tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2014 : SUNDAY BELL RINGERS - SBR

SUNDAY BELL RINGERS

SBR

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Zeal Records
08/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This quintet from Brussels has its second album out: SBR. Musically you can compare it with, say, Kasabian.

Page Turner is the opener and recalls vague memories of Arcade Fire, a sound that was much more present on their first CD. On this second, they have a much more distinctive sound. Page Turner has rightly become a single. The voice is everywhere slightly deformed, with beats and sometimes crazy electronica, but it is functional. At times they even bring very danceable indie, with sometimes the electro that dominates, for example in Wildcats. On May you can hear a combination of synths, bass,and guitar, while the rhythm section provides a nice groove. A composition that is made to dance to!

Furthermore, you will notice a lot of details, for example the intro of Change Color begins with a ticking clock that forms the basis for the further expansion of the song, very nice indeed! With Twin Peaks they compose a song that could be used as a soundtrack for the eponymous series. The finale song Horse is an atmospheric and fragile song with a beautifully sung chorus: let's say a magical moment and definitely one of my favorites on the album.

SBR is a very well made album. We can be proud, because there are a lot of beautiful things coming from Belgium these days : Nunki, Der Klinke Star Industry and now Sunday Bell Ringers !

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


NL

Dit Brusselse vijftal brengt met SBR z'n tweede plaat uit. Muzikaal kan je ze met pakweg Kasabian vergelijken.

Pageturner is de opener en roept vage herinneringen op aan Arcade Fire, een geluid dat op hun eerste cd veel nadrukkelijker aanwezig was. Op dit tweede hebben ze veel meer een eigen geluid. Pageturner is dan ook terecht een single geworden. De stem is overal lichtjes vervormd, met beats en soms gekke electronica, toch steeds in functie van het nummer. Bij momenten brengen ze heel dansbare indie. Soms krijgt de electro wel de bovenhand, zoals in bijv. Wild Cats. Op May is het meer een combinatie van synths, bas, gitaar dat samen met de ritmesectie voor een heel vette groove zorgt. Een nummer dus waarbij je niet stil kan blijven staan.

Voorts merk je ook wel dat er heel veel aan de details is gewerkt: kleine versieringen, een uitgebreid klankenpalet... zo begint bijv. de Change Color-intro met een klokgetik dat de basis voor de verdere opbouw van het nummer vormt. Een heel mooie song. Met Twin Peaks brengen ze een nummer dat dienst zou kunnen doen als soundtrack voor de gelijknamige serie. Afsluiter Horse song is een sfeervol en fragiel nummer met een mooi gezongen refrein: zeg maar een kippenvelmoment en zeker één van mijn favorieten op dit album.

SBR is een heel goed gemaakt album en alweer eentje van eigen bodem. We mogen trots zijn, want er komt heel wat moois op ons af de laatste weken: Nunki, Der Klinke, Star Industry en nu deze Sunday Bell Ringers!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten