tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : SUNFLOWER BEAN - Human Ceremony

SUNFLOWER BEAN

Human Ceremony

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Punk

[77/100]   

Fat Possum Records
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you ever decide (do not!) to listen to bands from New York only, then you won’t manage to hear them all. The Big Apple is indeed one of the most creative places for musical talent, and in our opinion Sunflower Bean can easily be added to that lengthy list.

With a name like Sunflower Bean, you might think of some hippie children with flowers in their hair, but even though singer Julia Cumming’s voice is incredibly dreamy, the trio also loves dirty rock. Wall Watcher and Come On are good examples. 2013 and Easier Said are psychedelic anthems with a nod to Tame Impala. Julia’s ethereal voice (which by the way is cleverly complemented by bassist Nick Kivlen) makes you think of shoegaze, nd Beach House is indeed never far away.

At first glance you might think that this trio is in search of its own sound in Human Ceremony, but the more you hear the record, the more you realize that Sunflower Bean has already found it. An indie band you should highlight on your list.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Mocht je ooit besluiten (niet doen!) om alleen maar bands uit New York te beluisteren, dan nog zou je oren en tijd tekort komen. Het is inderdaad één van de meest creatieve broeiplaatsen voor muzikaal talent en wat ons betreft mag je Sunflower Bean aan het ellenlange lijstje toevoegen.

Bij een groepsnaam als Sunflower Bean denk je natuurlijk aan hippiekinderen met bloemen in het haar, maar ook al klinkt de stem van zangeres Julia Cumming ontzettend dromerig, houdt het trio ook van smerige rock. Wall Watcher en Come On zijn daar mooie voorbeelden van. Soms zijn het psychedelische meezingers zoals 2013 en Easier Said waarbij je wel eens aan Tame Impala denkt. Door Julias stem (die trouwens knap wordt aangevuld met die van bassist Nick Kivlen) durf je bij bepaalde tracks ook wel eens de term shoegaze mompelen en is Beach House nooit ver uit de buurt.

Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat dit trio door het gebruik van diverse stijlen op zoek is naar een eigen geluid in Human Ceremony, maar hoe meer je het plaatje luistert, des te meer je snapt dat ze die al lang hebben gevonden. Een indiebandje dat je maar beter met een kruisje aanstipt.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap