tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2014 : SUNDAY BELL RINGERS - SBR

SUNDAY BELL RINGERS

SBR

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Zeal Records
08/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This quintet from Brussels has its second album out: SBR. Musically you can compare it with, say, Kasabian.

Page Turner is the opener and recalls vague memories of Arcade Fire, a sound that was much more present on their first CD. On this second, they have a much more distinctive sound. Page Turner has rightly become a single. The voice is everywhere slightly deformed, with beats and sometimes crazy electronica, but it is functional. At times they even bring very danceable indie, with sometimes the electro that dominates, for example in Wildcats. On May you can hear a combination of synths, bass,and guitar, while the rhythm section provides a nice groove. A composition that is made to dance to!

Furthermore, you will notice a lot of details, for example the intro of Change Color begins with a ticking clock that forms the basis for the further expansion of the song, very nice indeed! With Twin Peaks they compose a song that could be used as a soundtrack for the eponymous series. The finale song Horse is an atmospheric and fragile song with a beautifully sung chorus: let's say a magical moment and definitely one of my favorites on the album.

SBR is a very well made album. We can be proud, because there are a lot of beautiful things coming from Belgium these days : Nunki, Der Klinke Star Industry and now Sunday Bell Ringers !

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


NL

Dit Brusselse vijftal brengt met SBR z'n tweede plaat uit. Muzikaal kan je ze met pakweg Kasabian vergelijken.

Pageturner is de opener en roept vage herinneringen op aan Arcade Fire, een geluid dat op hun eerste cd veel nadrukkelijker aanwezig was. Op dit tweede hebben ze veel meer een eigen geluid. Pageturner is dan ook terecht een single geworden. De stem is overal lichtjes vervormd, met beats en soms gekke electronica, toch steeds in functie van het nummer. Bij momenten brengen ze heel dansbare indie. Soms krijgt de electro wel de bovenhand, zoals in bijv. Wild Cats. Op May is het meer een combinatie van synths, bas, gitaar dat samen met de ritmesectie voor een heel vette groove zorgt. Een nummer dus waarbij je niet stil kan blijven staan.

Voorts merk je ook wel dat er heel veel aan de details is gewerkt: kleine versieringen, een uitgebreid klankenpalet... zo begint bijv. de Change Color-intro met een klokgetik dat de basis voor de verdere opbouw van het nummer vormt. Een heel mooie song. Met Twin Peaks brengen ze een nummer dat dienst zou kunnen doen als soundtrack voor de gelijknamige serie. Afsluiter Horse song is een sfeervol en fragiel nummer met een mooi gezongen refrein: zeg maar een kippenvelmoment en zeker één van mijn favorieten op dit album.

SBR is een heel goed gemaakt album en alweer eentje van eigen bodem. We mogen trots zijn, want er komt heel wat moois op ons af de laatste weken: Nunki, Der Klinke, Star Industry en nu deze Sunday Bell Ringers!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2014


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born