tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : SUNFLOWER BEAN - Human Ceremony

SUNFLOWER BEAN

Human Ceremony

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Punk

[77/100]   

Fat Possum Records
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you ever decide (do not!) to listen to bands from New York only, then you won’t manage to hear them all. The Big Apple is indeed one of the most creative places for musical talent, and in our opinion Sunflower Bean can easily be added to that lengthy list.

With a name like Sunflower Bean, you might think of some hippie children with flowers in their hair, but even though singer Julia Cumming’s voice is incredibly dreamy, the trio also loves dirty rock. Wall Watcher and Come On are good examples. 2013 and Easier Said are psychedelic anthems with a nod to Tame Impala. Julia’s ethereal voice (which by the way is cleverly complemented by bassist Nick Kivlen) makes you think of shoegaze, nd Beach House is indeed never far away.

At first glance you might think that this trio is in search of its own sound in Human Ceremony, but the more you hear the record, the more you realize that Sunflower Bean has already found it. An indie band you should highlight on your list.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Mocht je ooit besluiten (niet doen!) om alleen maar bands uit New York te beluisteren, dan nog zou je oren en tijd tekort komen. Het is inderdaad één van de meest creatieve broeiplaatsen voor muzikaal talent en wat ons betreft mag je Sunflower Bean aan het ellenlange lijstje toevoegen.

Bij een groepsnaam als Sunflower Bean denk je natuurlijk aan hippiekinderen met bloemen in het haar, maar ook al klinkt de stem van zangeres Julia Cumming ontzettend dromerig, houdt het trio ook van smerige rock. Wall Watcher en Come On zijn daar mooie voorbeelden van. Soms zijn het psychedelische meezingers zoals 2013 en Easier Said waarbij je wel eens aan Tame Impala denkt. Door Julias stem (die trouwens knap wordt aangevuld met die van bassist Nick Kivlen) durf je bij bepaalde tracks ook wel eens de term shoegaze mompelen en is Beach House nooit ver uit de buurt.

Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat dit trio door het gebruik van diverse stijlen op zoek is naar een eigen geluid in Human Ceremony, maar hoe meer je het plaatje luistert, des te meer je snapt dat ze die al lang hebben gevonden. Een indiebandje dat je maar beter met een kruisje aanstipt.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

30
01
Today, 27 years ago American Industrial-Metal band Ministry released Filth Pig!
29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void