tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : SUFFER NO FOOLS - Songs For The Restless Youth

SUFFER NO FOOLS

Songs For The Restless Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Metal

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's been a while since we heard new metal from London. This quartet however makes straight metal that tends to stoner metal.

Acheron is a short instrumental that opens the EP, but it's kind of unnecessary. Then we get a six-minute piece of music. Beautiful. The Bombing Campaign is supported by a drum salvo. We hear a trashy guitar and rusty vocals. A very nice song.

On Prey, the tempo is faster, the song however is not very strong. Forgiven or Forgotten has inspired guitars and a lingering chorus. Abyss starts with a very nice guitar melody and a Scorpions-like riff as in the days of Black Out.

Dirge of the Old Gods is a bit too predictable. But then, the final Into The Breach is another excellent song with a strong rhythm section and an interesting guitar centerpiece.

This debut is not always equally strong, but Bombing Campaign, Abyss and Into The Breach are good songs that make us wish for more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het is ondertussen al een tijdje geleden dat we nog nieuwe metalreleases uit London kregen. Dit viertal maakt straightmetal die wat naar stonermetal neigt.

 Acheron is een kort instrumentaal stukje dat de ep opent, maar het is eigenlijk overbodig. Daarna krijgen we een zes minuten durend muziekstuk. Mooi. The Bombing Campaign wordt gedragen door een drumsalvo. De gitaren zijn trashy en de zang klinkt lekker roestig. Een heel aantrekkelijke song.

Op Prey gaat het tempo omhoog, maar het maakt er de song niet sterker op. Op Forgiven or Forgotten is het gitaarwerk geïnspireerder met een beter refrein. Abyss begint met een heel leuke gitaarmelodie om dan over te gaan naar een Scorpions-achtige riff ten tijde van Black Out. Dirge of The Old Gods is voorspelbaar en nogal onopvallend. Afsluiter Into The Breach is opnieuw een heel goede song met een sterke ritmesectie en een interessant middenstuk. van gitaar.

Dit debuut is niet altijd even sterk, maar het is vakkundig gemaakt. Bombing Campaign, Abyss en Into The Breach zijn goede songs die naar meer doen verlangen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis