tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija

STILES WHITE

Ouija

Movie

Universal Pictures
17/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It’s probably the genius of James Wan, but even if the man is having more fun with speedy cars in The Fast & The Furious these days, he created a huge boom in the horror genre. Suddenly horror movies stayed longer in the cinema halls than just one week. And yes, Ouija was another winner! During the opening weekend the movie got a box office of twenty million dollars, which is quite a huge number for this kind of production. Once you've seen the film, it is clear why the young audience found its way to the movie palaces. Director Stiles White, who is best known for creating special effects for blockbusters like The Sixth Sense or Jurassic Park III, chose for his film debut a film concept that is somewhere between a smooth teen movie and modern horror. Or if you want a similar example: a bit like Scream.

Viewers who just want to see blood, better don't start this DVD, because in this film the scary effects (a slamming door), are doing the tricks. So, extinguish all the lights in the living room if you put this film in your DVD player and enjoy the journey of four teenagers who tempt fate by raising spirits with an Ouija board. The experiment starts pure out of curiosity, because the young people want to get in touch with Debbie, a girl who hung herself. But, as it often happens in horror films, nothing is as it seems and Debbie’s death has something to do with the diabolical game board.

Ouija is certainly not a masterpiece, and probably a bit too light for fans of the bloody work, but thanks to the great performances, you never get bored. It is of course all a bit predictable and you've seen it before, but that is just rife in the horror genre. Stiles White is certainly not the new Wan, but he certainly doesn’t have to be ashamed for this debut.

Didier BECU
17/08/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk zit James Wan er voor iets tussen. En ook al amuseert de man zich tegenwoordig meer met autootjes in The Fast & The Furious, zorgde hij voor een immense boom in het horrorgenre waardoor bibberprenten meer dan een week op de bioscoopaffiche bleven staan. Tot spijt van wie het benijdt was het ook bingo voor Ouija. Tijdens het openingsweekend alleen al rijfde men meer dan twintig miljoen dollar binnen en dat is voor een goedkope productie als Ouija toch een meevaller van jewelste. Eens je de film hebt gezien, is het duidelijk waarom het jonge publiek de weg naar de pluchen filmpaleizen vond. Regisseur Stiles White, die vooral bekend is voor het creëren van special effects voor blockbusters als The Sixth Sense of Jurassic Park III, koos voor zijn filmdebuut een filmconcept dat zich ergens tussen een vlotte tienerfilm en moderne horror bevindt. Of als je het liever met een voorbeeld wil horen: een beetje zoals Scream.

Kijkers die alleen maar bloed op de buis willen, moeten er niet aan beginnen, want in deze film zijn het de schrikeffecten (gewoon een dichtslaande deur) die het werk leveren. Doof dus alle lichten in de huiskamer als je de film in de lader stopt en laat je meeslepen door vier tieners die het lot tarten door geesten op te roepen met een ouija-bord. Het experiment begint uit pure nieuwsgierigheid omdat de jongeren contact zoeken met Debbie, een meisje dat zich heeft verhangen. Maar, zoals dat vaak gaat in horrorfilms, is niets wat het lijkt en heeft de dood van Debbie iets met het duivelse spelbord te maken.

Ouija is zeker geen meesterwerk en waarschijnlijk net iets te licht voor de fans van het bloederige bibberwerk, maar dankzij de prima vertolkingen, verveel je je gelukkig geen seconde. Het is natuurlijk allemaal wat voorspelbaar en je hebt het al vaker gezien, maar dat is nu eenmaal schering en inslag in het horrorgenre. Stiles White is zeker geen Wan, maar voor Ouija moet hij zich zeker niet schamen.

Didier BECU
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf