tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : SUFFER NO FOOLS - Songs For The Restless Youth

SUFFER NO FOOLS

Songs For The Restless Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Metal

[75/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's been a while since we heard new metal from London. This quartet however makes straight metal that tends to stoner metal.

Acheron is a short instrumental that opens the EP, but it's kind of unnecessary. Then we get a six-minute piece of music. Beautiful. The Bombing Campaign is supported by a drum salvo. We hear a trashy guitar and rusty vocals. A very nice song.

On Prey, the tempo is faster, the song however is not very strong. Forgiven or Forgotten has inspired guitars and a lingering chorus. Abyss starts with a very nice guitar melody and a Scorpions-like riff as in the days of Black Out.

Dirge of the Old Gods is a bit too predictable. But then, the final Into The Breach is another excellent song with a strong rhythm section and an interesting guitar centerpiece.

This debut is not always equally strong, but Bombing Campaign, Abyss and Into The Breach are good songs that make us wish for more.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Het is ondertussen al een tijdje geleden dat we nog nieuwe metalreleases uit London kregen. Dit viertal maakt straightmetal die wat naar stonermetal neigt.

 Acheron is een kort instrumentaal stukje dat de ep opent, maar het is eigenlijk overbodig. Daarna krijgen we een zes minuten durend muziekstuk. Mooi. The Bombing Campaign wordt gedragen door een drumsalvo. De gitaren zijn trashy en de zang klinkt lekker roestig. Een heel aantrekkelijke song.

Op Prey gaat het tempo omhoog, maar het maakt er de song niet sterker op. Op Forgiven or Forgotten is het gitaarwerk geïnspireerder met een beter refrein. Abyss begint met een heel leuke gitaarmelodie om dan over te gaan naar een Scorpions-achtige riff ten tijde van Black Out. Dirge of The Old Gods is voorspelbaar en nogal onopvallend. Afsluiter Into The Breach is opnieuw een heel goede song met een sterke ritmesectie en een interessant middenstuk. van gitaar.

Dit debuut is niet altijd even sterk, maar het is vakkundig gemaakt. Bombing Campaign, Abyss en Into The Breach zijn goede songs die naar meer doen verlangen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning