tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

STEVEN KNIGHT

Locke

MovieCinema
Thriller
Wild Bunch
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We really do hate them: those film journalists who think they’re bright by telling you the whole story in their review. Which pleasure is left for the viewer? Not even mentioning the respect! Nah, we’re not saying that this review from Locke is the best. It’s not, but the less you know about it, the better! You read it before and it’s actually very true: once again Tom Hardy showed that he’s one of the greatest actors from this moment. His performance in this thriller is so excellent that you won’t go flat on your face if you say that this movie will be a forthcoming classic!

The whole movie is set in one place only: the inside of a BMW. There’s only actor around: Tom Hardy. It looks like a failure on paper, but this is one of the most surprising thrillers from last years. The only company this concrete salesman has is his non stopping phone. He’s heading somewhere (we know, but our lips are sealed!) and during his phone talks he makes some decisions that’ll change his life forever.

Director Steven Knight who penned down some nice scripts (from Eastern Promises to Dirty Pretty Things) and directed what is considered by some as the only watchable movie starring Jason Statham-film (Hummingbird) took an enormous risk to set his movie in one location and using only one actor. He succeed and he’s definitely a director to watch out for!

So take the risk, enter the cinema and discover an experience that’ll change your cinematographic life forever.

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

Je zou ze soms wurgen: de filmjournalisten die in hun schrijfsels alle spoilers weggeven, niet? Neen, beste lezer, we willen niet hoog van de toren blazen door te stellen dat deze recensie de beste is die je van Locke kan lezen. Dat is het zeker niet, alleen is het zo dat hoe minder je van het verhaal weet hoe groter het filmorgasme zal zijn. Want jawel, duivel-doet-het-al Tom Hardy schittert nog maar eens in een film die we zonder problemen nu al als een toekomstige klassieker mogen bestempelen.

Nog meer dan in Drive van Nicolas Winding Refn speelt het verhaal van betonboer Ivan Locke zich in de auto af. Meer zelfs, het enige decor dat je te zien krijgt is zijn BMW. Zijn enige metgezellen zijn een doosje snoep en de telefoon staat roodgloeiend. Hij is ergens naar toe (neen, we weten wel naar waar, maar we zeggen het niet). Het geplande avondje om met zijn gezin naar het voetbal te kijken is door iets anders vervangen. Ivan is vastberaden in zijn plannen, ofschoon iedere minuut dat de film duurt ook een immense kentering in zijn leven is.

Regisseur Steven Knight die massa’s scripts schreef (van Eastern Promises tot Dirty Pretty Things) en volgens sommige de enige Jason Statham-film die te pruimen is (Hummingbird) regisseerde, nam een enorm risico door het verhaal volledig door één man en één plaats te laten dragen. Dat Hardy daarin is geslaagd verwondert geen mens, maar Knight heeft tevens bewezen dat hij een grote regisseur in wording is.

Neem dus gerust een risico, overwin je drempelangst (het lijkt wel alsof we op de kermis staan!) en ga een bioscoopzaal binnen, want na 80 minuten zal het leven nooit meer hetzelfde zijn. Ten minste toch niet op cinematografisch vlak!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man