tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : SUMMER TWINS - Limbo

SUMMER TWINS

Limbo

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[74/100]   

Burger Records
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You probably don’t know the names of Chelsea and Justine Brown yet, but once you've heard the new album of these two Canadian sisters, it is hard to not fall in love with them. The album title that refers to lost souls who are not admitted into heaven, and there is indeed something ominous in their indie pop, the 12 tracks however have simultaneously a funny and sunny sound.

The music of Summer Twins is actually ideal for 4-AD fans who always had a soft spot for female bands, because these indie pop tunes both own the relentless aggression of Throwing Muses and the 60s shoegaze sound of later Lush. And let us be honest, if you combine these two great sounds in one band, then you hear something great, don't you?

It takes a while before the songs find a place in your mind, because what seems at first as a collection of innocent tunes,becomes vitriolic indie pop after a couple of spins, even though you can never eradicate their 60s sound. But there’s no need fto do so, because with this unique cocktail, the Brown sisters make delicious pop, and your hand is always near the repeat button! Recommended!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk ken je de namen Chelsea en Justine Brownnog niet , maar eens je het nieuwe album van deze twee Canadese zusjes uit Riverside hebt gehoord, is het moeilijk om niet verliefd te worden. De titel van de plaat verwijst naar zielen die de hemel niet binnen mogen, en er zit inderdaad iets onheilspellends in hun indiepop, toch stralen de 12 nummers tegelijkertijd iets heerlijks en zonnigs uit.

De muziek van Summer Twins is eigenlijk ideaal luistervoer voor 4-AD-fanaten die altijd al iets met vrouwenbands hadden, want in de indiepopdeuntjes van deze twee meiden hoor je zowel de verbeten agressie van Throwing Muses als het 60s-shoegazegeluid van de latere Lush. En zeg nu zelf, als je deze twee heerlijke bands in één groep kan combineren, dan hoor je toch iets fantastisch, niet?

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de liedjes tot je doordringen, want wat op het eerste gehoor op onschuldige nummertjes zoals dertien in een dozijn lijkt, wordt na een aantal luisterbeurten venijnige indiepop, ook al kun je de sixtiessfeer nooit uit hun geluid bannen. Maar dat hoeft ook niet, want met deze unieke cocktail maken de zusjes Brown heerlijke luisterpop die je alsmaar in de lader blijft duwen. Een fijn aanradertje!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
10
THE MISSION
Tower Of Strength 2020
29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt