tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2014 : SUNDAY BELL RINGERS - SBR

SUNDAY BELL RINGERS

SBR

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Zeal Records
08/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This quintet from Brussels has its second album out: SBR. Musically you can compare it with, say, Kasabian.

Page Turner is the opener and recalls vague memories of Arcade Fire, a sound that was much more present on their first CD. On this second, they have a much more distinctive sound. Page Turner has rightly become a single. The voice is everywhere slightly deformed, with beats and sometimes crazy electronica, but it is functional. At times they even bring very danceable indie, with sometimes the electro that dominates, for example in Wildcats. On May you can hear a combination of synths, bass,and guitar, while the rhythm section provides a nice groove. A composition that is made to dance to!

Furthermore, you will notice a lot of details, for example the intro of Change Color begins with a ticking clock that forms the basis for the further expansion of the song, very nice indeed! With Twin Peaks they compose a song that could be used as a soundtrack for the eponymous series. The finale song Horse is an atmospheric and fragile song with a beautifully sung chorus: let's say a magical moment and definitely one of my favorites on the album.

SBR is a very well made album. We can be proud, because there are a lot of beautiful things coming from Belgium these days : Nunki, Der Klinke Star Industry and now Sunday Bell Ringers !

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


NL

Dit Brusselse vijftal brengt met SBR z'n tweede plaat uit. Muzikaal kan je ze met pakweg Kasabian vergelijken.

Pageturner is de opener en roept vage herinneringen op aan Arcade Fire, een geluid dat op hun eerste cd veel nadrukkelijker aanwezig was. Op dit tweede hebben ze veel meer een eigen geluid. Pageturner is dan ook terecht een single geworden. De stem is overal lichtjes vervormd, met beats en soms gekke electronica, toch steeds in functie van het nummer. Bij momenten brengen ze heel dansbare indie. Soms krijgt de electro wel de bovenhand, zoals in bijv. Wild Cats. Op May is het meer een combinatie van synths, bas, gitaar dat samen met de ritmesectie voor een heel vette groove zorgt. Een nummer dus waarbij je niet stil kan blijven staan.

Voorts merk je ook wel dat er heel veel aan de details is gewerkt: kleine versieringen, een uitgebreid klankenpalet... zo begint bijv. de Change Color-intro met een klokgetik dat de basis voor de verdere opbouw van het nummer vormt. Een heel mooie song. Met Twin Peaks brengen ze een nummer dat dienst zou kunnen doen als soundtrack voor de gelijknamige serie. Afsluiter Horse song is een sfeervol en fragiel nummer met een mooi gezongen refrein: zeg maar een kippenvelmoment en zeker één van mijn favorieten op dit album.

SBR is een heel goed gemaakt album en alweer eentje van eigen bodem. We mogen trots zijn, want er komt heel wat moois op ons af de laatste weken: Nunki, Der Klinke, Star Industry en nu deze Sunday Bell Ringers!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide