tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

STEVEN KNIGHT

Locke

MovieCinema
Thriller
Wild Bunch
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We really do hate them: those film journalists who think they’re bright by telling you the whole story in their review. Which pleasure is left for the viewer? Not even mentioning the respect! Nah, we’re not saying that this review from Locke is the best. It’s not, but the less you know about it, the better! You read it before and it’s actually very true: once again Tom Hardy showed that he’s one of the greatest actors from this moment. His performance in this thriller is so excellent that you won’t go flat on your face if you say that this movie will be a forthcoming classic!

The whole movie is set in one place only: the inside of a BMW. There’s only actor around: Tom Hardy. It looks like a failure on paper, but this is one of the most surprising thrillers from last years. The only company this concrete salesman has is his non stopping phone. He’s heading somewhere (we know, but our lips are sealed!) and during his phone talks he makes some decisions that’ll change his life forever.

Director Steven Knight who penned down some nice scripts (from Eastern Promises to Dirty Pretty Things) and directed what is considered by some as the only watchable movie starring Jason Statham-film (Hummingbird) took an enormous risk to set his movie in one location and using only one actor. He succeed and he’s definitely a director to watch out for!

So take the risk, enter the cinema and discover an experience that’ll change your cinematographic life forever.

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

Je zou ze soms wurgen: de filmjournalisten die in hun schrijfsels alle spoilers weggeven, niet? Neen, beste lezer, we willen niet hoog van de toren blazen door te stellen dat deze recensie de beste is die je van Locke kan lezen. Dat is het zeker niet, alleen is het zo dat hoe minder je van het verhaal weet hoe groter het filmorgasme zal zijn. Want jawel, duivel-doet-het-al Tom Hardy schittert nog maar eens in een film die we zonder problemen nu al als een toekomstige klassieker mogen bestempelen.

Nog meer dan in Drive van Nicolas Winding Refn speelt het verhaal van betonboer Ivan Locke zich in de auto af. Meer zelfs, het enige decor dat je te zien krijgt is zijn BMW. Zijn enige metgezellen zijn een doosje snoep en de telefoon staat roodgloeiend. Hij is ergens naar toe (neen, we weten wel naar waar, maar we zeggen het niet). Het geplande avondje om met zijn gezin naar het voetbal te kijken is door iets anders vervangen. Ivan is vastberaden in zijn plannen, ofschoon iedere minuut dat de film duurt ook een immense kentering in zijn leven is.

Regisseur Steven Knight die massa’s scripts schreef (van Eastern Promises tot Dirty Pretty Things) en volgens sommige de enige Jason Statham-film die te pruimen is (Hummingbird) regisseerde, nam een enorm risico door het verhaal volledig door één man en één plaats te laten dragen. Dat Hardy daarin is geslaagd verwondert geen mens, maar Knight heeft tevens bewezen dat hij een grote regisseur in wording is.

Neem dus gerust een risico, overwin je drempelangst (het lijkt wel alsof we op de kermis staan!) en ga een bioscoopzaal binnen, want na 80 minuten zal het leven nooit meer hetzelfde zijn. Ten minste toch niet op cinematografisch vlak!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now