tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

STEVEN KNIGHT

Locke

MovieCinema
Thriller
Wild Bunch
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We really do hate them: those film journalists who think they’re bright by telling you the whole story in their review. Which pleasure is left for the viewer? Not even mentioning the respect! Nah, we’re not saying that this review from Locke is the best. It’s not, but the less you know about it, the better! You read it before and it’s actually very true: once again Tom Hardy showed that he’s one of the greatest actors from this moment. His performance in this thriller is so excellent that you won’t go flat on your face if you say that this movie will be a forthcoming classic!

The whole movie is set in one place only: the inside of a BMW. There’s only actor around: Tom Hardy. It looks like a failure on paper, but this is one of the most surprising thrillers from last years. The only company this concrete salesman has is his non stopping phone. He’s heading somewhere (we know, but our lips are sealed!) and during his phone talks he makes some decisions that’ll change his life forever.

Director Steven Knight who penned down some nice scripts (from Eastern Promises to Dirty Pretty Things) and directed what is considered by some as the only watchable movie starring Jason Statham-film (Hummingbird) took an enormous risk to set his movie in one location and using only one actor. He succeed and he’s definitely a director to watch out for!

So take the risk, enter the cinema and discover an experience that’ll change your cinematographic life forever.

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

Je zou ze soms wurgen: de filmjournalisten die in hun schrijfsels alle spoilers weggeven, niet? Neen, beste lezer, we willen niet hoog van de toren blazen door te stellen dat deze recensie de beste is die je van Locke kan lezen. Dat is het zeker niet, alleen is het zo dat hoe minder je van het verhaal weet hoe groter het filmorgasme zal zijn. Want jawel, duivel-doet-het-al Tom Hardy schittert nog maar eens in een film die we zonder problemen nu al als een toekomstige klassieker mogen bestempelen.

Nog meer dan in Drive van Nicolas Winding Refn speelt het verhaal van betonboer Ivan Locke zich in de auto af. Meer zelfs, het enige decor dat je te zien krijgt is zijn BMW. Zijn enige metgezellen zijn een doosje snoep en de telefoon staat roodgloeiend. Hij is ergens naar toe (neen, we weten wel naar waar, maar we zeggen het niet). Het geplande avondje om met zijn gezin naar het voetbal te kijken is door iets anders vervangen. Ivan is vastberaden in zijn plannen, ofschoon iedere minuut dat de film duurt ook een immense kentering in zijn leven is.

Regisseur Steven Knight die massa’s scripts schreef (van Eastern Promises tot Dirty Pretty Things) en volgens sommige de enige Jason Statham-film die te pruimen is (Hummingbird) regisseerde, nam een enorm risico door het verhaal volledig door één man en één plaats te laten dragen. Dat Hardy daarin is geslaagd verwondert geen mens, maar Knight heeft tevens bewezen dat hij een grote regisseur in wording is.

Neem dus gerust een risico, overwin je drempelangst (het lijkt wel alsof we op de kermis staan!) en ga een bioscoopzaal binnen, want na 80 minuten zal het leven nooit meer hetzelfde zijn. Ten minste toch niet op cinematografisch vlak!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside