tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/01/2021 : STURM CAFE - Fernes Land

STURM CAFE

Fernes Land

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
EBMElectro PopMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   
23/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Already since 2001, the Sturm Café duo, initially known as The Xenophobian Alliance, have been bombarding us with their old school EBM from Sweden. Although sometimes it sounds a bit more poppy with an eighties twist, but true to the minimal sound and vintage machinery which they seem to cherish with love. Both have a good notion of the German language which they use in their music.

After an abnormal and Covid-19 soaked 2020 the duo presents us their new album Fernes Land (release in February 2021). A collection of 9 songs that sway between minimal, synth-pop and what can be called real straightforward old school EBM.

The love for vintage and analogue equipment is so evident. ‘Fernes Land’ is one of those examples. A cheerful sounding sing-along with a nice retro wrapping. And they serve us a few more of those … ‘Funkbereit’, for example, is powerful because of its simplicity. A bone-dry rhythm, an economical bass line and a minimalistic melody. As we already know, simplicity often leads to excellence and this is what we get served here on a golden platter.

Old school EBM-ers like ‘Schauspiel’ immediately invite to Im Rhytmus Bleiben on the dance floor. Not stone-harsh, not deafening, not extremely aggressive, but certainly also not less powerful! Especially if you give the volume knob a swing to the right!

If you happen to own an vintage jukebox ‘Discolied’ will fit in there perfectly. It sounds so eighties you almost miss the screeching and cracking sound and jumping needle by excessive spins. It brings me back to my nice worry-free childhood times when I visited the Sanseveria-window-brown-cafés with my parents. Where you endlessly spend old coins and pushed the nicotine stained selection buttons of the jukebox. ‘Spielzeit’ also fits perfectly within this spirit.

It is clear that the roots of the Swedish Sturm Café lie in the past. Their sound has so much body and character, is contemporary and yet not. Their main characteristic is being loyal to authentic instruments, or at least make recent synths sound retro. They simply are … Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


NL

Al sedert 2001 bestookt het tweetal Sturm Café, welke ooit startten onder de naam The Xenophobian Alliance, ons vanuit Zweden met old school EBM. Al klinkt die soms een fractie meer poppy met een duidelijke eighties-twist. Trouw aan minimale en vintage machinerie, die ze met liefde bedienen. Beiden zijn germanist en bedienen zich van de Duitse taal.

Na een abnormaal en in Covid-19 gedrenkt 2020 brengt het duo in februari 2021 hun nieuwe album Fernes Land uit. Een mix van 9 songs die zwermen van minimal over synthpop tot wat als echte rechttoe rechtaan oldschool EBM kan worden genoemd.

De voorliefde voor vintage en analoge equipment is zo duidelijk aanwezig. Fernes Land is er zo ééntje. Een vrolijk klinkende meezinger met een dikke retro strik erom.
En zo schotelen ze ons nog een paar exemplaren voor. Funkbereit bijvoorbeeld is krachtig door de eenvoud. Een kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige baslijn en een minimale melodie. We weten al dat eenvoud soms tot uitmuntendheid leidt. En dat krijgen we op een schoteltje aangeboden.

Een oldschool EBM-er als Schauspiel nodigt meteen uit tot Im Rhytmus Bleiben. Niet steenhard, niet oorverdovend, niet extreem agressief, maar daarom niet minder krachtig. Zeker als je het volume een oplawaai geeft.

Als je een oude jukebox bezit, dan past Discolied daar perfect in. Het klinkt eighties en zou perfect geklonken hebben, met her en der een snerpend en krakend geluid als de naald van het vele draaien van het vinyltje al eens een sprong zou maken. Mij brengt het in gedachten terug naar mijn vrij onbezorgde kindertijd in met sanseveria gevulde bruine kroegen waar ik met mijn ouders ooit vertoefde. Toen je nog in oude munten eindeloos op vergeelde knoppen van de jukeboxen singles draaide. Spielzeit sluit daar perfect op aan.

Het is duidelijk dat de voorliefde van het Zweedse Sturm Café in het verleden ligt. Hun sound heeft zoveel body en karakter, is hedendaags en toch ook weer niet. Dat ze zweren bij vele authentieke instrumenten, of recentere synths toch retro kunnen laten klinken, is karakteristiek. Ze zijn.. ja.. gewoon Sturm Café!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/01/2021


 

Next reviews
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets