tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/10/2015 : STEVE MOORE - Welp/Cub OST

STEVE MOORE

Welp/Cub OST

MusicCD
Dark AmbientElectronicsSoundtrack

[75/100]   

Relapse Records
13/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Usually the soundtrack arrives simultaneously with the film, but this can of course be different with underground projects, especially if the success exceeds all expectations. Director Jonas Govaerts undoubtedly hoped (and expected) that many Belgian people would buy a ticket to see his horror movie Cub, but we’re sure that his crystal ball did not tell him that his film debut would be a stunner worldwide. And so months later the soundtrack is finally released on CD.

Steve Moore/Zombi knows very well how to write a haunting score that also works without seeing the images, and that is certainly not always easy. But Moore is a talent, even though you can hear from the first moments that his electronic compositions are a tribute to master John Carpenter, but in the case of this soundtrack it even works beneficial.

The songs on the album are very varied. The opening track has a high Jean Michel Jarre feel (and that's not a bad thing at all!), The Hunt is dark ambient at its best that even sounds a bit Empusae-like or you can hear the threatening sounds of tribal drums on Sam vs. Kai. Yes, the CD is as definitely as good as the movie!

Didier BECU
13/10/2015


NL

Meestal komt de soundtrack gelijktijdig met de film uit, maar bij een undergroundproject kan dat natuurlijk eventjes anders lopen, vooral als het succes de verwachtingen overstijgt. Regisseur Jonas Govaerts zal zonder twijfel wel hebben gehoopt (en verwacht) dat heel wat Vlamingen een bioscoopkaartje voor zijn horrorfilm Welp zouden kopen, maar zijn glazen bol zal hem wellicht niet hebben verteld dat zijn filmdebuut ook wereldwijd een knaller zou worden. En dus heeft men besloten om maanden nadien de soundtrack op de markt te gooien.

Gelukkig maar, want Steve Moore/Zombi weet zeer goed hoe je een beklemmende score moet schrijven die zelfs werkt zonder dat je de beelden ziet, en dat is niet altijd eenvoudig. Maar bij Moore zit je gebeiteld, ook al hoor je vanaf de eerste momenten dat zijn electronische composities een ode zijn aan grootmeester John Carpenter, maar in het geval van deze soundtrack werkt dat louter voordelig.

De nummers op de plaat zijn zeer gevarieerd. Het openingsnummer heeft een hoog Jean-Michel Jarre-gehalte (en dat is niet slecht!), The Hunt is dan weer dark ambient op zijn best die zelfs een beetje Empusae-achtig klinkt of er zijn er de dreigende klanken van de tribale drums op Sam vs Kai. Machtig plaatje!

Didier BECU
13/10/2015


 

Next reviews
LIA FAIL • Cynical Stones
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
ANTIMATTER • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money