tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : SUMMER TWINS - Limbo

SUMMER TWINS

Limbo

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[74/100]   

Burger Records
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You probably don’t know the names of Chelsea and Justine Brown yet, but once you've heard the new album of these two Canadian sisters, it is hard to not fall in love with them. The album title that refers to lost souls who are not admitted into heaven, and there is indeed something ominous in their indie pop, the 12 tracks however have simultaneously a funny and sunny sound.

The music of Summer Twins is actually ideal for 4-AD fans who always had a soft spot for female bands, because these indie pop tunes both own the relentless aggression of Throwing Muses and the 60s shoegaze sound of later Lush. And let us be honest, if you combine these two great sounds in one band, then you hear something great, don't you?

It takes a while before the songs find a place in your mind, because what seems at first as a collection of innocent tunes,becomes vitriolic indie pop after a couple of spins, even though you can never eradicate their 60s sound. But there’s no need fto do so, because with this unique cocktail, the Brown sisters make delicious pop, and your hand is always near the repeat button! Recommended!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk ken je de namen Chelsea en Justine Brownnog niet , maar eens je het nieuwe album van deze twee Canadese zusjes uit Riverside hebt gehoord, is het moeilijk om niet verliefd te worden. De titel van de plaat verwijst naar zielen die de hemel niet binnen mogen, en er zit inderdaad iets onheilspellends in hun indiepop, toch stralen de 12 nummers tegelijkertijd iets heerlijks en zonnigs uit.

De muziek van Summer Twins is eigenlijk ideaal luistervoer voor 4-AD-fanaten die altijd al iets met vrouwenbands hadden, want in de indiepopdeuntjes van deze twee meiden hoor je zowel de verbeten agressie van Throwing Muses als het 60s-shoegazegeluid van de latere Lush. En zeg nu zelf, als je deze twee heerlijke bands in één groep kan combineren, dan hoor je toch iets fantastisch, niet?

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de liedjes tot je doordringen, want wat op het eerste gehoor op onschuldige nummertjes zoals dertien in een dozijn lijkt, wordt na een aantal luisterbeurten venijnige indiepop, ook al kun je de sixtiessfeer nooit uit hun geluid bannen. Maar dat hoeft ook niet, want met deze unieke cocktail maken de zusjes Brown heerlijke luisterpop die je alsmaar in de lader blijft duwen. Een fijn aanradertje!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo