tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/01/2021 : STURM CAFE - Fernes Land

STURM CAFE

Fernes Land

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
EBMElectro PopMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   
23/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Already since 2001, the Sturm Café duo, initially known as The Xenophobian Alliance, have been bombarding us with their old school EBM from Sweden. Although sometimes it sounds a bit more poppy with an eighties twist, but true to the minimal sound and vintage machinery which they seem to cherish with love. Both have a good notion of the German language which they use in their music.

After an abnormal and Covid-19 soaked 2020 the duo presents us their new album Fernes Land (release in February 2021). A collection of 9 songs that sway between minimal, synth-pop and what can be called real straightforward old school EBM.

The love for vintage and analogue equipment is so evident. ‘Fernes Land’ is one of those examples. A cheerful sounding sing-along with a nice retro wrapping. And they serve us a few more of those … ‘Funkbereit’, for example, is powerful because of its simplicity. A bone-dry rhythm, an economical bass line and a minimalistic melody. As we already know, simplicity often leads to excellence and this is what we get served here on a golden platter.

Old school EBM-ers like ‘Schauspiel’ immediately invite to Im Rhytmus Bleiben on the dance floor. Not stone-harsh, not deafening, not extremely aggressive, but certainly also not less powerful! Especially if you give the volume knob a swing to the right!

If you happen to own an vintage jukebox ‘Discolied’ will fit in there perfectly. It sounds so eighties you almost miss the screeching and cracking sound and jumping needle by excessive spins. It brings me back to my nice worry-free childhood times when I visited the Sanseveria-window-brown-cafés with my parents. Where you endlessly spend old coins and pushed the nicotine stained selection buttons of the jukebox. ‘Spielzeit’ also fits perfectly within this spirit.

It is clear that the roots of the Swedish Sturm Café lie in the past. Their sound has so much body and character, is contemporary and yet not. Their main characteristic is being loyal to authentic instruments, or at least make recent synths sound retro. They simply are … Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


NL

Al sedert 2001 bestookt het tweetal Sturm Café, welke ooit startten onder de naam The Xenophobian Alliance, ons vanuit Zweden met old school EBM. Al klinkt die soms een fractie meer poppy met een duidelijke eighties-twist. Trouw aan minimale en vintage machinerie, die ze met liefde bedienen. Beiden zijn germanist en bedienen zich van de Duitse taal.

Na een abnormaal en in Covid-19 gedrenkt 2020 brengt het duo in februari 2021 hun nieuwe album Fernes Land uit. Een mix van 9 songs die zwermen van minimal over synthpop tot wat als echte rechttoe rechtaan oldschool EBM kan worden genoemd.

De voorliefde voor vintage en analoge equipment is zo duidelijk aanwezig. Fernes Land is er zo ééntje. Een vrolijk klinkende meezinger met een dikke retro strik erom.
En zo schotelen ze ons nog een paar exemplaren voor. Funkbereit bijvoorbeeld is krachtig door de eenvoud. Een kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige baslijn en een minimale melodie. We weten al dat eenvoud soms tot uitmuntendheid leidt. En dat krijgen we op een schoteltje aangeboden.

Een oldschool EBM-er als Schauspiel nodigt meteen uit tot Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Niet steenhard, niet oorverdovend, niet extreem agressief, maar daarom niet minder krachtig. Zeker als je het volume een oplawaai geeft.

Als je een oude jukebox bezit, dan past Discolied daar perfect in. Het klinkt eighties en zou perfect geklonken hebben, met her en der een snerpend en krakend geluid als de naald van het vele draaien van het vinyltje al eens een sprong zou maken. Mij brengt het in gedachten terug naar mijn vrij onbezorgde kindertijd in met sanseveria gevulde bruine kroegen waar ik met mijn ouders ooit vertoefde. Toen je nog in oude munten eindeloos op vergeelde knoppen van de jukeboxen singles draaide. Spielzeit sluit daar perfect op aan.

Het is duidelijk dat de voorliefde van het Zweedse Sturm Café in het verleden ligt. Hun sound heeft zoveel body en karakter, is hedendaags en toch ook weer niet. Dat ze zweren bij vele authentieke instrumenten, of recentere synths toch retro kunnen laten klinken, is karakteristiek. Ze zijn.. ja.. gewoon Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


 

Next reviews
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux