tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/03/2014 : STILL PATIENT? - Retrospective 88-2-99

STILL PATIENT?

Retrospective 88-2-99

MusicCD
DoomGothicGothic Rock

[88/100]   

Dark Dimensions
01/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I already reviewed their latest EP and now it's time to listen to this retrospective with exclusive material and remastered songs... One thing to start with is that this one is a must have for fans of this genre!

Still Patient? was formed in the beginning of 1988 by lead singer Andy Koa and guitarist Th.Kraniny. Their joint love of gothic rock bands such as The Sisters of Mercy, Fields of the Nephilim and The Mission influenced their first steps in music. After reviewing their latest EP I was left behind with the question is this all? I want more!

I love the Gothic Rock and straight forward sound! A great voice is driving this song to a higher level. I even hear some electronical sound and am moving my head up and down without first noticing... Love the guitars too just as the handsome drummer!

The first songs show a strong love for The Sisters of Mercy, they sound like a version 2.0 (as we all know that Eldrich is not a real singer and our guy from Still Patient? can actually really sing). So songs like 'Shadows of the Empire', 'Chameleon', Bad Dreams'... are really for people who want the version 2.0! It's clear that in some we hear an influence of Fields of The Nephilim and The Mission too. I love the retro sound and have been listening to the 16 songs for almost 48 hours and I'm still not bored! It's clear that all the songs have been crafted with passion and knowledge of making great music! It feels more and more strange that I have never seen them on stage, as I was old enough to see them on stage when they played for the first time...

One of their best songs are according to me: 'Breathe' (the global sound and the great uptempo drive), 'God and Satan' & Agoraphobia'

here is the review of the EP:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/still-patient-selective-perception-ep/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/03/2014


 

Next reviews
LARRY COHEN • The Stuff
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4
DJ LORDBONE • NeXuS VUS - the new 'old' partyconcept
JOE SWANBERG • Drinking Buddies
LARVA • Where The Butterflies Go To Die
DJ ZWEEF • The DJ-files: Zweef
MEAGAN CHANDLER • Sensual
JACK SMIGHT • Frankenstein, The True Story
LUCY KITCHEN • Walking
CERVELLO ELETTRONICO • Single Animalisim

 

Other reviews from STILL PATIENT?
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters
STILL PATIENT? • Selective Perception EP

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static