tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : SUICIDE COMMANDO - 30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

SUICIDE COMMANDO

30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

Concert
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Suicide Commando celebrated its birthday in its hometown Leopoldsbrug. For the occasion the spectators received 2 sets for the price of one. A vintage and a best of set. The fans were really spoiled. As a bonus, they received a copy of the limited album Collective Suicide that compiles some rare and previously unreleased tracks from the past 3 decades.

The hard-hitting Murder kicked of the evening. That smasher was followed by the contagious Pesticide. The crowd reacted enthusiastically, right from the start. I enjoyed hearing early Suicide Commando tracks such as the haunting Sheer Horror, the catchy Traumatize and the pervasive So Many Questions. That Dirk Ivens joined to deliver vocals on Where Do We Go From Here?, was a nice surprise.

From an experienced performer as Johan Van Roy you expect that technical problems with a microphone don’t throw him off balance. But somehow he lost his momentum. Or was it because it took too long before the real hits were played? Classics such as Save Me, Better Of Dead and See You In Hell overwhelmed the crowd.

After a break of 45 minutes the best of set started in style with the infectious bits and bleeps of Severed Head. No more Gert Haelevoet (Frames A Second) on stage; for the second set Johan Van Roy was assisted by Torben Schmidt and a live drummer. During an electro gig a live drummer often adds value and that is certainly the case when Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) mounts the stage.

This second set was actually an extended dance party. Ab jetz gehörst du mir, Johan Van Roy sang in Dein Herz Mein Gier – dedicated to the numerous German attendants. And that was exactly the case. The fans danced ecstatically and raised and clapped their hands whenever he wanted them to do so. Despite his knee brace Johan moved tirelessly. He delivered a great performance once again. Supported by neat, often bloody videos, this was an evening to remember. Those who missed this opportunity, get a new chance on December 16 when Suicide Commando headlines the first day of BIMfest XV.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Om 30 jaar Suicide Commando te vieren trad Johan Van Roy op in zijn eigen Leopoldsburg. Voor de gelegenheid speelde hij 2 sets. Een vintage- en een best-of-set. En de fans werden verwend met een exemplaar van het gelimiteerde album Collective Suicide dat zeldzame en onuitgegeven tracks van de laatste 30 jaar verzamelt.

Het loodzware Murder vormde de aanhef, die werd gevolgd door het aanstekelijke Pesticide. Het publiek reageerde meteen enthousiast. Ik genoot ervan om oude Suicide Commando-tracks zoals het dreigende Sheer Horror, het uitnodigende Traumatize en het diepgaande So Many Questions te horen. Bovendien kwam Dirk Ivens meedoen op Where Do We Go From Here?

Van een ervaren performer als Johan Van Roy weet je dat hij zich niet uit zijn lood laat slaan door technische problemen met een microfoon. Toch scheen hij even zijn momentum te verliezen. Of lag het aan een iets te gevulde setlist misschien? Maar klassiekers als Save Me, Better Off Dead en See You In Hell! vuurden het publiek weer aan.

Na een pauze van 45 minuten betrad Van Roy opnieuw het podium. Gerd Haelevoet (Frames A Second) bleef achter in de coulissen. Voor de best-of-set werd Johan geflankeerd door Thorben Schmidt en een drummer. Tijdens een elektro-concert is een echte drummer doorgaans een meerwaarde, en als die Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) heet, is dat zeker zo.

De tweede set werd één langgerekt dansfeest. Ab jetzt gehörst du mir, zong Johan in Dein Herz Mein Gier, dat hij opdroeg aan de talrijke Duitse fans. Het publiek luisterde geboeid. De driftig dansende fans staken hun handjes in de lucht en klapten verwoed mee op zijn bevel. Ondanks zijn kniebrace bewoog Van Roy onophoudelijk, echt onvermoeibaar. Zijn grootse performance werd ondersteund door keurige, soms bloederige video’s. Echt af. Het was een onvergetelijke avond. De afwezigen krijgen een herkansing op 16 december. Suicide Commando sluit dan de eerste dag van BIMfest XV af.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected