tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III

STRONG PRODUCT

Product III

MusicCD
EBMFolktronicaOldschool EBM

[80/100]   
17/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Strong Product is a Russian EBM duo from Moscow. The album “Strong III” (yes, it IS the third album) was acquired right after their appearance at Synthetic Snow Festival in Moscow, where they performed an outstanding live concert.

Style

“That is my disease - Russian EBM

I have been diagnosed

by a сrazy fucking doctor…” - shouts out the vocalist.

I am not sure if I have ever heard Russian EBM before but now I can tell that I did. Basically it is oldschool EBM with some accordion keys and (sometimes) crazy lyrics as well. If you can understand them you will remark, that the texts are pretty funny. The band sings about the everyday life of the working class - big machines, factories, love and hate in the (post) socialist reality. The band may sound serious but will always reveal a little mocking, provocative and rebellious aspect ;).

Favourite songs

“Trolleybus park” is just hilarious, containing a right balance of folky and hard. “72 Below Zero” is another good track, although a bit less typical, but sounding more like a good old school EBM standard with nice electro dramaturgy included. The mixture on the most “ethnic” song on the album is “My Case with Pipe” sounds a bit weird but surprisingly fresh. Another track worth mentioning is a cover version of Camouflage's “The Great Commandment”, which is suddenly sounding really good with an accordion and Russian lyrics (nope it is not the translation of the original song, the text is rather a buffalax complaining about the factory thiefs).

When to listen to it

When you agree, that pasta may be cooked in other countries than Italy and good quality EBM can be not only done by Front 242 in English, that EBM can keep its hardness and charm, but still allow a little folky and East European dimension.

To sum it up

A good album, that reveals the EBM music from a new, folky, mocking, offbeat perspective. Dancing dimension included. The best way to find out if your symptoms will also match the Russian EBM disease is to try to listen to it on youtube or bandcamp ;).

Masha KASHA
17/12/2017


17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III 17/12/2017 : STRONG PRODUCT - Product III

Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn