tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : SUNFLOWER BEAN - Human Ceremony

SUNFLOWER BEAN

Human Ceremony

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Punk

[77/100]   

Fat Possum Records
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you ever decide (do not!) to listen to bands from New York only, then you won’t manage to hear them all. The Big Apple is indeed one of the most creative places for musical talent, and in our opinion Sunflower Bean can easily be added to that lengthy list.

With a name like Sunflower Bean, you might think of some hippie children with flowers in their hair, but even though singer Julia Cumming’s voice is incredibly dreamy, the trio also loves dirty rock. Wall Watcher and Come On are good examples. 2013 and Easier Said are psychedelic anthems with a nod to Tame Impala. Julia’s ethereal voice (which by the way is cleverly complemented by bassist Nick Kivlen) makes you think of shoegaze, nd Beach House is indeed never far away.

At first glance you might think that this trio is in search of its own sound in Human Ceremony, but the more you hear the record, the more you realize that Sunflower Bean has already found it. An indie band you should highlight on your list.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Mocht je ooit besluiten (niet doen!) om alleen maar bands uit New York te beluisteren, dan nog zou je oren en tijd tekort komen. Het is inderdaad één van de meest creatieve broeiplaatsen voor muzikaal talent en wat ons betreft mag je Sunflower Bean aan het ellenlange lijstje toevoegen.

Bij een groepsnaam als Sunflower Bean denk je natuurlijk aan hippiekinderen met bloemen in het haar, maar ook al klinkt de stem van zangeres Julia Cumming ontzettend dromerig, houdt het trio ook van smerige rock. Wall Watcher en Come On zijn daar mooie voorbeelden van. Soms zijn het psychedelische meezingers zoals 2013 en Easier Said waarbij je wel eens aan Tame Impala denkt. Door Julias stem (die trouwens knap wordt aangevuld met die van bassist Nick Kivlen) durf je bij bepaalde tracks ook wel eens de term shoegaze mompelen en is Beach House nooit ver uit de buurt.

Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat dit trio door het gebruik van diverse stijlen op zoek is naar een eigen geluid in Human Ceremony, maar hoe meer je het plaatje luistert, des te meer je snapt dat ze die al lang hebben gevonden. Een indiebandje dat je maar beter met een kruisje aanstipt.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR