tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : SUMMER TWINS - Limbo

SUMMER TWINS

Limbo

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[74/100]   

Burger Records
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You probably don’t know the names of Chelsea and Justine Brown yet, but once you've heard the new album of these two Canadian sisters, it is hard to not fall in love with them. The album title that refers to lost souls who are not admitted into heaven, and there is indeed something ominous in their indie pop, the 12 tracks however have simultaneously a funny and sunny sound.

The music of Summer Twins is actually ideal for 4-AD fans who always had a soft spot for female bands, because these indie pop tunes both own the relentless aggression of Throwing Muses and the 60s shoegaze sound of later Lush. And let us be honest, if you combine these two great sounds in one band, then you hear something great, don't you?

It takes a while before the songs find a place in your mind, because what seems at first as a collection of innocent tunes,becomes vitriolic indie pop after a couple of spins, even though you can never eradicate their 60s sound. But there’s no need fto do so, because with this unique cocktail, the Brown sisters make delicious pop, and your hand is always near the repeat button! Recommended!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk ken je de namen Chelsea en Justine Brownnog niet , maar eens je het nieuwe album van deze twee Canadese zusjes uit Riverside hebt gehoord, is het moeilijk om niet verliefd te worden. De titel van de plaat verwijst naar zielen die de hemel niet binnen mogen, en er zit inderdaad iets onheilspellends in hun indiepop, toch stralen de 12 nummers tegelijkertijd iets heerlijks en zonnigs uit.

De muziek van Summer Twins is eigenlijk ideaal luistervoer voor 4-AD-fanaten die altijd al iets met vrouwenbands hadden, want in de indiepopdeuntjes van deze twee meiden hoor je zowel de verbeten agressie van Throwing Muses als het 60s-shoegazegeluid van de latere Lush. En zeg nu zelf, als je deze twee heerlijke bands in één groep kan combineren, dan hoor je toch iets fantastisch, niet?

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de liedjes tot je doordringen, want wat op het eerste gehoor op onschuldige nummertjes zoals dertien in een dozijn lijkt, wordt na een aantal luisterbeurten venijnige indiepop, ook al kun je de sixtiessfeer nooit uit hun geluid bannen. Maar dat hoeft ook niet, want met deze unieke cocktail maken de zusjes Brown heerlijke luisterpop die je alsmaar in de lader blijft duwen. Een fijn aanradertje!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face