tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : STIJN HÜWELS - Six Pieces for Guitar

STIJN HÜWELS

Six Pieces for Guitar

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalMinimalNeoclassical

[80/100]   

Matter
08/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Belgian musician Stijn Hüwels has released a new album on the Japanese Matter label. Six Pieces for Guitar contains six compositions that can be situated in the minimalist genre, for which the artist makes use of processed guitar sounds, loops and field recordings. Previously Stijn Hüwels released the album Untitled (2011).

In the soundscapes of this new album the sound of a guitar can barely be recognized. We hear melodious synths, carefully added dark drones, organs, noise and sparse sounds that are related to human activities. Untitled 1 is a dreamy track as the soundtrack for a melancholic movie or a documentary about the natural world. The composition starts with rippling synths, subsequently supported by metallic synths that never sound dangerous or intrusive, while carefully calculated dark drones are reverberating in the background. Untitled 2 follows almost seamlessly, albeit quieter, darker and slower in pace. Occasionally we recognize the sound of a guitar, but as a result of the processing, it all sounds much more like electronic music, with gently gurgling synths at the fore and strings of dark drones in the background.

Untitled 3 starts with distant voices and the elusive sound of closing shutters or some primitive mechanism. The slightly darker synths creep in gently, rustling like violins, assisted by horn-like drones in the background. Metallic drones penetrate slowly through the soundscape and change the mood from dreamy to slightly industrial, but fortunately, no cacophonous blast of noise follows, because the sound seeps slowly. Untitled 4 chooses a calmer and soulful path with a variety of high-pitched synths, slowly meandering like a broad river towards the sea, restrained, repetitive and therefore slightly hypnotic.

Untitled 5 starts with what sounds like the sound of water, supplemented with undefined noise as if chairs are moved. The guitar synths are rushing past each other as high-pitched organs, andante and almost subdued, while the last track, Untitled 6, begins with the sound of pouring rain, and for the first time, multi-guitar strumming is audible between the synths, comparable to the sound of breaking waves on the beach, repetitive and quiet.

It would take us too far to call Six Pieces for Guitar a neoclassical album, but there are obvious similarities in terms of atmosphere and intention with the work of pianists like Ludovicus Einaudi and Max Richter. Never bombastic and very moody, and more than a guitar album.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


NL

Van de Belgische muzikant Stijn Hüwels is een nieuw album verschenen op het Japanse label Matter. Op Six Pieces for Guitar staan zes composities die we kunnen situeren in het minimalistische genre en waarvoor gebruik wordt gemaakt van bewerkt gitaargeluid, loops en veldopnamen. Eerder verscheen van Stijn Hüwels het album Untitled (2011).

In de soundscapes op dit nieuwe album herken je nog nauwelijks het geluid van een gitaar. Je hoort welluidende synths, voorzichtig toegevoegde donkere drones, orgels, ruis en kleine geluidjes die verband houden met menselijke activiteiten. Untitled 1 is een dromerige track als de soundtrack voor een melancholisch beeldfragment of een natuurfilm over water en wind. Rimpelende synths leiden de compositie in en worden naderhand gesteund door metaalachtige synths die evenwel nooit gevaarlijk of opdringerig klinken. Op de achtergrond echoën donkere drones, maar opnieuw voorzichtig en berekend. Waarop Untiteld 2 bijna naadloos voortborduurt, zij het rustiger, iets donkerder en trager qua tempo. Af en toe herken je iets dat op gitaargeluid lijkt, maar via de processing klinkt het allemaal veel meer als elektronische muziek, met opnieuw zacht ruisende synths vooraan en donkere dronesslierten in de achtergrond.

Untitled 3 begint met verre stemmen en moeilijk te definiëren bijgeluiden als van sluitende luiken of één of ander primitief mechanisme. De iets donkerdere synths sluipen voorzichtig naar binnen als suizende violen, bijgestaan door hoornachtige drones op de achtergrond. Metaalachtige drones dringen langzaam door het soundscape en veranderen de sfeer van dromerig naar lichtjes industrial, maar gelukkig volgt er geen kakofonische explosie van lawaai, want Stijn Hüwels laat het geluid vervolgens langzaam wegsijpelen. Untitled 4 kiest opnieuw een rustiger en gevoelvoller pad met hoog klinkende synths, langzaam meanderend als een brede rivier op weg naar zee, ingehouden, repetitief en daardoor lichtjes hypnotiserend.

Untitled 5 begint met wat klinkt als het geluid van water en gestommel als van iemand die stoelen verplaatst. De gitaarsynths ruisen langs elkaar als high-pitched orgels, andante en haast ingetogen, terwijl de laatste track, Untitled 6, begint met het geluid van stromende regen (enfin, zo klinkt het) en tussen de waaierende synths is voor het eerst meervoudig gitaargetokkel herkenbaar dat je zou kunnen associëren met het breken van golfjes op het strand, repetitief en rustig.

Het zou ons te ver voeren om Six Pieces for Guitar een neoklassiek album te noemen, maar er zijn wel duidelijk overeenkomsten qua sfeer en intentie met het werk van pianisten zoals Ludovicus Einaudi en Max Richter. Nooit bombastisch, stemmig en verrassend genoeg nauwelijks een gitaaralbum.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DER KLINKE/LA MUERTE • Leffinge, Zaal De Zwerver (20/02/2016)
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
SEASON OF GHOSTS • Remixing The Paradox
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
3TEETH • 3TEETH
MY SLEEPING KARMA, GREENLEAF , MAMMOTH MAMMOTH • Antwerp, Trix (18/02/2016)
WISHING WELL • Chasing Rainbows
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
CHVRCHES • Every Open Eye
ONEIRICH • Noois Content

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation