tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : SUFFER NO FOOLS - Songs For The Restless Youth

SUFFER NO FOOLS

Songs For The Restless Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Metal

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's been a while since we heard new metal from London. This quartet however makes straight metal that tends to stoner metal.

Acheron is a short instrumental that opens the EP, but it's kind of unnecessary. Then we get a six-minute piece of music. Beautiful. The Bombing Campaign is supported by a drum salvo. We hear a trashy guitar and rusty vocals. A very nice song.

On Prey, the tempo is faster, the song however is not very strong. Forgiven or Forgotten has inspired guitars and a lingering chorus. Abyss starts with a very nice guitar melody and a Scorpions-like riff as in the days of Black Out.

Dirge of the Old Gods is a bit too predictable. But then, the final Into The Breach is another excellent song with a strong rhythm section and an interesting guitar centerpiece.

This debut is not always equally strong, but Bombing Campaign, Abyss and Into The Breach are good songs that make us wish for more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het is ondertussen al een tijdje geleden dat we nog nieuwe metalreleases uit London kregen. Dit viertal maakt straightmetal die wat naar stonermetal neigt.

 Acheron is een kort instrumentaal stukje dat de ep opent, maar het is eigenlijk overbodig. Daarna krijgen we een zes minuten durend muziekstuk. Mooi. The Bombing Campaign wordt gedragen door een drumsalvo. De gitaren zijn trashy en de zang klinkt lekker roestig. Een heel aantrekkelijke song.

Op Prey gaat het tempo omhoog, maar het maakt er de song niet sterker op. Op Forgiven or Forgotten is het gitaarwerk geïnspireerder met een beter refrein. Abyss begint met een heel leuke gitaarmelodie om dan over te gaan naar een Scorpions-achtige riff ten tijde van Black Out. Dirge of The Old Gods is voorspelbaar en nogal onopvallend. Afsluiter Into The Breach is opnieuw een heel goede song met een sterke ritmesectie en een interessant middenstuk. van gitaar.

Dit debuut is niet altijd even sterk, maar het is vakkundig gemaakt. Bombing Campaign, Abyss en Into The Breach zijn goede songs die naar meer doen verlangen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo