tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : SUNFLOWER BEAN - Human Ceremony

SUNFLOWER BEAN

Human Ceremony

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Punk

[77/100]   

Fat Possum Records
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you ever decide (do not!) to listen to bands from New York only, then you won’t manage to hear them all. The Big Apple is indeed one of the most creative places for musical talent, and in our opinion Sunflower Bean can easily be added to that lengthy list.

With a name like Sunflower Bean, you might think of some hippie children with flowers in their hair, but even though singer Julia Cumming’s voice is incredibly dreamy, the trio also loves dirty rock. Wall Watcher and Come On are good examples. 2013 and Easier Said are psychedelic anthems with a nod to Tame Impala. Julia’s ethereal voice (which by the way is cleverly complemented by bassist Nick Kivlen) makes you think of shoegaze, nd Beach House is indeed never far away.

At first glance you might think that this trio is in search of its own sound in Human Ceremony, but the more you hear the record, the more you realize that Sunflower Bean has already found it. An indie band you should highlight on your list.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Mocht je ooit besluiten (niet doen!) om alleen maar bands uit New York te beluisteren, dan nog zou je oren en tijd tekort komen. Het is inderdaad één van de meest creatieve broeiplaatsen voor muzikaal talent en wat ons betreft mag je Sunflower Bean aan het ellenlange lijstje toevoegen.

Bij een groepsnaam als Sunflower Bean denk je natuurlijk aan hippiekinderen met bloemen in het haar, maar ook al klinkt de stem van zangeres Julia Cumming ontzettend dromerig, houdt het trio ook van smerige rock. Wall Watcher en Come On zijn daar mooie voorbeelden van. Soms zijn het psychedelische meezingers zoals 2013 en Easier Said waarbij je wel eens aan Tame Impala denkt. Door Julias stem (die trouwens knap wordt aangevuld met die van bassist Nick Kivlen) durf je bij bepaalde tracks ook wel eens de term shoegaze mompelen en is Beach House nooit ver uit de buurt.

Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat dit trio door het gebruik van diverse stijlen op zoek is naar een eigen geluid in Human Ceremony, maar hoe meer je het plaatje luistert, des te meer je snapt dat ze die al lang hebben gevonden. Een indiebandje dat je maar beter met een kruisje aanstipt.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real