tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : SUNFLOWER BEAN - Human Ceremony

SUNFLOWER BEAN

Human Ceremony

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Punk

[77/100]   

Fat Possum Records
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you ever decide (do not!) to listen to bands from New York only, then you won’t manage to hear them all. The Big Apple is indeed one of the most creative places for musical talent, and in our opinion Sunflower Bean can easily be added to that lengthy list.

With a name like Sunflower Bean, you might think of some hippie children with flowers in their hair, but even though singer Julia Cumming’s voice is incredibly dreamy, the trio also loves dirty rock. Wall Watcher and Come On are good examples. 2013 and Easier Said are psychedelic anthems with a nod to Tame Impala. Julia’s ethereal voice (which by the way is cleverly complemented by bassist Nick Kivlen) makes you think of shoegaze, nd Beach House is indeed never far away.

At first glance you might think that this trio is in search of its own sound in Human Ceremony, but the more you hear the record, the more you realize that Sunflower Bean has already found it. An indie band you should highlight on your list.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Mocht je ooit besluiten (niet doen!) om alleen maar bands uit New York te beluisteren, dan nog zou je oren en tijd tekort komen. Het is inderdaad één van de meest creatieve broeiplaatsen voor muzikaal talent en wat ons betreft mag je Sunflower Bean aan het ellenlange lijstje toevoegen.

Bij een groepsnaam als Sunflower Bean denk je natuurlijk aan hippiekinderen met bloemen in het haar, maar ook al klinkt de stem van zangeres Julia Cumming ontzettend dromerig, houdt het trio ook van smerige rock. Wall Watcher en Come On zijn daar mooie voorbeelden van. Soms zijn het psychedelische meezingers zoals 2013 en Easier Said waarbij je wel eens aan Tame Impala denkt. Door Julias stem (die trouwens knap wordt aangevuld met die van bassist Nick Kivlen) durf je bij bepaalde tracks ook wel eens de term shoegaze mompelen en is Beach House nooit ver uit de buurt.

Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat dit trio door het gebruik van diverse stijlen op zoek is naar een eigen geluid in Human Ceremony, maar hoe meer je het plaatje luistert, des te meer je snapt dat ze die al lang hebben gevonden. Een indiebandje dat je maar beter met een kruisje aanstipt.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth