tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : SUFFER NO FOOLS - Songs For The Restless Youth

SUFFER NO FOOLS

Songs For The Restless Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Metal

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's been a while since we heard new metal from London. This quartet however makes straight metal that tends to stoner metal.

Acheron is a short instrumental that opens the EP, but it's kind of unnecessary. Then we get a six-minute piece of music. Beautiful. The Bombing Campaign is supported by a drum salvo. We hear a trashy guitar and rusty vocals. A very nice song.

On Prey, the tempo is faster, the song however is not very strong. Forgiven or Forgotten has inspired guitars and a lingering chorus. Abyss starts with a very nice guitar melody and a Scorpions-like riff as in the days of Black Out.

Dirge of the Old Gods is a bit too predictable. But then, the final Into The Breach is another excellent song with a strong rhythm section and an interesting guitar centerpiece.

This debut is not always equally strong, but Bombing Campaign, Abyss and Into The Breach are good songs that make us wish for more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het is ondertussen al een tijdje geleden dat we nog nieuwe metalreleases uit London kregen. Dit viertal maakt straightmetal die wat naar stonermetal neigt.

 Acheron is een kort instrumentaal stukje dat de ep opent, maar het is eigenlijk overbodig. Daarna krijgen we een zes minuten durend muziekstuk. Mooi. The Bombing Campaign wordt gedragen door een drumsalvo. De gitaren zijn trashy en de zang klinkt lekker roestig. Een heel aantrekkelijke song.

Op Prey gaat het tempo omhoog, maar het maakt er de song niet sterker op. Op Forgiven or Forgotten is het gitaarwerk geïnspireerder met een beter refrein. Abyss begint met een heel leuke gitaarmelodie om dan over te gaan naar een Scorpions-achtige riff ten tijde van Black Out. Dirge of The Old Gods is voorspelbaar en nogal onopvallend. Afsluiter Into The Breach is opnieuw een heel goede song met een sterke ritmesectie en een interessant middenstuk. van gitaar.

Dit debuut is niet altijd even sterk, maar het is vakkundig gemaakt. Bombing Campaign, Abyss en Into The Breach zijn goede songs die naar meer doen verlangen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes