tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2014 : SUNDAY BELL RINGERS - SBR

SUNDAY BELL RINGERS

SBR

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Zeal Records
08/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This quintet from Brussels has its second album out: SBR. Musically you can compare it with, say, Kasabian.

Page Turner is the opener and recalls vague memories of Arcade Fire, a sound that was much more present on their first CD. On this second, they have a much more distinctive sound. Page Turner has rightly become a single. The voice is everywhere slightly deformed, with beats and sometimes crazy electronica, but it is functional. At times they even bring very danceable indie, with sometimes the electro that dominates, for example in Wildcats. On May you can hear a combination of synths, bass,and guitar, while the rhythm section provides a nice groove. A composition that is made to dance to!

Furthermore, you will notice a lot of details, for example the intro of Change Color begins with a ticking clock that forms the basis for the further expansion of the song, very nice indeed! With Twin Peaks they compose a song that could be used as a soundtrack for the eponymous series. The finale song Horse is an atmospheric and fragile song with a beautifully sung chorus: let's say a magical moment and definitely one of my favorites on the album.

SBR is a very well made album. We can be proud, because there are a lot of beautiful things coming from Belgium these days : Nunki, Der Klinke Star Industry and now Sunday Bell Ringers !

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


NL

Dit Brusselse vijftal brengt met SBR z'n tweede plaat uit. Muzikaal kan je ze met pakweg Kasabian vergelijken.

Pageturner is de opener en roept vage herinneringen op aan Arcade Fire, een geluid dat op hun eerste cd veel nadrukkelijker aanwezig was. Op dit tweede hebben ze veel meer een eigen geluid. Pageturner is dan ook terecht een single geworden. De stem is overal lichtjes vervormd, met beats en soms gekke electronica, toch steeds in functie van het nummer. Bij momenten brengen ze heel dansbare indie. Soms krijgt de electro wel de bovenhand, zoals in bijv. Wild Cats. Op May is het meer een combinatie van synths, bas, gitaar dat samen met de ritmesectie voor een heel vette groove zorgt. Een nummer dus waarbij je niet stil kan blijven staan.

Voorts merk je ook wel dat er heel veel aan de details is gewerkt: kleine versieringen, een uitgebreid klankenpalet... zo begint bijv. de Change Color-intro met een klokgetik dat de basis voor de verdere opbouw van het nummer vormt. Een heel mooie song. Met Twin Peaks brengen ze een nummer dat dienst zou kunnen doen als soundtrack voor de gelijknamige serie. Afsluiter Horse song is een sfeervol en fragiel nummer met een mooi gezongen refrein: zeg maar een kippenvelmoment en zeker één van mijn favorieten op dit album.

SBR is een heel goed gemaakt album en alweer eentje van eigen bodem. We mogen trots zijn, want er komt heel wat moois op ons af de laatste weken: Nunki, Der Klinke, Star Industry en nu deze Sunday Bell Ringers!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela