tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/01/2021 : STURM CAFE - Fernes Land

STURM CAFE

Fernes Land

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
EBMElectro PopMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   
23/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Already since 2001, the Sturm Café duo, initially known as The Xenophobian Alliance, have been bombarding us with their old school EBM from Sweden. Although sometimes it sounds a bit more poppy with an eighties twist, but true to the minimal sound and vintage machinery which they seem to cherish with love. Both have a good notion of the German language which they use in their music.

After an abnormal and Covid-19 soaked 2020 the duo presents us their new album Fernes Land (release in February 2021). A collection of 9 songs that sway between minimal, synth-pop and what can be called real straightforward old school EBM.

The love for vintage and analogue equipment is so evident. ‘Fernes Land’ is one of those examples. A cheerful sounding sing-along with a nice retro wrapping. And they serve us a few more of those … ‘Funkbereit’, for example, is powerful because of its simplicity. A bone-dry rhythm, an economical bass line and a minimalistic melody. As we already know, simplicity often leads to excellence and this is what we get served here on a golden platter.

Old school EBM-ers like ‘Schauspiel’ immediately invite to Im Rhytmus Bleiben on the dance floor. Not stone-harsh, not deafening, not extremely aggressive, but certainly also not less powerful! Especially if you give the volume knob a swing to the right!

If you happen to own an vintage jukebox ‘Discolied’ will fit in there perfectly. It sounds so eighties you almost miss the screeching and cracking sound and jumping needle by excessive spins. It brings me back to my nice worry-free childhood times when I visited the Sanseveria-window-brown-cafés with my parents. Where you endlessly spend old coins and pushed the nicotine stained selection buttons of the jukebox. ‘Spielzeit’ also fits perfectly within this spirit.

It is clear that the roots of the Swedish Sturm Café lie in the past. Their sound has so much body and character, is contemporary and yet not. Their main characteristic is being loyal to authentic instruments, or at least make recent synths sound retro. They simply are … Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


NL

Al sedert 2001 bestookt het tweetal Sturm Café, welke ooit startten onder de naam The Xenophobian Alliance, ons vanuit Zweden met old school EBM. Al klinkt die soms een fractie meer poppy met een duidelijke eighties-twist. Trouw aan minimale en vintage machinerie, die ze met liefde bedienen. Beiden zijn germanist en bedienen zich van de Duitse taal.

Na een abnormaal en in Covid-19 gedrenkt 2020 brengt het duo in februari 2021 hun nieuwe album Fernes Land uit. Een mix van 9 songs die zwermen van minimal over synthpop tot wat als echte rechttoe rechtaan oldschool EBM kan worden genoemd.

De voorliefde voor vintage en analoge equipment is zo duidelijk aanwezig. Fernes Land is er zo ééntje. Een vrolijk klinkende meezinger met een dikke retro strik erom.
En zo schotelen ze ons nog een paar exemplaren voor. Funkbereit bijvoorbeeld is krachtig door de eenvoud. Een kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige baslijn en een minimale melodie. We weten al dat eenvoud soms tot uitmuntendheid leidt. En dat krijgen we op een schoteltje aangeboden.

Een oldschool EBM-er als Schauspiel nodigt meteen uit tot Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Niet steenhard, niet oorverdovend, niet extreem agressief, maar daarom niet minder krachtig. Zeker als je het volume een oplawaai geeft.

Als je een oude jukebox bezit, dan past Discolied daar perfect in. Het klinkt eighties en zou perfect geklonken hebben, met her en der een snerpend en krakend geluid als de naald van het vele draaien van het vinyltje al eens een sprong zou maken. Mij brengt het in gedachten terug naar mijn vrij onbezorgde kindertijd in met sanseveria gevulde bruine kroegen waar ik met mijn ouders ooit vertoefde. Toen je nog in oude munten eindeloos op vergeelde knoppen van de jukeboxen singles draaide. Spielzeit sluit daar perfect op aan.

Het is duidelijk dat de voorliefde van het Zweedse Sturm Café in het verleden ligt. Hun sound heeft zoveel body en karakter, is hedendaags en toch ook weer niet. Dat ze zweren bij vele authentieke instrumenten, of recentere synths toch retro kunnen laten klinken, is karakteristiek. Ze zijn.. ja.. gewoon Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


 

Next reviews
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16