tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : SUUNS - Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)

SUUNS

Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The new edition of Les Nuits Botanique is in full swing, and as at any festival, it is difficult to choose. One thing is sure: at this Brussels festival, everyone will find something of his choice.

I myself chose Suuns. Why? Well, because Hold/Still is one of the most remarkable albums of this year so far. But before we could test if the Canadians could prove their skills on stage, we saw the set of the Walloon band Duane Sarah. You never heard of this band with the almost impossible name to remember, did you? Well, maybe The Scrap Dealers rings a bell. A few years ago this band convinced the indie crowd with the album After A Thousand Blows and Hugues Daro was part of it. Duane Serah is just another band he’s involved in. The sound of this Liège-based band can be described as shoegaze (think The Verve), embellished with a lovely guitar sound that sometimes reminds us of Peter Hook. The band will never get the award for most original band, but it managed to find the right songs anyway.

And then Suuns were on stage. It is definitely not easy to describe the sound of Ben Shemie’s band. You hear post-punk, psychedelia, shoegaze and even some disco. You have to experience the music as a trip, in fact Suun’s music is so quirky that you need more than ten spins before you understand what the brilliant album Hold/Still is about (it was produced by John Congleton, who previously worked with Explosions In the Sky and The War on Drugs.

As mentioned, a brilliant CD with balls, but the live set lacked some magic. Of course we heard beautiful songs, because the Canadian band dragged us into their psychedelic paradise, full of experiment, but the concert did not seduce us to fall in love with Hold/Still. Maybe it was too neat or too static? Who knows.

Ben Shemie, Liam O'Neill, Max Henry and Joseph Yarmush have lots of talent, but on stage they lack an emphatic look (physically and musically), but if they manage to overcome that problem, then they surely will be gigantic as the letters of the group name in the background of the set in the Orangerie.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe editie van Les Nuits Botanique draait op volle toeren, en zoals dat op ieder festival het geval is, blijft het moeilijk om te kiezen. Eén ding staat echter vast: op dit Brussels muziekfeestje komt iedereen aan zijn trekken.

Zelf koos ik voor Suuns. Waarom? Wel, gewoon omdat Hold/Still misschien wel één van de meest opmerkelijke cd’s van het jaar is. Maar vooraleer we konden testen of de Canadezen dit ook op het podium waar konden maken, zagen we de set van de Waalse band Duane Sarah. Nog nooit gehoord van deze groep die een bijna onmogelijk te onthouden naam heeft? Wel misschien zegt de naam The Scrap Dealers je wel iets: de band die een paar jaar geleden het indiepubliek wist te overtuigen met After A Thousand Blows. Daar zat Hugues Daro bij, en Duane Serah is een andere band van hem. Het geluid van deze Luikenaars valt het best te omschrijven als shoegaze (denk aan The Verve), aangedikt met een heerlijk gitaarspel dat soms wel iets van Peter Hook heeft. De prijs voor meest originele band zullen ze wellicht niet al te gauw verdienen, maar de songs zitten goed in elkaar en geregeld slagen ze er in om de juiste song te vinden.

En dan Suuns. Het is absoluut geen pretje om het geluid van de band van Ben Shemie in woorden uit te drukken. Je hoort wat flarden post-punk, psychedelica, shoegaze en zelfs wat disco. Toegankelijk is het nooit, niet alleen is het muziek die je als een trip moet ondergaan, ze is zo eigenzinnig dat je meer dan tien luisterbeurten nodig hebt vooraleer vat te krijgen op de briljante laatste cd Hold/Still, die door John Congleton is geproducet, een man die eerder al mooi werk verrichte met Explosions In The Sky of The War On Drugs.

Zoals gezegd een briljante cd met ballen, maar op het podium ging er toch wat magie verloren. Niet dat we niks moois hoorden, want de Canadese band sleurde ons vanaf het begin zonder pardon mee in z'n psychedelisch paradijs waarin experiment nooit wordt geschuwd (integendeel!), desalniettemin ontbrak de klik die je op Hold/Still wel hoort. Misschien was het allemaal net iets te proper of lag het aan het feit dat de band het allemaal iets te statisch doet? Wie zal het zeggen.

Ben Shemie, Liam O’Neill, Max Henry en Joseph Yarmush barsten van het talent, maar op een podium willen we wel nog dat extraatje meer en dan worden ze wellicht even groots als de gigantische, met lucht opgeblazen letters van de groepsnaam die achteraan op de set van de Orangerie stonden.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue