tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III

STRONG PRODUCT

Product III

MusicCD
EBMFolktronicaOldschool EBM

[80/100]   
17/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Strong Product is a Russian EBM duo from Moscow. The album “Strong III” (yes, it IS the third album) was acquired right after their appearance at Synthetic Snow Festival in Moscow, where they performed an outstanding live concert.

Style

“That is my disease - Russian EBM

I have been diagnosed

by a сrazy fucking doctor…” - shouts out the vocalist.

I am not sure if I have ever heard Russian EBM before but now I can tell that I did. Basically it is oldschool EBM with some accordion keys and (sometimes) crazy lyrics as well. If you can understand them you will remark, that the texts are pretty funny. The band sings about the everyday life of the working class - big machines, factories, love and hate in the (post) socialist reality. The band may sound serious but will always reveal a little mocking, provocative and rebellious aspect ;).

Favourite songs

“Trolleybus park” is just hilarious, containing a right balance of folky and hard. “72 Below Zero” is another good track, although a bit less typical, but sounding more like a good old school EBM standard with nice electro dramaturgy included. The mixture on the most “ethnic” song on the album is “My Case with Pipe” sounds a bit weird but surprisingly fresh. Another track worth mentioning is a cover version of Camouflage's “The Great Commandment”, which is suddenly sounding really good with an accordion and Russian lyrics (nope it is not the translation of the original song, the text is rather a buffalax complaining about the factory thiefs).

When to listen to it

When you agree, that pasta may be cooked in other countries than Italy and good quality EBM can be not only done by Front 242 in English, that EBM can keep its hardness and charm, but still allow a little folky and East European dimension.

To sum it up

A good album, that reveals the EBM music from a new, folky, mocking, offbeat perspective. Dancing dimension included. The best way to find out if your symptoms will also match the Russian EBM disease is to try to listen to it on youtube or bandcamp ;).

Masha KASHA
17/12/2017


17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III 17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless