tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

STEVEN KNIGHT

Locke

MovieCinema
Thriller
Wild Bunch
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We really do hate them: those film journalists who think they’re bright by telling you the whole story in their review. Which pleasure is left for the viewer? Not even mentioning the respect! Nah, we’re not saying that this review from Locke is the best. It’s not, but the less you know about it, the better! You read it before and it’s actually very true: once again Tom Hardy showed that he’s one of the greatest actors from this moment. His performance in this thriller is so excellent that you won’t go flat on your face if you say that this movie will be a forthcoming classic!

The whole movie is set in one place only: the inside of a BMW. There’s only actor around: Tom Hardy. It looks like a failure on paper, but this is one of the most surprising thrillers from last years. The only company this concrete salesman has is his non stopping phone. He’s heading somewhere (we know, but our lips are sealed!) and during his phone talks he makes some decisions that’ll change his life forever.

Director Steven Knight who penned down some nice scripts (from Eastern Promises to Dirty Pretty Things) and directed what is considered by some as the only watchable movie starring Jason Statham-film (Hummingbird) took an enormous risk to set his movie in one location and using only one actor. He succeed and he’s definitely a director to watch out for!

So take the risk, enter the cinema and discover an experience that’ll change your cinematographic life forever.

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

Je zou ze soms wurgen: de filmjournalisten die in hun schrijfsels alle spoilers weggeven, niet? Neen, beste lezer, we willen niet hoog van de toren blazen door te stellen dat deze recensie de beste is die je van Locke kan lezen. Dat is het zeker niet, alleen is het zo dat hoe minder je van het verhaal weet hoe groter het filmorgasme zal zijn. Want jawel, duivel-doet-het-al Tom Hardy schittert nog maar eens in een film die we zonder problemen nu al als een toekomstige klassieker mogen bestempelen.

Nog meer dan in Drive van Nicolas Winding Refn speelt het verhaal van betonboer Ivan Locke zich in de auto af. Meer zelfs, het enige decor dat je te zien krijgt is zijn BMW. Zijn enige metgezellen zijn een doosje snoep en de telefoon staat roodgloeiend. Hij is ergens naar toe (neen, we weten wel naar waar, maar we zeggen het niet). Het geplande avondje om met zijn gezin naar het voetbal te kijken is door iets anders vervangen. Ivan is vastberaden in zijn plannen, ofschoon iedere minuut dat de film duurt ook een immense kentering in zijn leven is.

Regisseur Steven Knight die massa’s scripts schreef (van Eastern Promises tot Dirty Pretty Things) en volgens sommige de enige Jason Statham-film die te pruimen is (Hummingbird) regisseerde, nam een enorm risico door het verhaal volledig door één man en één plaats te laten dragen. Dat Hardy daarin is geslaagd verwondert geen mens, maar Knight heeft tevens bewezen dat hij een grote regisseur in wording is.

Neem dus gerust een risico, overwin je drempelangst (het lijkt wel alsof we op de kermis staan!) en ga een bioscoopzaal binnen, want na 80 minuten zal het leven nooit meer hetzelfde zijn. Ten minste toch niet op cinematografisch vlak!

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke 15/10/2014 : STEVEN KNIGHT - Locke

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face