tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : SUMMER TWINS - Limbo

SUMMER TWINS

Limbo

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[74/100]   

Burger Records
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You probably don’t know the names of Chelsea and Justine Brown yet, but once you've heard the new album of these two Canadian sisters, it is hard to not fall in love with them. The album title that refers to lost souls who are not admitted into heaven, and there is indeed something ominous in their indie pop, the 12 tracks however have simultaneously a funny and sunny sound.

The music of Summer Twins is actually ideal for 4-AD fans who always had a soft spot for female bands, because these indie pop tunes both own the relentless aggression of Throwing Muses and the 60s shoegaze sound of later Lush. And let us be honest, if you combine these two great sounds in one band, then you hear something great, don't you?

It takes a while before the songs find a place in your mind, because what seems at first as a collection of innocent tunes,becomes vitriolic indie pop after a couple of spins, even though you can never eradicate their 60s sound. But there’s no need fto do so, because with this unique cocktail, the Brown sisters make delicious pop, and your hand is always near the repeat button! Recommended!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk ken je de namen Chelsea en Justine Brownnog niet , maar eens je het nieuwe album van deze twee Canadese zusjes uit Riverside hebt gehoord, is het moeilijk om niet verliefd te worden. De titel van de plaat verwijst naar zielen die de hemel niet binnen mogen, en er zit inderdaad iets onheilspellends in hun indiepop, toch stralen de 12 nummers tegelijkertijd iets heerlijks en zonnigs uit.

De muziek van Summer Twins is eigenlijk ideaal luistervoer voor 4-AD-fanaten die altijd al iets met vrouwenbands hadden, want in de indiepopdeuntjes van deze twee meiden hoor je zowel de verbeten agressie van Throwing Muses als het 60s-shoegazegeluid van de latere Lush. En zeg nu zelf, als je deze twee heerlijke bands in één groep kan combineren, dan hoor je toch iets fantastisch, niet?

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de liedjes tot je doordringen, want wat op het eerste gehoor op onschuldige nummertjes zoals dertien in een dozijn lijkt, wordt na een aantal luisterbeurten venijnige indiepop, ook al kun je de sixtiessfeer nooit uit hun geluid bannen. Maar dat hoeft ook niet, want met deze unieke cocktail maken de zusjes Brown heerlijke luisterpop die je alsmaar in de lader blijft duwen. Een fijn aanradertje!

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets