tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : SUN AND THE MOON, THE - CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

SUN AND THE MOON, THE

CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[95/100]   
15/06/2014, Didier BECU

One of the main reasons why we invented our classics-series is because we’re aware of the fact that some of the best records are actually totally unknown. Of course as usual it’s for all the wrong reasons. A fine example of this are The Sun & The Moon. In fact this band already rose out of the ashes fromthe most underrated band ever: The Chameleons.

When asking once Mark Burgess if he doesn’t regret that his band could have been as big as U2, simply because they invented that sound, the man just shrugged his shoulders. He likes U2 himself and he never thought about it. Who knows what he was thinking when The Sun & The Moon were another big failure, at least money wise.

The band is formed by Mark Burgess (bass and vocals) ,John Lever (drums) and later joined by Andy Clegg and Andy Whitaker (guitars, keyboards) which is indeed The Chameleons. This band was supposed to be a new future, they were even signed on Geffen Records which was in 1998 one of the biggest alternative major labels that even signed Sonic Youth.

But nothing happened. In fact I found my copy back then in a large heap of unwanted records. It had a cut out, as they did back then with all American releases that were sold over here. Some say they were the first Britpopband, I say it’s simply the 4th album by The Chameleons that was never supposed to come out.

Seeing so many bands in my life, I don’t think that an artist carved such a deep scar in my soul as Burgess did. When seeing him in a Brussels restaurant (I kid you not!) during one of his first Chameleons Vox Burgess cracked my mind. There was already a crack in there (mind you), but once the gig was over, I simply knew that life could never be the same again. I never blamed Mark for that. At contrary, more than ever I crawl back to his music and this album is one of them. 

Ten songs that are the ultimate proof of great melancholy. Lyrics about daily life, defining situations that make you aware that you’re nothing but a fly…knowing that life is almost a synonym for emotional hell. Only Mark could write such words, of course along with his soul mate Adrian Borland. Enough of my stupid words, get this cd if you have never heard it. Nah, they don’t make ‘em like these anymore. Shame.

Lyrics (A Picture Of England)

Always the days are the same

Monotonous rut and routine

Is it his fate to O.D.

On biscuits and T.V.

Remembering someone at school

Mammouth mouth was his name

"What more could there possibly be,"

He said,

"For someone such as you

Such an empty-headed fool

You see"

 

He sits there waiting patiently

He sits there waiting patiently

Not knowing what he waits for

Uncertain what he wants for sure

Not knowing what he waits for

The one who yearns for something more

 

She's annoyed and she doesn't know why

By the neighour who's fixing his car 

He's spent so many hours underneath it now

The bloody thing should fly

Their greetings float through her mind

Like music you hear in a lift

Frustrations and feelings she can't control

Wake within her now

They churn within her now...

 

She sits there waiting patiently

She sits there waiting patiently

Not knowing what she waits for

Uncertain what she wants for sure

Not knowing what she waits for

The one who yearns for something more

 

The Prudential man is here

Oh please, just go away

The bible-basher's here 

Thanks but not today

Brown envelopes appear

Throw them all away

So many bills to pay

Every day the same

 

I don't want to know, I don't want to know

Oh no no...

I don't want to know...

 

Oh, no no no no no no,

 

Tracklist

The Speed Of Life 4:07

Death Of Imagination 3:49

A Matter Of Conscience 5:30

Peace In Our Time 4:25

Dolphin 4:20

House On Fire 5:25

The Price Of Grain 6:06

Limbo-Land 3:27

A Picture Of England 5:24

This Passionate Breed 4:42

Didier BECU
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
JAY SMITH • King of Man
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain