tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : SUN AND THE MOON, THE - CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

SUN AND THE MOON, THE

CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost Punk

[95/100]   
15/06/2014, Didier BECU

One of the main reasons why we invented our classics-series is because we’re aware of the fact that some of the best records are actually totally unknown. Of course as usual it’s for all the wrong reasons. A fine example of this are The Sun & The Moon. In fact this band already rose out of the ashes fromthe most underrated band ever: The Chameleons.

When asking once Mark Burgess if he doesn’t regret that his band could have been as big as U2, simply because they invented that sound, the man just shrugged his shoulders. He likes U2 himself and he never thought about it. Who knows what he was thinking when The Sun & The Moon were another big failure, at least money wise.

The band is formed by Mark Burgess (bass and vocals) ,John Lever (drums) and later joined by Andy Clegg and Andy Whitaker (guitars, keyboards) which is indeed The Chameleons. This band was supposed to be a new future, they were even signed on Geffen Records which was in 1998 one of the biggest alternative major labels that even signed Sonic Youth.

But nothing happened. In fact I found my copy back then in a large heap of unwanted records. It had a cut out, as they did back then with all American releases that were sold over here. Some say they were the first Britpopband, I say it’s simply the 4th album by The Chameleons that was never supposed to come out.

Seeing so many bands in my life, I don’t think that an artist carved such a deep scar in my soul as Burgess did. When seeing him in a Brussels restaurant (I kid you not!) during one of his first Chameleons Vox Burgess cracked my mind. There was already a crack in there (mind you), but once the gig was over, I simply knew that life could never be the same again. I never blamed Mark for that. At contrary, more than ever I crawl back to his music and this album is one of them. 

Ten songs that are the ultimate proof of great melancholy. Lyrics about daily life, defining situations that make you aware that you’re nothing but a fly…knowing that life is almost a synonym for emotional hell. Only Mark could write such words, of course along with his soul mate Adrian Borland. Enough of my stupid words, get this cd if you have never heard it. Nah, they don’t make ‘em like these anymore. Shame.

Lyrics (A Picture Of England)

Always the days are the same

Monotonous rut and routine

Is it his fate to O.D.

On biscuits and T.V.

Remembering someone at school

Mammouth mouth was his name

"What more could there possibly be,"

He said,

"For someone such as you

Such an empty-headed fool

You see"

 

He sits there waiting patiently

He sits there waiting patiently

Not knowing what he waits for

Uncertain what he wants for sure

Not knowing what he waits for

The one who yearns for something more

 

She's annoyed and she doesn't know why

By the neighour who's fixing his car 

He's spent so many hours underneath it now

The bloody thing should fly

Their greetings float through her mind

Like music you hear in a lift

Frustrations and feelings she can't control

Wake within her now

They churn within her now...

 

She sits there waiting patiently

She sits there waiting patiently

Not knowing what she waits for

Uncertain what she wants for sure

Not knowing what she waits for

The one who yearns for something more

 

The Prudential man is here

Oh please, just go away

The bible-basher's here 

Thanks but not today

Brown envelopes appear

Throw them all away

So many bills to pay

Every day the same

 

I don't want to know, I don't want to know

Oh no no...

I don't want to know...

 

Oh, no no no no no no,

 

Tracklist

The Speed Of Life 4:07

Death Of Imagination 3:49

A Matter Of Conscience 5:30

Peace In Our Time 4:25

Dolphin 4:20

House On Fire 5:25

The Price Of Grain 6:06

Limbo-Land 3:27

A Picture Of England 5:24

This Passionate Breed 4:42

Didier BECU
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
JAY SMITH • King of Man
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses