tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : SUFFER NO FOOLS - Songs For The Restless Youth

SUFFER NO FOOLS

Songs For The Restless Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Metal

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's been a while since we heard new metal from London. This quartet however makes straight metal that tends to stoner metal.

Acheron is a short instrumental that opens the EP, but it's kind of unnecessary. Then we get a six-minute piece of music. Beautiful. The Bombing Campaign is supported by a drum salvo. We hear a trashy guitar and rusty vocals. A very nice song.

On Prey, the tempo is faster, the song however is not very strong. Forgiven or Forgotten has inspired guitars and a lingering chorus. Abyss starts with a very nice guitar melody and a Scorpions-like riff as in the days of Black Out.

Dirge of the Old Gods is a bit too predictable. But then, the final Into The Breach is another excellent song with a strong rhythm section and an interesting guitar centerpiece.

This debut is not always equally strong, but Bombing Campaign, Abyss and Into The Breach are good songs that make us wish for more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het is ondertussen al een tijdje geleden dat we nog nieuwe metalreleases uit London kregen. Dit viertal maakt straightmetal die wat naar stonermetal neigt.

 Acheron is een kort instrumentaal stukje dat de ep opent, maar het is eigenlijk overbodig. Daarna krijgen we een zes minuten durend muziekstuk. Mooi. The Bombing Campaign wordt gedragen door een drumsalvo. De gitaren zijn trashy en de zang klinkt lekker roestig. Een heel aantrekkelijke song.

Op Prey gaat het tempo omhoog, maar het maakt er de song niet sterker op. Op Forgiven or Forgotten is het gitaarwerk geïnspireerder met een beter refrein. Abyss begint met een heel leuke gitaarmelodie om dan over te gaan naar een Scorpions-achtige riff ten tijde van Black Out. Dirge of The Old Gods is voorspelbaar en nogal onopvallend. Afsluiter Into The Breach is opnieuw een heel goede song met een sterke ritmesectie en een interessant middenstuk. van gitaar.

Dit debuut is niet altijd even sterk, maar het is vakkundig gemaakt. Bombing Campaign, Abyss en Into The Breach zijn goede songs die naar meer doen verlangen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets