tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : SUMMER TWINS - Limbo

SUMMER TWINS

Limbo

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[74/100]   

Burger Records
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You probably don’t know the names of Chelsea and Justine Brown yet, but once you've heard the new album of these two Canadian sisters, it is hard to not fall in love with them. The album title that refers to lost souls who are not admitted into heaven, and there is indeed something ominous in their indie pop, the 12 tracks however have simultaneously a funny and sunny sound.

The music of Summer Twins is actually ideal for 4-AD fans who always had a soft spot for female bands, because these indie pop tunes both own the relentless aggression of Throwing Muses and the 60s shoegaze sound of later Lush. And let us be honest, if you combine these two great sounds in one band, then you hear something great, don't you?

It takes a while before the songs find a place in your mind, because what seems at first as a collection of innocent tunes,becomes vitriolic indie pop after a couple of spins, even though you can never eradicate their 60s sound. But there’s no need fto do so, because with this unique cocktail, the Brown sisters make delicious pop, and your hand is always near the repeat button! Recommended!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk ken je de namen Chelsea en Justine Brownnog niet , maar eens je het nieuwe album van deze twee Canadese zusjes uit Riverside hebt gehoord, is het moeilijk om niet verliefd te worden. De titel van de plaat verwijst naar zielen die de hemel niet binnen mogen, en er zit inderdaad iets onheilspellends in hun indiepop, toch stralen de 12 nummers tegelijkertijd iets heerlijks en zonnigs uit.

De muziek van Summer Twins is eigenlijk ideaal luistervoer voor 4-AD-fanaten die altijd al iets met vrouwenbands hadden, want in de indiepopdeuntjes van deze twee meiden hoor je zowel de verbeten agressie van Throwing Muses als het 60s-shoegazegeluid van de latere Lush. En zeg nu zelf, als je deze twee heerlijke bands in één groep kan combineren, dan hoor je toch iets fantastisch, niet?

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de liedjes tot je doordringen, want wat op het eerste gehoor op onschuldige nummertjes zoals dertien in een dozijn lijkt, wordt na een aantal luisterbeurten venijnige indiepop, ook al kun je de sixtiessfeer nooit uit hun geluid bannen. Maar dat hoeft ook niet, want met deze unieke cocktail maken de zusjes Brown heerlijke luisterpop die je alsmaar in de lader blijft duwen. Een fijn aanradertje!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl