tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/01/2021 : STURM CAFE - Fernes Land

STURM CAFE

Fernes Land

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
EBMElectro PopMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   
23/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Already since 2001, the Sturm Café duo, initially known as The Xenophobian Alliance, have been bombarding us with their old school EBM from Sweden. Although sometimes it sounds a bit more poppy with an eighties twist, but true to the minimal sound and vintage machinery which they seem to cherish with love. Both have a good notion of the German language which they use in their music.

After an abnormal and Covid-19 soaked 2020 the duo presents us their new album Fernes Land (release in February 2021). A collection of 9 songs that sway between minimal, synth-pop and what can be called real straightforward old school EBM.

The love for vintage and analogue equipment is so evident. ‘Fernes Land’ is one of those examples. A cheerful sounding sing-along with a nice retro wrapping. And they serve us a few more of those … ‘Funkbereit’, for example, is powerful because of its simplicity. A bone-dry rhythm, an economical bass line and a minimalistic melody. As we already know, simplicity often leads to excellence and this is what we get served here on a golden platter.

Old school EBM-ers like ‘Schauspiel’ immediately invite to Im Rhytmus Bleiben on the dance floor. Not stone-harsh, not deafening, not extremely aggressive, but certainly also not less powerful! Especially if you give the volume knob a swing to the right!

If you happen to own an vintage jukebox ‘Discolied’ will fit in there perfectly. It sounds so eighties you almost miss the screeching and cracking sound and jumping needle by excessive spins. It brings me back to my nice worry-free childhood times when I visited the Sanseveria-window-brown-cafés with my parents. Where you endlessly spend old coins and pushed the nicotine stained selection buttons of the jukebox. ‘Spielzeit’ also fits perfectly within this spirit.

It is clear that the roots of the Swedish Sturm Café lie in the past. Their sound has so much body and character, is contemporary and yet not. Their main characteristic is being loyal to authentic instruments, or at least make recent synths sound retro. They simply are … Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


NL

Al sedert 2001 bestookt het tweetal Sturm Café, welke ooit startten onder de naam The Xenophobian Alliance, ons vanuit Zweden met old school EBM. Al klinkt die soms een fractie meer poppy met een duidelijke eighties-twist. Trouw aan minimale en vintage machinerie, die ze met liefde bedienen. Beiden zijn germanist en bedienen zich van de Duitse taal.

Na een abnormaal en in Covid-19 gedrenkt 2020 brengt het duo in februari 2021 hun nieuwe album Fernes Land uit. Een mix van 9 songs die zwermen van minimal over synthpop tot wat als echte rechttoe rechtaan oldschool EBM kan worden genoemd.

De voorliefde voor vintage en analoge equipment is zo duidelijk aanwezig. Fernes Land is er zo ééntje. Een vrolijk klinkende meezinger met een dikke retro strik erom.
En zo schotelen ze ons nog een paar exemplaren voor. Funkbereit bijvoorbeeld is krachtig door de eenvoud. Een kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige baslijn en een minimale melodie. We weten al dat eenvoud soms tot uitmuntendheid leidt. En dat krijgen we op een schoteltje aangeboden.

Een oldschool EBM-er als Schauspiel nodigt meteen uit tot Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Niet steenhard, niet oorverdovend, niet extreem agressief, maar daarom niet minder krachtig. Zeker als je het volume een oplawaai geeft.

Als je een oude jukebox bezit, dan past Discolied daar perfect in. Het klinkt eighties en zou perfect geklonken hebben, met her en der een snerpend en krakend geluid als de naald van het vele draaien van het vinyltje al eens een sprong zou maken. Mij brengt het in gedachten terug naar mijn vrij onbezorgde kindertijd in met sanseveria gevulde bruine kroegen waar ik met mijn ouders ooit vertoefde. Toen je nog in oude munten eindeloos op vergeelde knoppen van de jukeboxen singles draaide. Spielzeit sluit daar perfect op aan.

Het is duidelijk dat de voorliefde van het Zweedse Sturm Café in het verleden ligt. Hun sound heeft zoveel body en karakter, is hedendaags en toch ook weer niet. Dat ze zweren bij vele authentieke instrumenten, of recentere synths toch retro kunnen laten klinken, is karakteristiek. Ze zijn.. ja.. gewoon Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


 

Next reviews
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me

 

Same genre: EBM
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God