tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : SUICIDE COMMANDO - 30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

SUICIDE COMMANDO

30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

Concert
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Suicide Commando celebrated its birthday in its hometown Leopoldsbrug. For the occasion the spectators received 2 sets for the price of one. A vintage and a best of set. The fans were really spoiled. As a bonus, they received a copy of the limited album Collective Suicide that compiles some rare and previously unreleased tracks from the past 3 decades.

The hard-hitting Murder kicked of the evening. That smasher was followed by the contagious Pesticide. The crowd reacted enthusiastically, right from the start. I enjoyed hearing early Suicide Commando tracks such as the haunting Sheer Horror, the catchy Traumatize and the pervasive So Many Questions. That Dirk Ivens joined to deliver vocals on Where Do We Go From Here?, was a nice surprise.

From an experienced performer as Johan Van Roy you expect that technical problems with a microphone don’t throw him off balance. But somehow he lost his momentum. Or was it because it took too long before the real hits were played? Classics such as Save Me, Better Of Dead and See You In Hell overwhelmed the crowd.

After a break of 45 minutes the best of set started in style with the infectious bits and bleeps of Severed Head. No more Gert Haelevoet (Frames A Second) on stage; for the second set Johan Van Roy was assisted by Torben Schmidt and a live drummer. During an electro gig a live drummer often adds value and that is certainly the case when Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) mounts the stage.

This second set was actually an extended dance party. Ab jetz gehörst du mir, Johan Van Roy sang in Dein Herz Mein Gier – dedicated to the numerous German attendants. And that was exactly the case. The fans danced ecstatically and raised and clapped their hands whenever he wanted them to do so. Despite his knee brace Johan moved tirelessly. He delivered a great performance once again. Supported by neat, often bloody videos, this was an evening to remember. Those who missed this opportunity, get a new chance on December 16 when Suicide Commando headlines the first day of BIMfest XV.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Om 30 jaar Suicide Commando te vieren trad Johan Van Roy op in zijn eigen Leopoldsburg. Voor de gelegenheid speelde hij 2 sets. Een vintage- en een best-of-set. En de fans werden verwend met een exemplaar van het gelimiteerde album Collective Suicide dat zeldzame en onuitgegeven tracks van de laatste 30 jaar verzamelt.

Het loodzware Murder vormde de aanhef, die werd gevolgd door het aanstekelijke Pesticide. Het publiek reageerde meteen enthousiast. Ik genoot ervan om oude Suicide Commando-tracks zoals het dreigende Sheer Horror, het uitnodigende Traumatize en het diepgaande So Many Questions te horen. Bovendien kwam Dirk Ivens meedoen op Where Do We Go From Here?

Van een ervaren performer als Johan Van Roy weet je dat hij zich niet uit zijn lood laat slaan door technische problemen met een microfoon. Toch scheen hij even zijn momentum te verliezen. Of lag het aan een iets te gevulde setlist misschien? Maar klassiekers als Save Me, Better Off Dead en See You In Hell! vuurden het publiek weer aan.

Na een pauze van 45 minuten betrad Van Roy opnieuw het podium. Gerd Haelevoet (Frames A Second) bleef achter in de coulissen. Voor de best-of-set werd Johan geflankeerd door Thorben Schmidt en een drummer. Tijdens een elektro-concert is een echte drummer doorgaans een meerwaarde, en als die Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) heet, is dat zeker zo.

De tweede set werd één langgerekt dansfeest. Ab jetzt gehörst du mir, zong Johan in Dein Herz Mein Gier, dat hij opdroeg aan de talrijke Duitse fans. Het publiek luisterde geboeid. De driftig dansende fans staken hun handjes in de lucht en klapten verwoed mee op zijn bevel. Ondanks zijn kniebrace bewoog Van Roy onophoudelijk, echt onvermoeibaar. Zijn grootse performance werd ondersteund door keurige, soms bloederige video’s. Echt af. Het was een onvergetelijke avond. De afwezigen krijgen een herkansing op 16 december. Suicide Commando sluit dan de eerste dag van BIMfest XV af.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane