigenlijk lijkt Trash meer op The Goonies dan op pakweg Cidade De Deus. De film mist daardoor weliswaar heel wat potentie, maar wie zijn ogen voor deze gemiste kans kan sluiten, houdt alsnog een leuk niemendalletje over.

Raphael (Rickson Tevez) en Gardo (Eduardo Luis) zijn twee vrienden die op de vuilnisbelt van Rio De Janeiro werken. De twee kerels vinden een portemonnee waarin niet alleen geld zit, maar ook een sleutel. Ze prijzen zich gelukkig met de vondst, maar weten niet dat de inhoud van de portemonnee belangrijk is voor de corrupte politici van het land. Frederico (Selton Mello) laat alle vuilnisbelten van Rio doorzoeken. Ook de twee jongens krijgen de brutale agent op bezoek, en de arme Gardo is net iets te loslippig. De twee beseffen dat ze gevaar lopen en zoeken soelaas bij een priester (Martin Sheen).

Af en toe durft Stephen Daldry het wel aan om de donkere kant van Brazilië te tonen, maar wie op zoek gaat naar moraliserende wereldcinema met een boodschap, zal in Trash op net iets te veel clichés botsen. Als je over de stereotiepe benadering heen kan kijken, dan is Trash een aangename avonturenfilm waarin vriendschap een belangrijke rol speelt en zo komen we weer wat dichter bij The Goonies, niet?

Trash is vanaf nu op dvd en Blu-ray uit via Universal.

Didier BECU
31/03/2015


31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash 31/03/2015 : STEPHEN DALDRY - Trash

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide