tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

07/05/2014 : STORY OFF - Amazing Conversations

STORY OFF

Amazing Conversations

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsMinimal

[85/100]   
07/05/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Story off is a side - project from ‘Chesko’, yes the front man from the band ‘Der Klinke’. The name ‘Story Off’ is chosen because Ches thinks our lives are more and more dominated by the social media, who all have ‘new stories’ to tell every day, and so it would be nice to have a kind of switch to turn them off. So no more stories …. ‘Story Off'

Had the luck to see this project live, and I really liked it. There is musically a big difference between ‘Der Klinke’ and ‘Story Off’ , this sound is highly minimal, pure and dynamic. Favorite on the album is the title track ‘ Amazing Conversations’, minimal synths and sounds with the scary voice by Chesko in a perfect match. The track ‘ The Dance Of Death’ could easily be made by a band like ‘The Neon Judgment’. Lots of songs on this album have a kind of 80’s sound. Personally I like this kind of catchy rough electronic sound. Tracks like ‘ Change’ an ‘Fear’, are a translation of moods combined with experimentation. ’99.69’, is pure minimalism and could easily be used as a movie soundtrack. Ending with ‘The Selfreflecting Image’ , maybe the most up-tempo song, and even slightly danceable. In the final track ‘Closing Time’ , I even discover some old ‘Klinik’ influences, this song is slowly build up and comes alive after a minute, great track!

So this is a very nice first album, and if you like a minimal and pure sound with lots of 80s influences then you should have a listen to it

Side A : Intro / Amazing Conversations / Again / The Dance Of Death / Change / Slow Train To The Other Side

Side B : Fear / 99.69 / Familiar / The selfreflecting Image / Closing Time

 

 

http://youtu.be/-TQSCdsIqdw

Peter HESELMANS
07/05/2014


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles