tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : SUICIDE COMMANDO - 30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

SUICIDE COMMANDO

30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

Concert
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Suicide Commando celebrated its birthday in its hometown Leopoldsbrug. For the occasion the spectators received 2 sets for the price of one. A vintage and a best of set. The fans were really spoiled. As a bonus, they received a copy of the limited album Collective Suicide that compiles some rare and previously unreleased tracks from the past 3 decades.

The hard-hitting Murder kicked of the evening. That smasher was followed by the contagious Pesticide. The crowd reacted enthusiastically, right from the start. I enjoyed hearing early Suicide Commando tracks such as the haunting Sheer Horror, the catchy Traumatize and the pervasive So Many Questions. That Dirk Ivens joined to deliver vocals on Where Do We Go From Here?, was a nice surprise.

From an experienced performer as Johan Van Roy you expect that technical problems with a microphone don’t throw him off balance. But somehow he lost his momentum. Or was it because it took too long before the real hits were played? Classics such as Save Me, Better Of Dead and See You In Hell overwhelmed the crowd.

After a break of 45 minutes the best of set started in style with the infectious bits and bleeps of Severed Head. No more Gert Haelevoet (Frames A Second) on stage; for the second set Johan Van Roy was assisted by Torben Schmidt and a live drummer. During an electro gig a live drummer often adds value and that is certainly the case when Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) mounts the stage.

This second set was actually an extended dance party. Ab jetz gehörst du mir, Johan Van Roy sang in Dein Herz Mein Gier – dedicated to the numerous German attendants. And that was exactly the case. The fans danced ecstatically and raised and clapped their hands whenever he wanted them to do so. Despite his knee brace Johan moved tirelessly. He delivered a great performance once again. Supported by neat, often bloody videos, this was an evening to remember. Those who missed this opportunity, get a new chance on December 16 when Suicide Commando headlines the first day of BIMfest XV.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Om 30 jaar Suicide Commando te vieren trad Johan Van Roy op in zijn eigen Leopoldsburg. Voor de gelegenheid speelde hij 2 sets. Een vintage- en een best-of-set. En de fans werden verwend met een exemplaar van het gelimiteerde album Collective Suicide dat zeldzame en onuitgegeven tracks van de laatste 30 jaar verzamelt.

Het loodzware Murder vormde de aanhef, die werd gevolgd door het aanstekelijke Pesticide. Het publiek reageerde meteen enthousiast. Ik genoot ervan om oude Suicide Commando-tracks zoals het dreigende Sheer Horror, het uitnodigende Traumatize en het diepgaande So Many Questions te horen. Bovendien kwam Dirk Ivens meedoen op Where Do We Go From Here?

Van een ervaren performer als Johan Van Roy weet je dat hij zich niet uit zijn lood laat slaan door technische problemen met een microfoon. Toch scheen hij even zijn momentum te verliezen. Of lag het aan een iets te gevulde setlist misschien? Maar klassiekers als Save Me, Better Off Dead en See You In Hell! vuurden het publiek weer aan.

Na een pauze van 45 minuten betrad Van Roy opnieuw het podium. Gerd Haelevoet (Frames A Second) bleef achter in de coulissen. Voor de best-of-set werd Johan geflankeerd door Thorben Schmidt en een drummer. Tijdens een elektro-concert is een echte drummer doorgaans een meerwaarde, en als die Mario Vaerewyck (Insekt) heet, is dat zeker zo.

De tweede set werd één langgerekt dansfeest. Ab jetzt gehörst du mir, zong Johan in Dein Herz Mein Gier, dat hij opdroeg aan de talrijke Duitse fans. Het publiek luisterde geboeid. De driftig dansende fans staken hun handjes in de lucht en klapten verwoed mee op zijn bevel. Ondanks zijn kniebrace bewoog Van Roy onophoudelijk, echt onvermoeibaar. Zijn grootse performance werd ondersteund door keurige, soms bloederige video’s. Echt af. Het was een onvergetelijke avond. De afwezigen krijgen een herkansing op 16 december. Suicide Commando sluit dan de eerste dag van BIMfest XV af.

Vintage set:
1 Murder
2 Pesticide
3 Sheer Horror
4 Traumatize
5 Necrophilia
6 Mortal Combat
7 Where Do We Go From Here? (with Dirk Ivens)
8 Desire
9 So Many Questions
10 The End Of Your Life
11 Time
12 Save Me
13 Better Off Dead
14 See You In Hell!

Best Of Set:
1 Severed Head
2 Bind, Torture, Kill
3 God Is In The Rain
4 The Pain That You Like
5 Unterwelt
6 Love Breeds Suicide
7 Hate Me
8 Mein Herz Dein Gier
9 Cause Of Death: Suicide
10 Hellraiser
11 Die Motherfucker Die
12 Encore
13 eath Cures All Pain
14 Conspiracy With The Devil

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos